We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“roomy average”

Straits Meridian Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straits Meridian Hotel
Ranked #136 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
1 review
“roomy average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Spacious room, with fridge and electric stove. Suitable for family stay. Though look aged but ok. Swimming pool, I think the chlorine is either less or none at at all.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yusman_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

suitable for family as it hav a big room, but some other thing on the room are not working,,,,,i could say its an average experience for me o stay here

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanpuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

-Not worth for your money; the rate is too expensive for the hotel/room/service condition. Rm 189/nite. You could get much better brand new hotel in town with much cheaper rate.
-Room condition is not acceptable. The mattress is totally lousy; i doubt that they change the bedsheet after people checkout; no aircond n tv remote

If u would like to have a "stress-free" vacation, think twice or more before u decide to stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuhaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

after reading others review, we were expecting the worse. However, after checking in, it is not as bad as the review. No cockroaches, toilet were clean, except for the carpets were old and dusty. Our room were facing the road, thus vehicles sounds clearly disturbing our sleep. The breakfast were edible, but they did not refill the food until we requested them to do so. We enjoyed playing in the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Request a room facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

The location was not close to any attraction and we had to cab to anywhere. Each cab trip cost at least RM$15. Plus you have to wait 15-20 mins as they have to call a cab. Service at front desk was poor. After we checked in, we had to cross the road and walked 3 minutes to another building where our room was. My next trip I will definitely be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GotFoodWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

They do process On-line reservation which is a sign that someone is assigned to Read their Mail : )

Our choice was the 1 Room Apartment which proves to have ample space for a family with young children. There's a decent living and dining area but I can say that some push is required with especially the carpet cleanliness.

Roughly situated at 2.8Km from Jalan Kota (St Pauls) plus they fact it do provide shuttle service to town makes it an option worth considering if you're looking for a place with a Decent Swimming Pool around the same price range.

Dining should be less of the worry as other than an In-House Cafe, there's a few local restaurant and stall on the next block.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaMama01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

This apartment style hotel has an air of faded glory, but was excellent value for money. The bedroom was huge with a separate kitchen/living area. Needed some minor maintenance, but was a nice spacious place to stay with free in-room wireless access and a great buffet breakfast. Also has a swimming pool. The downside for us was that the Agoda website described this as being in the centre of Melaka. I did this booking "on the run" with limited internet access so, my fault, did not check the map properly. It was nowhere near Melaka old town. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus, but this means it's not easy to go back and forwards during the day if you want some downtime at the hotel. The staff certainly made up for this with their helpful attitude (especially Jennifer) and they went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.9 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
1.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#113 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
7.4 mi away
Everly Resort
Everly Resort
#128 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Malacca Straits Hotel
Malacca Straits Hotel
#101 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straits Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straits Meridian Hotel

Property: Straits Meridian Hotel
Address: Straits Meridian Jalan Malinja, Melaka 75150, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Straits Meridian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Straits Meridian Hotel is located in the historic town of Melaka, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It faces the Jalan Tun Razak Expressway, which connects Jasin District and Alor Gajah District, and is just 10 km from Melaka Airport. The 81 air-conditioned rooms and suites are furnished with a coffee/ tea maker, refrigerator, and IDD phone. Each accommodation is also fitted with a private toilet and bath. Other in-room features include a digital safe, prayer mat, and bottled mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Straits Meridian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing