We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sentral Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Ranked #83 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Check in and out was quick and efficient; staff are friendly; since the hotel located at the town center so easy access to everywhere; room is okay with all lights, air-cond other amenities works; although the pool is small but good enough for my kids to swims around; no kids pool available.

The only downside was, after we extended our check-out time from 12pm to 6pm, and the hotel charged us for that, but when we arrived at the room after the noon outing, we discovered the hotel management shutdown the lights and aircond @ the hallway, as there is no other guess available within our floor. Than you have to keep calling them, but they are not answering the phone, where I have to call the hotel general line and get it fixed, quite troublesome.

But we enjoyed the journey so much, so all the above are not really a big deal to all of us..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank synovates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    40
    45
    21
    10
See reviews for
58
28
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Check in and out was quick and efficient. No tourist information available in hotel lobby and no hotel information available in room. Bell boy when checking in gave us a photocopy of a street map of central Malacca. Staff were all friendly.
Room was adequate clean and the beds comfortable. Our room faced onto the busy street so the higher the floor your room is on the less street noise you get. Our air conditioner temperature we could not re-set but the room was kept reasonably cool. Ironing board and iron was available for use by the lift.
I think we were probably the only westerners staying at the hotel at the time. We found the breakfast a bit limiting in choice as obviously the hotel caters for their mainly Asian clientele. Breakfast took place in an open dining area just off of the lobby, There did not appear to be a hotel bar or if there was one it was well hidden.
The swimming pool is located on the roof and is small but adequate with good views over the city and the surrounds from there.
The hotel is not exactly central for the tourist attractions but is close to the river which is pleasant to walk along down to the Jonker St area but not so direct. If visiting Malacca again would definitely stay closer to Jonker St.

Room Tip: The higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoiraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Choose other hotel in Melaka. Booked via expedia.com for ~MYR103 for a twin sharing room. It was taught cheap and just for a night stay. Therefore, I tried out this hotel. I have stay with the same hotel chain in Kuantan which is much better

Pro:
Next to hotel there is a hawker centre-Convenient for food
Hot water shower is good and nice after a day out

Cons:
Room (502) with smelly bathroom (smell like someone did not flush the toilet)
Dusty-floor not sweep.
Aircond not working. Attended by maintenance to fix the aircond but the temperature is central controlled so nothing much can be done.
Poor wifi connection.
Reception unprepare to handle big tour group-It take very long time to get them into rooms
Unethical reception.
Poor parking facilities-expect to park your car at dark area.

Conclusion:
Most probably I booked the room at the lowest rate and therefore given such a deplorable room. Change room to 512 at 1100pm at night. Never stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked this room for triple via groupon which cost us RM 150.00 for 3 pax, room was okay. The one thing that we always get fed up is when you book a room for triple. You come into the room and the amenities are always for 2 only, than you have to keep calling them, and they are not answering the phone. Quite troublesome. On the whole the room was okay, it was stuffy and the air conditioner was not working properly, towards bed time I noticed that my bed sheet had blood stains, I can't understand this if there are stains on the bed sheet they should get rid of the sheet instead of putting them on. By this already you can know what type of hotel it is when they can overlook the cleanliness of the bed sheets. The carpet in our room was a bit dirty, it looked like it was not vacuumed. The carpets in the hallway smelled soiled. Dirty dishes left outside the room is not collected on time but left outside for overnight. Breakfast is not that great either. Not worth the real value of the voucher which is RM 500.00.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiterose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Booked via agent, RM230 nett comes with breakfast. Limited varieties of breakfast but I am light eater so I am fine with it. Connecting room with my sister and free wifi inside room as well.
Fast check in and check out and willing to extend late check out till 1pm for us.
Fast room service to replenish towel and toiletries to us.
But night time quite noisy from the nearer traffic and the toilet water sound.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yqyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Sarawak
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have been to Melaka many times, but this is the first time I check into this hotel with friends from my hometown. We were on our way to Singapore, thought we stop over for a night. Check in was quick, staff at the reception were helpful when we asked for directions to walk to Jonker street.
We returned to our rooms after spending the whole afternoon browsing the town.
That's when we discover we had problems with the air conditioning in both rooms. It was so hot, you only feel the fan not the cool air. I called the reception and they send a technician over to check the air con. After he left, we don't find there's any improvement to the temperature. We called the reception again. Then we also called the housekeeping. We were informed that the reception control the temperature for the air con. We called the reception the third time, this time I was already sweating like I'm in the sauna. I told them if they can't improved the temperature, then at least send me a fan. After a while, we can feel the room getting cooler. We left the hotel for dinner. But during the wee hours at night, the same heat return. Too tired of calling, we slept without using the comforters, then took off our pyjamas. The room felt like there's no air condition. We left early the next day. I told the reception I'll report this matter to Booking.com and promise them we will not come back. Seems like comfort for guest not their priority, sad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csfKuching_Sarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

PROS
1.Spacious family room.Able to fit another extra bed.Suitable for families
2.Value for money
3.Good location
4.Friendly staff & veru helpful

CONS
1.Only two lifts operating which was slow & had to wait for minutes.Hotel staffs were also seen using the guests lift to load things
2.Weak wifi connections in rooms
3.Water heater took some time to operate
4.Food during breakfast took sometime to be replenished

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ct_subang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
1.2 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#31 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#17 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#94 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avillion Legacy Melaka
Avillion Legacy Melaka
#99 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Melaka

Property: Hotel Sentral Melaka
Address: No 20 Jalan Tun, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Melaka 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Melaka town, walking distance to Melaka River Cruise Station, 5 minutes drive to Melaka Historical AreaPlaced in the heart of Melaka City, Hotel Sentral Melaka offers 145 modern rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Guests can lounge by the outdoor swimming pool or choose between 2 dining options.This is newly opened property is just a 15-minute walk to the popular Jonker Street and a 10-minute drive to Mahkota Parade Shopping Centre.Air-conditioned rooms are fitted with a satellite flat-screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The en suite bathroom will include hot/cold shower facilities and a hairdryer. Ironing facilities are available upon request.Hotel Sentral’s 24-hour front desk will be happy to assist guests with luggage storage as well as meeting banquet facilities. Free private parking facilities are also available.Guests can unwind at the in-house restaurant which will serve local and international cuisines or opt for the café stocked with snacks and pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Sentral Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing