We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of QuaySide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
QuaySide Hotel
Ranked #42 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I just planned to stay here with bestie for unplanned trip. Check in on Friday evening and check out the next day. Good customer service and helpful butler because we need to park our car and the road side.

We were amazed by the scenery from our balcony. The beutiful riverside panorama. Day and night. Both are stunning.

The hotel room is clean. I mean, super clean maybe this hotel is new. Modern bathroom. And the best thingis free wifi, exactly! We sleep like sleeping beauty coz it is really comfy, quiet and peaceful eventhough we stayed up until 3am that day.

Will come again soon!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shuhaida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    89
    45
    27
    24
See reviews for
49
90
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel though have small rooms but good enough for small families or couples
There's also connecting room if you travel with large pax. The staffs were very helpful. Kudos to vino and azizul who made my journey to malacca a pleasant one.

If you expect hotels with many class, book other expensive hotels. Don't give unnecessary comments. This hotel is indeed a real value for your money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kamal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

They boast a "Trip Advisor" sticker at the door. But that's all there is to it. They are a new hotel and they need to do so much more to deserve a good review.

Pros:
1. Good location
2. Nice lamp on the table
3. Acceptable when room is clean.

Cons:
1. Breakfast is terrible, you feel like you are eating army camp food.
2. Service is slow. Messed up our booking.
3. Room was not ready when we checked in. Have to change to another room.
3. Extra charge for towels (never heard of this in all my travel experience)
4. Check-in and check-out very slow.
5. Insanely noisy because its just beside the road. Bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkaiCaelestis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for 3D2N. Location is spot on! walking distance to almost every attractions surrounding it, such as Jonker Street, Melaka christ Church, A Famosa, the malls (mahkota & pahlawan). So a perfect place to stay in terms of location.

Rooms are okay. Still new. Very comfortable bed. TV channels are very limited though. Shower room is acceptable.

The hotel cafe, Halia Inc, is a good place to dine. Was here for the Xmas eve dinner. Enjoyed the atmosphere which is just by the river and our buffet dinner there.

Overall the hotel is indeed a good choice to stay in when you're in Melaka. Just that I personally feel it's slightly overpriced for what you get. Perhaps this can be due to the location.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with balcony, as it faces the river and you might enjoy the sight. But it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rern86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Parked my car at the reserved lot & under the supervision of the security who promised to jagah (look after) my car (of course the promise came when I checked in & before I tipped them.... right now on 29 Dec around 12pm I found my car scratched & feedback to the security, guess his answer

"I don't know" & simply walked away!!!! When I tried to feedback 2 other staff, both of them directed me to the "I don't know & walked away guy"...

Whatever feel good abt this place is washed away by this TOTALLY IRRESPONSIBLE ATTITUDE..... it's through adversity that customer service surfaces... In my case, DEFINITELY BAD SERVICE!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank NotsoGoodMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Pros:
LOCATION: Simply amazing. Right next to the Stadthuys and overlooking the Melaka river. Walking distance to Jonker and other attractions.

PRICE: pretty decent for the location

ROOM: Clean/elegant, modern decor/hot water available all the time - tip: try to get the river facing room. The road facing ones I reckon will be more noisy.

AMBIENCE/DECOR of hotel: Excellent; tastefully done; very industrial/modern in shades of greys.

Cons:
CUSTOMER SERVICE: Very poor customer service from the reception. Too many examples to cite. They weren't rude - just untrained and no motivation to serve guests

NO LIFT: Not great for old people

FOOD: the Halia restaurant is pathetic. Small menu, mediocre food, and truly dismal service for a hefty price. Staff is clueless, uninterested and poorly trained. The restaurant was however elegantly designed and well put together but the disappointing service and average food offset the good interior and location.

NOISE: Quite noisy - noise from the river cruise boats till 11:30 pm on the river side, and traffic/trishaw blasting music noise if your room is road-facing.

Room Tip: Choose the river facing room and on the top floor. Avoid the ground floor on the river facing side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetraveller5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

There are few flaws the hotel have like the service (but i can see the staff are trying their best to assist us in any way they could) and the sound proofing.

Overall, its a chic-designed hotel which is simple but nice. It is more suitable for couples who dont mind the absence of a full service and amnities.

Recommend the premium rooms which have good view of melaka river.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.5 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#15 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QuaySide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QuaySide Hotel

Property: QuaySide Hotel
Address: 1 Jalan Merdeka | Quayside Heritage Centre, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — QuaySide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived at Quayside Hotel. A Customs Warehouse renovation 3-star Boutique Hotel.Located on the banks of Melaka River in the heart of the tourist hub, you're within walking distance to everything you want to see in Melaka. Do you stay and relax, or go exploring? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your QuaySide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing