We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located and clean”
Review of Mimosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mimosa Hotel
Ranked #36 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location as it is within walking distance of the heart of the city and surrounded by a lot of eateries and shops. 

The second best thing is the staff that is very friendly and extremely helpful.

The decor in the room was dated but the room was clean, spacious and it had a large window. The bathroom had no frills but also very clean. The air-conditioning was fine.

The breakfast was simple but ok.

Overall, this hotel has good value for money. If you're in Melaka and you don't want to spend too much on a hotel, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Mimosa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

The hotel is very basic but reasonable for the price you pay.
Do not expect too much & it can be quite acceptable for a short stay (1-2 nights).

- Aircon & water heater is working fine.
- Bed is okay.
- Selection of TV channels is very poor (like 3 or 4 channels and there's really nothing to watch).
- The wall is thin & sound insulation is poor, I could hear my neighbours in the next room.
- Although the room came with breakfast, I did not try it as there is so many cheap & good food around the vicinity at Jonker Walk.
- Best thing about the hotel is probably the location as its within walking distance to the popular Jonker Walk.

Room Tip: Try to spend time outside the room. Use it only to shower & sleep.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pingishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

We travelled to Melaka on 10 November for a friend's office warming party. There was a large group of us and we left of our hotel booking till the 11th hour. Our first choices were the Holiday Inn, Hatten Hotel or the Hereen courtyard but since it was the start of the school holidays and given we were tardy with our hotel booking, most of the popular hotels were fully booked.

We chanced upon the Mimosa Hotel on trip advisor, since there were a solid number of good reviews we decided to secure our rooms through booking.com. Our room came with a buffet breakfast and free parking. Note that the carpark is quite small but hotel guests are guaranteed a parking although during our stay, the hotel was at full occupancy and some of the cars had to be double parked.

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of jonker street- its about a 10 minute walk to jonker's and there were many local eateries in the vicinity.

The decor in the room was a bit dated but it was clean and the bathroom was spacious. The toiletries were basic and there were bath towels provided although there were no bedroom slippers or hand towels. Each room came with two bottles of mineral water, a kettle for boiling water and coffee and tea sachets.

When we first checked in and were assigned rooms, our rooms were so stifling hot- it was practically boiling hot! We rang for maintenance and they assured us it was normal as it takes some time for the airconditioning to cool the room. For families travelling with children, you need to be forewarned on the room temperature especially if you hope to put the small ones down for a nap once you reach it may not be so feasible.. Our room only became cool when we left the airconditioning running for more than an hour.

The breakfast was simple- there was cornflakes, baked beans, noodles, toast, congee, rice and some curries. There was also an egg station with eggs made to order. Don't expect too much - the food outside in the local shops were much better and cheaper too. The ventilation in the cafe was poor and we made the mistake of sitting near the egg station. We smelt of grease afterwards- which was awful!

Overall, this hotel has good value for money. It's an old fashioned hotel with very friendly staff. If you're in Melaka and you don't want to spend too much on a hotel, this is a good choice. We would certainly return to stay when we visit our friend again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnowmanSnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed one night at the Mimosa Hotel. Service was good, the front counter were friendly and very pleasant. The hotel provides free wifi- which was brilliant. Showers and rooms were basic, but clean.

The hotel is conveniently located near Jonker Walk, a mere 5-10 minute walk away. The hotel breakfast wasn't fantastic though. I'd save my stomach space and eat at the many food places in town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunnygoeszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in one of the executive rooms. We had no problems with the hot water as noted by other people and because we were on holidays we were often not getting up until 9am and there was still plenty of hot water. A/C worked well and breakfast had a good selection. Like any hotel some staff members were more helpful and others. When we check out they were happy to ring a taxi for us and give us each a bottle of drinking water.
China town and Little India both in walking distances.
Would be happy to stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blacky2005ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stay for 1 night at the Executive Room. The room are clean, beds are comfortable but the air cond is not cold enough, need to on till the maximum speed and lowest temperature. This hotel have a very good location as few of the famous food stalls (蚵煎&鲜蛤) just within working distance. As for breakfast just average, they need to improve the ventilation of the coffee house and the cleanliness of folks & spoons.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyLoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

stayed in this hotel. Worth the money. Close to the heritagge city. . Jonkers walk and all food joints. Ten minute walk to most of the attractions. There is a 24 hour mamak shop around the corner. Breakfast was simple and.good. Fruits ,cereal, rice and.some spicy curry. .
In room.services only offer either coffee or tea. Onve replinished need to buy . Provides two.water bottles.
Bathrooms are cleam and spacious. Provides comfortable comforters and extra pillow. The aircon.can get pretty cold.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irshsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arissa
Hotel Arissa
#22 of 167 in Melaka
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Melaka
Ibis Melaka
#17 of 167 in Melaka
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#37 of 167 in Melaka
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#38 of 167 in Melaka
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#61 of 167 in Melaka
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Hotel

Address: Mimosa Hotel 108 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £17 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mimosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mimosa Hotel Melaka strategically located in the heart of China town , Melaka and within walking distance to historical landmarks , business & shopping districts like Jonker Walk ,the antique enthusiast's haven and eateries. Well-appointed spacious rooms complete with a spectacular view of Chinatown to make your stay pleasant and memorable . We offer the very best in comfort,warmth ,quality service and great value . Step into our lobby and you will find the set-up layout animates a feeling of warmth and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mimosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing