We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
88
101
36
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
101
36
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river cooked breakfast chicken rendang great central location spicy food within easy walking distance historic town quaint hotel otak jonker street hard rock cafe heritage area shutters furniture warehouse earplugs coz
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Situated on the edge of old Melaka, this guesthouse made the ideal place to stay. Our twin room on the ground floor was quiet, tea and coffee facilities provided, shutters instead of curtains which provided good privacy. Bathroom was in need of some renovation but was clean and adequate for our needs though an extendable clothesline would be an added bonus. Breakfast was more than adequate- juice, tea and coffee, fresh fruit, toast and a cooked to order hot breakfast. Attached to the breakfast area (which also doubles as a small cafe during the day) is a small shop filled with interesting artifacts for sale. Best of all were the owners, Liz and Bernard, who provided helpful advice about where to eat and go. They were always interested in our daily travels and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Bernard and Liz were so welcoming and full of great, helpful information. The rooms are neat and clean and have a wonderful view of the river and fort. We would have stayed longer, if only they'd not had a full house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishd31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

- MYR15 by taxi from the central bus station (we arrived from JB by express bus). The taxi had no meter so be sure to negotiate the price before accepting. We had e-mailed the hotel and asked about cab fare before we left.
- Bed and breakfast style accommodation located right in the heart of colonial Melaka, right beside the river. So walking to the colonial sights is not a problem – but do remember the heat and humidity. Walking to the shopping area takes about 10 minutes. There are at least 3 major shopping centers nearby, all with a huge array of fast food places and stores.
- The owners of the business are friendly, accommodating and helpful.
- The room is fairly large, plainly furnished in the local style. The bathroom is aged (not surprising the building is heritage) and could be upgraded. But it is very clean.
- Television is limited to one local channel. No phone in room. The major advancement is free WiFi if you have your own computer. This was a pleasant surprise.
- Breakfast is a sit down British hot meal. Very good and hot. Coffee or tea, fruit and toast are self serve.
- Room air conditioner works really well, thankfully as Melaka is very hot and humid.
- Loud music blares away on weekends. Mercifully it stops at 11 p.m. Not Heeren House’s fault, just unlucky to be so close to the source.
- Our room was #4. It had a partial view of the river. It is by itself on the end of the building. It is very quiet and peaceful.
- Heeren House is not a hotel nor a boutique hotel. It is really at B & B with a café and shop attached. It is very well kept, clean and the hosts are excellent. They take only cash for payment. So if you are looking for a four star hotel, do not select Heeren House. But if you want local flavour, small and intimate setting, great location, good breakfast, without pool, satellite television or other hotel amenities, then Heeren House is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Two nights of comfort and old fashioned service. Room overlooked river. Substantial English breakfast. Very helpful couple who advised on cheap restaurants, a Chinese Dim Sum and an Indian Tandoori.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAULLEIGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

A lovely place to stay. The owners were both lovely, and made us really welcome.
The room was charming - I felt like I'd just stepped out of the film 'A Room with a View'! Four poster bed, with a window looking out onto the (albeit smelly) river. There were a few squashed mosquitos that had been left on the tiles in the bathroom, which was a bit poor - wouldn't have taken much to wipe them off. Admittedly, it wasn't the cleanest place we've ever been to.
The only other downside was that they came into our room and removed our towels while we were out taking an early morning walk, which made our pre-checkout showers a bit interesting!!
Overall, a lovely place and lovely people.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katyshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews