We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful hosts”
Review of Heeren House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heeren House
Ranked #23 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had stayed at Heeren House some years ago when it was run by Liz and Bernard. Now it is under the supervision of Marcia and Henry who are gracious hosts. The rooms are still basic and have had nothing done to themsince but they are comfortable. The position is right next to the river and you can easily walk to all attractions within minutes. The street is really interesting with antique shops and lots of restaurants. We had the downstairs twin room with a very basic TV which we did not bother with and the bathroom really needs a new shower curtain so the floor does not flood.. The hotel has been sold and I really hope that the new owners do the right thing and keep it as a BNB but seriously spend some funds on its refurb. I love this BNB. It is my favorite in Melaka. Breakfast was fine nothing to rave about. For the money it is very good but if you want something more upmarket go to the hotel that has been built behind with the pool. Cant remember the name of it though.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    98
    35
    20
    10
See reviews for
45
105
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Heeren house is a converted Godown (Warehouse) right next to the river in the centre of Melaka. It is around 300 yrs old and the conversion has been done very sensitively. Rooms are not massive but are spotless and comfortable and excellent value. However, the real bonus of staying here is the owners Marcia and Henry. What they don't know about Melaka isn't worth knowing and they could not be more helpfu. They will do everything they can to make sure that you get the best out of your stay in this fascinating city. Breakfast is great and, if you are interested in local food, Marcia runs a restaurant just outside the city centre which does fantastic Baba/ Nyonya food ( most of the recipes provided by Marcia's Mum). You may find cheaper places in Melaka but quite honestly a stay here is worth every ringitt.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Captainkit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed for four nights in July while touring SE Asia. Room was basic, as expected, in charming old shophouse. A/C worked just fine; not always the case with older hotels. River view was great but river odor was not. Easy walk to Jonkers Street. Tasty breakfast included.
Marcia and Henry are excellent hosts and went out of their way to help when a medical problem arose on the first day of our stay. They found me a specialist, set up an appointment, drove me to the MDs office, and provided written directions to return to the hotel. Well beyond the service norm and much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This lovely old house is right on the river and is full of atmosphere as well as being very well located. When the temperature rose too high we could nip back 'home' for half an hour's rest in the air-conditioning. Marcia and Henry are great hosts and very helpful. Excellent breakfasts are included in the cost of the rooms. The little shop is an additional bonus!

Room Tip: A room with a good river view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Until visiting this unique hotel, I was ready to shorten my holiday in Malaysia. I had been very disappointed in the level of customer service in Malaysia. The hosts Marcia and Henry with all the staff were able to develop trust and rapport by being knowledgable, kind and helpful. The rooms were spacious, well lit, with good air conditioning. They were serviced daily with towels that actually absorbed moisture. ( a rare thing indeed). The meals were simple but tasteful. In summary, the overall customer service made this the most enjoyable part of the 'Malaysian experience' to the point where the negatives were turned around to positives. Therefore, I will consider having another holiday in Malaysia.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Returning to Melaka after a decade we spent an enjoyable 2 nights in the family room of this well located hotel. The hotel's greatest advantage is it position next to the dramatically upgraded river and in the centre of the restored heritage area with many options for eating. The owners Marcia and Henry were very friendly and helpful while giving guests space. The western style breakfast is included in the price.
The room was a delight with older style furniture in a simple rustic manner, retaining elements of the original building.
We would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: seek a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miker4658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamba
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Great position on river close to everything. Our room was a comfortable old fashoned double with good view. The bathroom shabby and needed a bit of maintenance. Air conditioner noisy. Marcia and Henry Tan were very friendly and helpful even providing umbrellas on a rainy day. Cooked breakfast included in price. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights and would recommend it Definitely value for money. Night market in Jonker St on weekend is fantastic.

Room Tip: Upstairs double overlooking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#50 of 166 in Melaka
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
#33 of 166 in Melaka
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
5 Heeren Museum Residence
5 Heeren Museum Residence
#25 of 166 in Melaka
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heeren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heeren House

Property: Heeren House
Address: 1 Jalan Tun Tan, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage guesthouse and cafe right in the heart of historical Melaka city. Everything and anything that is interesting in the city centre (UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE) is within walking distance. Each room has window views of the Melaka River and city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heeren House Hotel Melaka
Heeren Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing