We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
87
101
36
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
101
36
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercooked breakfastchicken rendanggreat central locationspicy foodwithin easy walking distancehistoric townquaint hotelotakjonker streethard rock cafeheritage areashuttersfurniturewarehouseearplugscoz
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2008

My husband and I recently spent four nights at Heeren House. Liz and Bernard are wonderful hosts and I cannot recommend this guesthouse enough. Just loved the quaintness. Ideally located. Great breakfast served. All staff warm and friendly. Asked Raj (the night watchman) to recommend a good Indian restaurant - sent us to the Restoran Selvam where we ate authentic food served on a banana leaf. A great experience, not to mention very tasty. Thanks Raj for the recommendation.

Look forward to a return visit some day. Thanks again Liz and Bernard.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zazzi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Heeren House is located right at the riverside in the town centre of Melaka. The rooms are tastefully furnished and very clean. The hosts are welcoming and can give you advice on things to do/see in Melaka. On top there is an American breakfast included in the price.

We stayed there for one night in April 2008 - I highly recommend to book a room at Heeren House in case you go to Melaka.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kugelblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Spent 3 nights at this guest house and enjoyed all of it. The facility is lovely (the cafe and craft shop downstairs were a nice place to linger in the heat of the day). The rooms are simply but tastefully decorated, (just be forewarned if you have a lot of hang up clothing, there are only hooks on the wall in place of a wardrobe). And the staff (cleaning, porter, etc.) are extremely accommodating.

I think our favourite memory from Heeren house is of our 10 month old, ensconced in a rattan high chair, with an embroider silk cushion, clapping excitedly as a banana was ceremoniously delivered to her for breakfast in place of the full English mum and dad were consuming.

This memory is also an example of the care to detail proprietors Liz and Bernard Tan demonstrate. Having asked for a banana in the cafe during an afternoon tea break on our first day, they made sure that one was delivered for breakfast all of the subsequent mornings without our needing to request it.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cello626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2008

We stayed at Heeren House for 2 nights. The combination of a most friendly welcome by the owners, a spotlessly clean room with attached bathroom literally overlooking the Malacca River, and an unbeatable location made this a very enjoyable trip.

The modest room rate includes an excellent breakfast. Small dishes, snacks and drinks are available at extra charge throughout the day. We noticed people from other hotels having breakfast at Heeren House.

WI / FI Internet access is available at no costs provided you bring your own laptop.

Very cheap parking is available near the hotel. Most of the historical sites are within walking distance.

We highly recommend Heeren House, a charming place and more than just a B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AplusK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

Lovely English-style B&B in an old Malaccan Dutch house on what used to be Heeren Street.

Spotlessly clean, cool tiled floors and shutters for shade and privacy make for a far more "real" stay in Malaysia than big corporate hotels.

The location is unbeatable - over the bridge to the old Portuguese and Dutch towns/churches/museums/etc and the two main baba nonya streets on the doorstep. The Makhota shopping mall is a short walk away on the other side of Porta de Santiago. Doesn't get much more central than that!

With helpful friendly hosts, what more can one ask for?

There is wireless internet if you have your own laptop, or else you can use the Heeren Inn's computers for 3RM per hour, or even go into the Dutch Harbour cafe and use theirs for free as long as you are eating/drinking.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Old_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews