We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time away from the hustle and bustle...enjoy”
Review of Straits View Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Straits View Lodge
Ranked #64 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Time away from the hustle and bustle...enjoy”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We took our seven 7 kids here and it was one of their fondest memories of Malaysia. The lovely view from the beach just opposite the lodge will stay with us for a long time to come. We especially loved the true Malaysia experience of living amongst the people and not being stuck in the middle of town amongst the busy traffic and buildings. Local food can be found close by and the owners personal help went over and above what we were expecting. Thank you Melaka Straits Lodge...hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Cheap, friendly, clean and they took me to the Melaka city to do shopping.View relaxing and enjoyed the breakfast food at the restaurant in front of the beach at the end of the lodge. i got to go fishing and the sunsets are awesome. Defiantly come back another time.

Room Tip: Ask for the room up stairs as they r bigger and more roomy f you are traveling with other people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yunus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Friendly staff,good location beachfront with good fishing area around.Clean and reasonable price with most room aircon that we stayed in.I would take as a 3 or 4 day stay best.Nice tropical drinks at their restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nablol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2010

his resort is the best .I went with my sister at the end of novemberr. we enjoyed every minute at this resort.The staff are so friendly and professional.the room was big and clean with nice balcony,the service was excelent,everything in this resort is wonderful.it is the best place for relaxing.I recommend this resort to everyone.Thank you Straits View Lodge for making our tirip great and wonderful.Maybe its because of the NEW management...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meque2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This place was an absolute nightmare. I rang the hotel after a reading a misleading ad stating it was "beach front' "western food" - and that fishing and watersports were available.

When I rang I asked the hotelier how far away from the bus terminal it was. He said "10 minutes" - after a 45 minute taxi drive we FINALLY arrived. The place was god awful.

It was not "beach front" - between the 'hotel' and the beach was a dirty noisy motorway.

The "Villas" were run down TINY shacks, with sunken in roofs.

The "western food" was from a dirty dingy little canteen at the front of the property, serving fish and chips, steak, and chicken. I wouldn't feed anything from there to my dog it looked so dirty and disgusting.

At the price advertised, we thought that we would be getting a nice place - we were told it would be 80 RM to stay the night at the 'hotel'. This is extremely expensive compared to nicer places in the city.

The location was in the middle of nowhere. The 'beach' was a dirty oil-covered miserable place, with oil tankers in the horizon.

The property was an overgrown, badly kept jungle. The "Villas" looked like they hadn't been maintained in years, and the roofs looked like they were about to fall in. Mangy flea-ridden stray cats overran the place.

When we arrived, I felt like crying. The final slap in the face was when we asked for our room (which has been promised to us on the phone by the owner) - the owner said "can you check in at 7.30pm?? THERE WASN'T EVEN A ROOM AVAILABLE FOR US.

The worst part about this place was the owner's deception. He lied several times. About the location, and the availability of a room. Very dodgy. He was not apologetic and instead tried to argue with me.

I asked for a taxi to bring us back into the city. I was SO glad to be away from that hell hole of a place, I paid the cab driver double.

We instead stayed at the Riverview Guest House, for only 60RM - and it was just gorgeous, clean and beautiful. Right next to all the attractions in Malacca. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

AVOID THIS NIGHTMARE OF A PLACE AT ALL COSTS

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kha777, Public Relations Manager at Straits View Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
That sounds like a horrible experience from three years ago! Since the new management has taken over Straits View Lodge, we have only had good reviews. The lodge has been updated , is constantly checked and cleanness is of major importance to the management. There are no cats and is well kepted.. Also their is a quite road in between straits view lodge and the beach, not a motorway as incorrectly stated. The taxi drive is about 25mins and buses pass Straits view lodge from Melaka central easier. We also do pick up and transfers from Melaka central for FREE for dear customers. The beach is beautiful and children and adults swim in the clean waters. It is NOT oily. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Melaka
Holiday Inn Melaka
#8 of 166 in Melaka
1,819 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#59 of 166 in Melaka
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straits View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straits View Lodge

Property: Straits View Lodge
Address: C-7886 Pantai Kundur, Bt.9, Tg, Keling, Melaka 76400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Straits View Lodge - Budget Beach side Accommodation across Pantai Puteri beachStraits View Lodge is located at Pantai Puteri beach, the most private and serene north western district of Malacca, just 10 km from the heart of this historic city, as Melaka was founded in 1390. With beautiful views of the Straits of Malacca, SVL is easily accessible via the north-south highway that runs from Johor Bahru in the south, to Kuala Lumpur in the north. Great for families,English speaking travelers and good location especially forrelaxing, pampering and enjoying the Straits of Malacca beaches with amazing sunsets and fishing.Friendly Fluent English & Malay speaking manager who lived in Australia for thirty years.We offer tour packages of Melaka,as well as Kuala Lumper and airport transfers.FREE pick up at Melaka Central bus station if staying in our accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Straits View Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing