We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Sunshine Inn Plus

Sunshine Inn Plus
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Inn Plus
Ranked #55 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We checked in on the 31Jan and stayed for 2 nights.

The hotel is very cosy and the warmth welcome is felt the moment we step in. The reception personnel -Nurul in particular- are very helpful and treats us like a family so we felt like staying in a family place.


We chose this hotel as most hotels we patronized to was full due to the Chinese New Year celebration.

But we were not dissapointed. Though the room is small it is compensated by good bedding, its cleanliness and the cosy lobby area.

There are coffee making facility and jars of cookies for free consumption at the lobby area. Toys and magazines are also provided, making it a nice 'lepak' area.

For meals, you can go to the adjacent Eggxtra Cafe - a cute eatery serving nice local and western menu.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZanMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stay 1night on 15/2 . Hotel very clean n no smoking in room .The hotel is located less than 5 minutes drive from Mahkota Parade and and Pahlawan Walk. Rooms are small in size but comfortable enough for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6,585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I spent 10 days at this hotel because I was working at malacca area. This hotel provide a very good service. The room is very clean and all the furniture and decoration look new. I even asked for house keeping everyday and they did it very well. The price is affordable but cannot consider low. There is a lot of delicious food nearby and mamak is around too. I can get free bread every morning. I stayed at the corner unit so will be noisy during midnight coz downstairs have a lot of pub and disco. just a few minutes driving distance to reach malacca town. I miss that place =) will choose there again when i go to malacca next time

Room Tip: corner unit are not preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wan ying w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We went for a short holiday to Melaka during CNY and decided to stay at Sunshine Inn + after reading good recommendation from Trip Advisor. The hotel is located less than 5 minutes drive from Mahkota Parade and and Pahlawan Walk. The room is new and clean. We took two rooms which were situated at the back of the building ; one with window and one without. Rooms are small in size but comfortable enough for a good night sleep. However, the last rooms with window is subject to noise from outside the building. The heavy noise from a nearby karaoke during night time is "killing" us and it lasted until wee hour :(

Room Tip: Don't pick a room with window. The noise from nearby karaoke will "kill" your good ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cylong168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel has another hotel in the same vicinity called "sunshine inn +".we had a booking in "sunshine inn" and having not noticed the latter we checked in in "+" and the receptionist even accepted the booking.a friend who checked in later and went to the other hotel was accused how his friends could check in in "+" when they had a booking with them.could we not simply be sent to the non plus hotel??seemed like a sister rivalry.to add to it at "+" when asked about a particular restaurant in the vicinity would be open or not it being cny..they just handed us a list of restaurants around the area telling us to figure it out ourselves.the lady at the reception was extremely rude like she was doing us a favour by letting us stay and like we were staying there for free.during cny transport is a problem in melaka so we asked them for help.they said they have a hotel car which they would charge for as per distance and send again when we want to return.on the last day we packed up checked out and left our luggage in their office so we could just return after lunch and leave.they didnt let us extend even by an hour as we were rudely told they are housefull.we booked their car for the city for a return journey for which the total payment was made in advance but the car just left and never came to pick us and on calling, the driver kept making excuses like traffic etc.our friends finaly.took a local taxi which was difficult to find ,got the luggage back from the hotel,dealt with the staff who were extremely rude unhelpful and non cooperative and reached back just in time for the bus back to sg.which could be missed because of the most terrible hotel staff.sugestion for people traveling to melaka..make arangements to travel within the city if traveling during festivals also beter to stay around jonker as everything is around and the trishaws are a blessing in the extreme sunny weather.this hotel has a terrible location.with hardly any restaurants around.all in all i liked the city the hotel was well kept.but the staff just ruined it for us is all i have to stay..they need training big time!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sshhrreeyyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is fairly new and it has its own parking space which is situated diagonally opposite of the hotel. Wouldn't say it is the best place to park your car if your car is the only vehicle in that reserved compound but a bright spotlight was installed there. So it is still the best place to park if there's no other choices. Else, you'll need to buy a parking ticket and park in the spaces near the hotel.

The wall is thin and you could hear door closing and such but that wasn't a problem to us. The room is equipped with a rainforest shower, reasonable speed wifi and tv channels such as fox movies. It is also very very near to Mahkota Parade.

Overall..no complaints at all!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We drove from KL to Melaka and I chose to try out Sunshine Inn+ from my usual hotel.

Outlook overall is nice and new but rooms is very small. There were 3 of us, me, husb and a toddler so we had limited place to move about. Felt a bit claustrophobic.

Nice flat screen tv, airconds were the latest Eco-Navi type. Coffee & light breakfast provided. Nice rainshower too but a pity that the small bathroom didn't complement the rain shower.

But what left me with the "First and the last" impression was the blardy NOISY club that VIBRATES into my room, which left the 3 of us tossing and turning all night!!! I'm not kidding but the sickening noise only stopped after 5.30am. I didn't change rooms coz husb was having a high fever that night and my things were all unpacked all over. Plus they were running full-house.

Not to mentioned, the bed is hard. And only 2 pillows are given per room.

Also, they will only provide you with 1 keycard so if you're partner is taking a shower and you went down to buy something, expect to ask the receptionist to follow you up to open your door. They just wont issue another keycard. When i was talking to the nice reception lady asking for one, an obnoxious kid sitting beside answered rudely, "For what you want another keycard?"

There's no elevator and stairs quite high to 2nd and 3rd fl so this place isn't ideal for the elderly / people with physical disabilities. Or those with heavy luggages.

The bright cheery rooms and its built-ins are what's nice. Apart from that, everything else weren't favourable to me. Never again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 208, very noisy clubs nearby!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxxyhailey_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#58 of 167 in Melaka
77 reviews
1.3 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#62 of 167 in Melaka
131 reviews
1.7 mi away
AL33 Leisure Hotel
AL33 Leisure Hotel
#80 of 167 in Melaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#42 of 167 in Melaka
66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#100 of 167 in Melaka
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn Plus

Address: No 32 Jalan Melaka Raya 15, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: £15 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Inn Plus 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunshine Inn Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing