We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serviced Apartment is a misnomer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden City Melaka Service Apartments
Ranked #84 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Serviced Apartment is a misnomer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Rooms extremely basic. Lift is old. Corridors are dark and dodgy looking.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cryzpene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    12
    3
    5
    12
See reviews for
22
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Our family of 7 adults, 3 kids stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment. We got lost for 2 hours since the map provided by the hotel directed us to Jalan Merdeka 9 instead af 9, Jalan Merdeka. Since I was not the one doing the booking, I did not even know the hotel's name until the day of traveling.

Our family travel in 2 cars, but the management only provide 1 set of keys & security tag (gate security at guard house & to go up the lift) Hence 1 car will need to explain our 1 tag-2 car story each time we want to go through the guard house.
Pros:
1. 2 pools (1 baby pool with slide). My daughter enjoys this but suffered from mild skin allergy after our trip.
2. Reasonable security. By the way it is situated next to the Banda Hilir Police station / hostel.
3. Reasonable clean
Cons:
1. Water heater's shower holder leaks.
2. 2 toilets, 1 ensuite for master bed, another common area toilet. Common Area toilet has no place to hang clothes / put toiletries.
3. Bumpy & creaking bed
4. Sofa that has seen better days
5. Location - about 15 mins drive to the all the happenings in town.
I doubt we'll stay here again, mainly due to location of this apartment.
All attractions are so Jonker Street centric, the traffic jam to go out & back to the accomodation is quite tedious.
With the time & petrol spend in the car, better pay a bit more to stay in a equivalent hotel where you can just walk..

Room Tip: ask for room overseeing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank koo_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Checked-in last week with friends into three-rooms apartment, lift broken down but lucky repaired same day. Bedrooms all nice and clean. Living Room big, good for our group to chit-chat and steamboat for lunch. No air-cond in living room, only fan but very cooling breeze. if visit get the tourist map from receptionist cost RM5. got all info inside to travel around. drive to nearby Restaurant Makko for dinner, nice nyonya food... next day nice big swimming pool for all of us. enjoy ourselves best. Sure come back again & also get other friends to come, heard they have bigger unit with 4 rooms!! will get Amy to share the experience... hei Amy write something to remember of our time, you good at writing! next trip get Chong kor & Barley & Soo Xing ... anyone you think of... heee heee heee...

Room Tip: if group ask for big living room unit with three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MLatoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Had a family vacation in Melaka last week and decided to stay in Garden City after much research and surveys. Price was affordable. We stayed at the Premier Suite, just enough for our family of 6. The reservation counter staff was helpful and gave a fast service. We were reminded about switching on the main power at the power box when we enter. The unit is clean as well as the rooms and toilet. Garden City a great spot as it is middle of town and walking distance to Melaka Raya. We just need 5mins drive to the shopping centre (Mahkota Parade & Dataran Pahlawan). Jonker Walk is also a 10 mins drive away. Definately an enjoyable weekend and shall come back again!

Room Tip: Always inform the reservation staff on the number of people who are travelling with. They will sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Casandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

My family of 8 had the best time in Melaka, we stayed in the Luxury Suite. Children enjoyed the pool most! will sure come back again!

Room Tip: Tell them the number in the group and they will be able to recommend the one suitable for you, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

At the time of writing, we are still staying here. I just cannot bear bathing here because the bathroom is dirty and broken. There is only one remote for all the air cons. The air cons don't always work.

Linen not well cleaned, place looks dark most of the time. I just can't wait to check out.

If you wanna spoil someone's holiday, bring em here!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I book frm agoda and jst wan to comform my book i call at reservation but she pass me the line to the other person her name T.......Y. i ask her c/in wat time then she answer me 2pm(ok fine),i ask her if the room big enough a not for us big family she can't even answer me,wat will happen if we go there and no rooms so we have to squezz each other.why she don't know the room big or small then why she want became a reservation for. i ask her again if the shopping mall very near a not she said ya near but once we go there poor my grandmother have to walk frm Garden City to Dataran Pahlawan. she not clever enough and never thing . my hubby and mother so mad and angry to her and we wanted to go to the office make complaint but we thing we put at review so that everybody know . don't stay at this place all lies. they want money but all staffs useless.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron306997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#19 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#31 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#29 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden City Melaka Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden City Melaka Service Apartments

Property: Garden City Melaka Service Apartments
Address: Suites 1, Penthouse, Bangunan, Draland, 9, Jalan Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden City Melaka Service Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Garden City Melaka Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden City Melaka Service Apartments Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing