We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like a motel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayview Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Ranked #91 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feels like a motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were there in 11th - 13th June 2014.

Checking in: I felt like I am checking into a cheap motel. The receptionists were unfriendly and just go through the motion in assigning us our room.

Toilet: My wife was shocked when she first saw the toilet seat. it looked so dirty that she thought it wasn't cleaned. We find out later that they are permanent dirt marks on it. We wonder why the hotel did not consider changing the toilet seat, it would have cost them nothing.

Buffet Breakfast: The spread is horrendous and repeated menu. And the food quality is consistently poor.

Room service: Food service was quick. But the food quality is poor. So not value for money.

WIFI: We were offered free WIFI. But the network connection is very bad. So we give up and did not use the internet much (blessing in disguise I think).

What's good? : The location is good. There are lots of night eateries around the hotel.

Room Tip: Heard that there is a specific floor that is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrjj422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your recent stay with us was not to expectation. Our rooms are being refurbished on a floor by floor basis and we certainly look forward to being of better service to you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    70
    127
    44
    33
See reviews for
99
54
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed with my family on 9th Jun. Hotel staffs are friendly and ever ready to help you with a smile. Good breakfast. Set back was the hotel really needs upgrading in most of the area. Only area looks new is the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siva68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Rest assured that refurbishment of rooms are being carried out on a floor by floor basis and we look forward to being of better service to you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

1. Bad stay.
2. Bad network coverage.
3. No free wifi provided. Wifi should be included in room rates. It is a normal practice for hotel. Part of facilities. This hotel chargeable wifi rm 30 for a day.
4. Bad food provided.
5. Very limited TV channel.
6. Limited power plug.
7. Iron not functioning properly.
8. Overall evaluation not recommended to stay for more than 1 day. Hotel facilities provided are not worth compared to the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We will look into the areas highlighted. We regret that the concerns was not brought to our attention earlier so that immediate action could have been taken. To clarify, wifi is provided on a complimentary basis to our guests. Nevertheless, we look forward to being of better service to you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Checked in with group on 5th.Departed on the 7th morning.
Hotel was clean and I did like it together with members of the group and that was with 25 people in total.
Breakfast was great and I enjoyed the variety of our local foods.There was a chef to take the orders for the kind of eggs they wanted.
Housekeeping was good and so was the staff at the front desk!
Swimming pool was small.
Location out of the hotel was great as it was in front of a hospital and there was like a open air food centre which was at the next block..Totally a great place..
The members of the group loved it completely..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocoholic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay at Bayview Hotel Melaka. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel few times since the last 10 years. When i visited in November last year, it was not as i remembered it to be in its 4 stars glory. Now, everything about this hotel is super old and tired (except its lobby), and in dire need of a renovation/ refurbishment. Would not recommend especially with the still high price tag unless they renovated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Rest assured that refurbishment of rooms are being carried out on a floor by floor basis and we look forward to being of better service to you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Service of the staff is good. Friendly and response is fast. Room is spacious and clean. The aircon of my room is not working well. I asked for change of room and it done within half an hour. Thank you. I will come back again for my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Douglas_lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind compliments. We are glad that your stay with us was a good one and look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I visited Malacca from 18 April to 20 April 2014, staying at The Bayview Hotel.
I was very disappointed with the services and amenities provided by this hotel :
• I received a confirmation from booking.com that the 2 nites stay at the Junior Suite of this hotel will be charged at MYR826.80 in total inclusive of tax and service charges. But the hotel charged me the amount of MYR908.80.
• I requested for an extra large double bed, but only a queen size bed was provided.
• I requested for extra bottles of drinking water, the hotel staff said only 2 bottles is complimentary per day. Any extra, I will have to pay for it.
• I was told on booking.com website that the internet wifi is available in all areas and is free of charge. Be Caution : only 1 device can be used for this free wifi. Any extra devices, you will have to pay for using wifi.
• The room’s facet and furnitures are very old. The bed was quirky. The reception on the television channels were bad too.
• We were given the Junior Suite on 10th floor. During the 2 nites stay, the sound of singing and screaming, from some where downstair, can be heard very clearly until the wee morning.
• Proper power socket was not provided for boiling of water. Got to put the kettle on the floor to use the power.
• Breakfast was provided. We were shocked to see ants crawling on the plate of sliced cheese and over burned hashbrown on the buffet table.
• The Reception Front Desk staff were very unfriendly.

Overall, this was a bad experience for me at this hotel, claiming that they are 4 stars hotel.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coreen0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay with us was not to expectation. We are pleased to advise that we have since improved the wifi access to allow more than 1 device for the password issued. Meanwhile, we thank you once again for your constructive comments and endeavour to improve the facilities and services in the areas concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Avillion Legacy Melaka
Avillion Legacy Melaka
#99 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#83 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#30 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#27 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Melaka

Property: Bayview Hotel Melaka
Address: Bayview Hotel Melaka Jalan Bendahara, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the historical city, Bayview Hotel Melaka boasts 188 spacious guest rooms including luxurious suites with Jacuzzi and kitchenette, 6 dining and entertainment outlets including a dance club and KTV studio, a comprehensive range of recreational facilities from gym to spa pool and toddler's pool as well as complete meeting and convention facilities. For business or leisure, find it all at Bayview Hotel Melaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bayview Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Bayview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing