We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting to know U..............O_O”

Straits Chinese Jewelry Museum Malacca
Ranked #2 of 143 things to do in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Getting to know U..............O_O”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were walking along Jonker St. My wife suggested that we visit this Baba-Nyonya museum.
when we reached there we asked if we can take photos. (Sign says - NO PHOTOS)
To our surprise....they allow us to snap pics.
Wonderful experience to see and hear our wonderful guide telling us the stories, culture, believes and changes over the years. HISTORY!
The artifacts, furniture's, tools and many more things on display are truly amazing.
Is truly an awesome experience for RM$15 per pax!

Do check this place out!

Cheers!
O_O

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Phils00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    133
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome collection of jewelleries”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I came across this museum on our way to the hotel and there's a young lady with the name of Sandy actually brought us in and eventually became our tour guide. She is very informative and impressive. The museum has a great collection of the jewelleries and the house is magnificent. It is highly recommended for everyone of all ages.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tomchongkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressive collection!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were introduced to this museum by a local and brought my parents along. We had a young lady guide who took us around the museum. Very informative and impressive collection of jewellery, clothing and furniture. No photo-taking is allowed though. The trip took around less than an hour. It's great to visit a place like this other than the usual touristy shopping area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gemini_tout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very educational, true gem”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Read about the museum on the net. Brought my 2 girls and they had a wonderful time looking at all the beautiful exquisite jewellery pieces. They even tried drawing water from the well in the courtyard! Our guide, Yin was very helpful. Truly a gem n must visit in Melaka.!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing jewellery collection”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stumbled upon this museum. It is a must! We had a very informative young lady guide us through the history and culture of early MelaccaI intwined with the jewellery, clothing, furniture ,all set in an original house. I must say that I was very impressed with the collection of jewellery , and also the knowledge of our guide who was happy to answer any questions.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Soozeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Straits Chinese Jewelry Museum Malacca also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Straits Chinese Jewelry Museum Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing