We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice people and interesting spot”

Villa Sentosa (Malay Living Museum)
Ranked #26 of 144 things to do in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Definitely for tourists only, this tiny museum is actually a Malaysian house showing how a typical Malaysian family lives.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really nice people and interesting spot”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I walked the promenade and saw this old villa. It's called villa because it is larger than the buildings around in the old Malay Village. This is the last spot you can see how malay people lived before. The owners will tell you about the history of the family and so you learn about the culture. Old interoir elements are shown and you learn about the architecture with a open rood. Really enjoyed the tour. In the end it is woth to donate, cause the family don't recieve money from the goverment compared to the 20 goverment driven museums in the town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wolejko-wolejszo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    56
    14
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Poole, Dorset, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A delightful experience to see how life was so many years ago and the added flavour of having a personal guide by the lovely old lady who owns the villa made this very memorable. It was good to have our photograph taken by her in the wedding poise of that time as it will be a momento. We enjoyed the river walk to the villa and caught the river cruise back making it an excellent day out

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Living History”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just opposite our hotel, the Majestic, the home of a prominent local family, still lived n but open to visitors. Really worth visiting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sl0wtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Definitely worth doing”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Lovely old lady showed us around and, with pride, described all her inherited possessions. An interesting look back at around a hundred years of history and a glimpse into what it would be like to live as a (presumably very wealthy) Malay fifty years ago. The walls have pictures of family and family trees. It's great that you can do this for just a small donation.

Helpful?
3 Thank PAULeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“On a Whim”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The morning before we left, we went for a walk through the village which we had spied from our hotel room. It had just finished raining and we had a very nice walk completely by ourselves through the entire village. We enjoyed seeing the design of the houses, the laundry hung underneath the houses where the chickens also hung out and other memorable elements of village life. Had heard that the tour through one house was odd and uncomfortable so we did not stop there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank goodtogo195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Sentosa (Malay Living Museum) also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Villa Sentosa (Malay Living Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing