We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise & fun stay...definitely worth it!”
Review of Swan Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swan Garden Hotel
Ranked #58 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Klang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant surprise & fun stay...definitely worth it!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We decided to try out boutique hotels in Malacca & this came to our attention. We book 4 rooms and are delighted to been given the Nyonya rooms. The rooms were cleaned and spacious enough to accommodate 2 adults + 2 kids (just need to get an extra mattress). Staff was friendly, effective and helpful as well.

Next to it, there's a thai massage parlor (totally heavenly) and Donald & Lily nyonya restaurant (cendol & mee siam was absolutely delicious). It might a slight drive to town but its worth the $$ we paid. Will definitely recommend and book this hotel on my next stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on Level 5 & above. Less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clwy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    47
    25
    8
    13
See reviews for
28
40
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It was so difficult to get a room in Melacca town centre as it was a weekend of the school holidays but we got a suite through Agoda for RM400 (inclusive of tax)/night. It was a breeze checking in and the Swan Garden Suite we had was spacious as was the bathroom; two sinks, a large tub and a separate shower stall. Very comfortable. The location was great too. It was nearby the sea and also close to Jonker Walk. In fact, if you choose not to drive into town, it is only a 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leechy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Chanced upon this hotel while driving around and decided to stay there. Amazed with this hotel. It's so affordable and the interior design of the rooms is so beautiful! Slick laminated wood flooring and walls, comfortable bed, ample space in getting around the room and great shower and bathroom. I'm going to Melaka in February next year and Swan Garden is definitely the hotel I'm intending to have my stay at again.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are already very valued for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojoleekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice. This is not a bad place. A bit out of town. But if you have a car, this is a good place.

Clean room. And they come with rooms of different designs. I've taken both Japanese and Nyonya.

Pretty neat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korndamned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A 3 star hotel located near the city centre. We checked in on Deepavali and the hotel was fully booked. Due to the overwhelming reservations, we took a long time checking in as there was only 1 service staff at the counter. The hotel had plenty of theme rooms. Level 4-5 consist of Peranakan theme. We booked a courtyard room but as they were out of rooms, we were upgraded to a superior. Given that they are new, they ran out of bathroom slippers and hairdryer is available upon request. The toilet came with a bathtub and shower. Overall, the stay was comfortable and the room was spacious. We spend about $97.50 on booking this room on a public holiday.

Here are the plus points from my stay. It is about 5-10 mins away from the city centre without jam. There is a great massage place called Scent and Senses located next to the hotel. We were allowed late check out at 2pm. A tip to future hotel guest, there is a car available to send you to places upon request which comes free of charge, They made 2 separate trips as we came in a big group. There is a really friendly service staff at the receptionist which I did not manage to get his name. As I mentioned above, the room is spacious and tv channels are sufficient. There is a partial sea view from the room as it is located near a beach. For wifi, it is available and the password for the lobby is similar to the rooms.

Here are the negative points. Hotel breakfast was not fantastic. We asked for a sunny side up and they serve us overcooked eggs, Sausage was really bad. Really wished they could have more service staff at the receptionist as it takes a long time to get checked in when the queue gets long. Receptionist was really blur and under charged us during check in. She collected an additional 30RM when we checked out. As my room was located next to the main road, it was awfully noisy at night with traffic noises. Sounds like there were races going on in the middle of the night at 1am, which really disrupted our sleep.

Overall, decent stay but I would strongly recommend not getting the hotel breakfast. Perhaps stay away from room 502 and away from the roads where there is a parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onigiri86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

A new three star boutique hotel in which has a variety of themes of rooms. Check in was fast, and the hotel is very clean with a lift catering to the floors. Checked in the room (Malay theme), the room looks cleaned and spacious, the weird part is the switches, in which some are located behind the furniture. Each switch controls one light. The room doesn't have a main light, but it has a make up table light, entrance light, and two lamp lights at the side of the bed. Romantic ambience? Power saving? I wouldn't know. The bedroom doesn't come with a bathtub but a shower.(those looking for bathtub can opt for the baba nyonya room. Shower was slow, and the drainage for the shower and also the sink is very slow. In term of cleanliness, I would give a thumbs up, but if nothing is done with the drainage, prepare to see some algae in the near future. Location is good, close to Donald and Lily, the beach and also mahkota. Great no frills hotel, but the price might be slightly high

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelboss1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is new hotel in Taman Syahbandar which close to the City Center.
They have theme rooms on various floors.
The "Tatami" rooms are very cramped,so avoid them.
The Courtyard rooms are nothing to shout about as the courtyard is just
a small balcony !
They took a long them checking-in our small group,but can't complain as they
upgraded us to Superior rooms (they may be full then ?)
The superior rooms are fairly large.
The buffet breakfast at the Coffee House was fairly good.
There are sufficient parking lots around the hotels.
There is a good Chinese restaurant,"Bei Zhan" across the road.
There is a small nyonya eatery a few doors away from this hotel.
Pls note that there are many budget hotels in the vicinity.
Overall this hotel represents very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LowHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#34 of 166 in Melaka
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marvelux Hotel
Marvelux Hotel
#55 of 166 in Melaka
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arissa
Hotel Arissa
#20 of 166 in Melaka
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#22 of 166 in Melaka
166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#35 of 166 in Melaka
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Garden Hotel

Property: Swan Garden Hotel
Address: 1 Jalan KSB 1, Taman Kota Syahbandar | Taman Kota Syahbandar,, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing