We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique”

Straits Chinese Jewelry Museum Malacca
Ranked #2 of 136 things to do in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Boutique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Beautifully showcased in a traditional house, this museum depicts life from another era. You will be escorted by a staff member who will explain the story behind the jewellery, clothes and furniture on display.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    128
    22
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good, clean,clear, have rich resources of Nonya.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Kim Eng is very good guider, thank you very much. And museum is very beautiful . Very good, clean,clear, have rich resources of Nonya.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank lanze g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Found this little gem while walking around jonker street. It's a great way to understand a lil bit more on the topic of baba nyonya people back in the their days. Julia our guide was very good at explaining each piece of jewelry showcased in the museum. My pick was the interesting gold tooth pick used by the baba nyonya people then. My Indonesian friend loved the tour. Entrance fee for adults is RM15.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Codeblue79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Really enjoyed our visit at the Straits Chinese Jewelry Museum. The Tour Guide name "Kim Eng" is so welcome & give good information. The Musuem not only displayed the Jewelry but you can see how spendid the local used to live in the old day. I love the fact that we are allow to take photo anywhere in the museum and you can spend time in the musuem as much as you want. Moreover, they really pay attention to detail and make you feel like guest. What really surprise me is that, we had to took of our shoes before we went upstairs by using the front staircase but when we came down on the staircase at the back, the shoes were nicely arranged for us. We really feel like we are guest to their house. It is such a shame that we had to leave the museum during our half tour because we need to rush back to catch our flight but I would definitely go back to visit the museum again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Arnon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good individual tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Guide was good, learnt a lot
Lots of furniture household items on display apart from jewellry
Unlike others you can take pictures here

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Straits Chinese Jewelry Museum Malacca also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Straits Chinese Jewelry Museum Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing