We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just a graveyard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bukit China (Chinese Hill)

Bukit China (Chinese Hill)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52.00*
and up
Historical Malacca Day Trip from Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #42 of 134 things to do in Melaka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fascinating hillside burial ground has a storied past; it should, as it dates back to the Ming dynasty.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“just a graveyard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

i have påassed by many times and seen bus loads of chinese visit the place. i know the chinese come to honor their ancestors and keep the peace with the spirits. so when i decided to visit i was surprised to see how little people actually care about the graves here. i was expecting a much more beautiful place. i guess it's a good explanation in the culture. but i enjoyed my little walk up and down the hills. it was a very sunny day so i was happy there was many big trees to rest under.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank larslindbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    27
    19
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bukit China, Melaka - largest Chinese Cemetery outside China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Many don't know that Bukit China, Melaka is the largest Chinese Cemetery outside China. You can appreciate this vast hill in 3 ways:-
1. Drive around the hill and see the size of the cemetery!
2. Take a walk up the hill to the highest point where you can view the city as well as experience sunrise and sunset for free!
3. Take a jog around the hill in the morning or evening as the locals do!
View the many historical Chinese graves and tombstones shaped like a mother's womb!
At the base of the hill stands "Sam Poh Kong" ( an old Chinese temple) and "Sam Poh Well". Make a point to go into the temple and have a cool drink from the famous well after the hill climb.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“So-so, but nice place to walk in cool of day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were expecting a photogenic pattern of lines of Chinese graves. Instead we were surprised at the huge number of acres this place covers & how few graves there are--randomly spread out. Apart from a few miniatures of a Portuguese ship, the old Malacca City Hall, & a Chinese Temple on the way up, few of the graves or situations were worth photographing. The view up & down the coast from the top of the hill is somewhat remarkable, and this would be a great place to walk or jog in the early morning or late afternoon. But otherwise, not so interesting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaudRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I found Bukit China very interesting. It's a little tiring getting to the top, but the old graves are fascinating to say the least. I can see how this may not be everyone's cup of tea, but if you're into history and ruins, this is a must see. I happened to be the only person there when I went, and wandered around the place for about 45 min with absolutely nobody in sight. It was eerily silent but I enjoyed every moment of it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank madonionslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This old Chinese cemetery is 400 years old and most interesting. The first Chinese arrived with a Chinese Princess who was to marry the Sultan. The tombstones are placed inside a semi circle which represents the mother womb from whence they came.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank navyfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bukit China (Chinese Hill) also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Bukit China (Chinese Hill)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing