We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River view”
Review of QuaySide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
QuaySide Hotel
Ranked #55 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I am writing this feedback when im still staying in this hotel right now.
Good: Convenient to walk to jonker street.
Aircon is good(cold). Balcony overlooking the river(choose #02 for more privacy).
I was given a complimentary parking lot opp the hotel.
Con: I need to walk really light footed inorder not to disturb others.

I will consider staying here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Stanley789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for QuaySide Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I just checked out yesterday.

1. Towel charge
They charged 10RM for 1 towel change! I needed new towel for my two kids 2nd shower, request towel change to the reception, they charge 20RM. I've never seen before like this case even budget guest house.

2. No lift
This is 2stories building, but no Lift, no porter. You should carry your heavy luggage by yourself if your room is 2nd floor. I have two old ladies and 2 kids under 5, should carry 4 luggages.

3. not helpful staff
Their staffs need to know what is the customer service.

4. Not comfortable shower
Hot water comes out just first 10 min, then be cooler.

Location & breakfast is excellent, but it could not cover other bad things.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Yoona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quayside H, Owner at QuaySide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hi Yoona C,

Thanks for dropping us a note. You stated our location and breakfast was excellent (thankyou). We're pretty disappointed despite this you labelled us the 'worst hotel' with 1-star.

We've replied to your points one-by-one:

1. Most of our rooms are designed for two persons. As such, they have 2x hand towel, 2x face towel, 2x large towel and a bathroom mat. Upon request/availability, an extra bed is RM70 which includes an extra breakfast and extra towels.

In the case of small children (under 5 years), we do not charge extra for baby cot/baby bath, nor do we charge extra for their breakfasts. We're happy to give these for free.

However if extra towels are required, we do need to charge to cover our cleaning and laundry costs. Our staff do inform guests of this upon request.

2. We have a ground floor and a 1st floor which is accessible by stairs as you say. Our staff will be glad to assist you with luggage upon request.

3. If you could be more specific we could look at training in that particular area.

4. Many guests enjoy having access to hot shower. We're not aware of any problem with access to cold water; we will ask maintenance to double-check on this.

If you enjoyed your stay in Melaka and plan to visit us again, please drop our manager an email at hotelmanager@quayside.com.my. We'd love another chance to show you we deserve a better rating.

Cheers,
Quayside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I love this place very much. Fully recomended to all tourists. Will definitely come back again. Strategic location and nearby to the jonker street, hard rock cafe, taming sari, A famosa, river cruise etc. Good food, reasonable price, clean, nice view....

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gdah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stay There from 17 Dec 2013 to 19 Dec 2013, 2 Nights , While waiting for check in at 1400, We had our lunch at the Hotel, food is very good. so expecting the breakfast will be similar good. Boy!! how wrong are we... ... The room is very noisy, not only from sound outside(Sound from river cruise, and people walking/talking and motorcycle.. Ya ..motorcycle on the walkway), but from people walking on the hallway, TV next room, next room shower... etc .. you got to be very very tired , to be able to have a good night sleep. Breakfast on the first day was horrible , we thought of having a good breakfast early and have a walk after that. Breakfast started at 7, and we started our breakfast at 7. the food are Cold, everything is not ready, only orange juice and coffee and tea . the juice is not the fresh juice type... The 2nd day breakfast was not bad... as we started our breakfast at 830 . ya ... Giv them plenty of time to set things up... in the restaurant also there are TONS of mosquitos ... First day .. thought I just skip the breakfast and eat the cakes ( kuih-kuih) .. there are only two type... both Extremely sweet. end up with coffee Only. Not recommended to stay this place , beside the location and the friendly staff .. notting nice really, oh ya... I did call room services order some drinks from the restaurant , they say , they normally do not deliver to the room but make an exception this time. ? What type of room services is that ??? I did notice also the waiter in the restaurant is the same people doing the front desk and the same person doing the room services .... guess they got less then 3 staff , doing everything. In case the manager is reading this, on the first day breakfast , saw the staff playing pool instate of cleaning our table or setting up breakfast earlier.... wonder how this place made it to the Top 10 on trip adviser list.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin_fr_tawau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quayside H, Owner at QuaySide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hi Austin,

Cheers for your detailed review.

Regarding the breakfast service not being ready at 7am, for this we apologise. We have had meetings with our F&B team and will endeavor to be ready by the advertised time. We were told this is the exception and not the rule.

Regarding room service, we are a small Hotel and nowhere have we advertised we offer room service. Currently we're looking into the logistics of such a service; for now it is on a case-by-base basis. We prefer to invite guests down to enjoy their food in the ambience of our restaurant or out on the deck.

Our F&B Manager took your request and after hearing your family was unwell, not only completed your order but personally delivered it to your room. We are very happy with our teams response on this.

Regarding staff playing pool, we can find no evidence of this. We have a strict policy against staff playing pool during operation and our manager assured us this has been upheld. Perhaps you mistook the players for customers, as it has proved quite popular (even early morning) since we introduced it.

We're glad to hear our location and service impressed you. The teams will keep working hard to ensure people have a good experience when visiting.

Cheers,
Quayside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The room is a little bit over priced with the services that they offer. The room is superb and nice, since we took the one with the balcony. But I think it would be better if you guys can provide a sound proof wall as it is very noisy, you can hardly hear clearly people walking, taking a shower and also banging the door in the room, and it's not very comfortable and disturbing. They offered a great location, as it's located in the heart of Melaka. Very near to jonker streets for shopping and also several attractions in Melaka. But with the price that they offer, I think you guys can get a better room and service for it.

Room Tip: With the price offered, I think you guys can get a lot better room for it. Anyhow, the location is g...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourtypicalasiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights..
The building used to be a warehouse, its converted into a two storey hotel. Take the room facing the river, very romantic, enjoying the Malacca river, Casa Del Rio, river cruise.
Rooms are spacious & clean. Decent breakfast choices, but one thing lacking is parking space.
The do have reserved parking across the road, but its limited to 10. So first come first served.
Internet wifi speed is slow.
Noise from the riverbank can be heard as the river cruise stops here, but bearable and stops at 10pm, so you can still get a good night sleep.
The location is great, walking distance to Jonker walk, the Red Buildings, A Famosa, Dataran Pahlawan..

Room Tip: Get the room facing the river
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azharvedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Nice and comfortable beds, Home sweet Home. The hotel facing to the sea, The room rates are affordable. Breakfast are good too. Staff introduce me where to eat and go, Good location. Clean and tidy room. Downside, Wall is little thin and I could hear television noise. Overall worth the price and nice to stay for just 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#19 of 167 in Melaka
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
0.2 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#51 of 167 in Melaka
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QuaySide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QuaySide Hotel

Address: 1 Jalan Merdeka | Quayside Heritage Centre, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £29 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — QuaySide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived at Quayside Hotel. A Customs Warehouse renovation 3-star Boutique Hotel.Located on the banks of Melaka River in the heart of the tourist hub, you're within walking distance to everything you want to see in Melaka. Do you stay and relax, or go exploring? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your QuaySide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing