We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 nights get away at the Settlement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Settlement Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Settlement Hotel
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“2 nights get away at the Settlement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Quick get-away 3D2N at The Settlement Hotel Melaka


Arrived around noon about 1230pm…
Car park is at the back of the hotel, so if you driving there please drive slowly in front of the hotel or you will miss the entrance to enter the car park.

Once park; walk towards the main entrance.
Check in area was ok and decent.
Welcome drink was provided.
Nevertheless, the room was not ready.
So they send us for lunch (since we took Tripadvisor lunch set offer)..
The 3 course lunch was ok; but waiting time for each course is long…
They informed the lunch is only one time; even though you stay for several nights (very much turn off…!)..

After we had our lunch, they guide us to our room on the 1st floor.
Room layout was decent with queen bed.
Cozy.
Toilet had a big tub and standing shower (2 in 1).
The tub is big and can fit 2 people easily.
Aircond, lights and all was functioning.
The mini bar they do give “a 1 time” 2 can drinks.
Free WIFI (internet)...

There is a small swimming pool at the car park / next to the spa.
It looks dated.

There are few eating spots around the hotel (walking distance).
If you like seafood they you should have a walk towards the Portuguese settlement (10 mins walk).

Breakfast at the hotel was ok.
During our first day (morning) we had buffet breakfast.
Choices are ok; not much to offer.
During our last day (next morning) they provide off the menu breakfast.

Overall the hotel location a bit far from the town (around 10 mins drive).

Had a good 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSI_DSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear TSI_DSG,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us.

We apologise for the short wait you experienced during check in and we want you to know that as a VIP to our hotel, we will ensure that the waiting time for every guest is minimal and we hope you enjoyed the lunch we provided. Also, we apologise for the mis-communication on our free lunch offer. The tripadvisor offer enables you to enjoy either a set lunch or dinner for 2 persons for every night's stay.

Our chefs are constantly working on new and improved menus for breakfast, however when the minimum number of guests for breakfast is not met, we offer our guests a customized set breakfast of their choice. Please contact our room manager Mr. Lim who will assist you in ensuring your preferred breakfast menu is served to your liking.

We thank you once again for your constructive feedback and we certainly look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    205
    42
    18
    5
See reviews for
163
211
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having a safe parking is our main concern - hence decided to give it a try after reading few good reviews. Was glad we made the right choice, hotel is new & staffs were polite & helpful.. wouldnt mind staying back this hotel next trip.. well done & keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xstarrxchiangx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear xstarrxchiangx,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us.

We're very happy that you appreciated our products and hospitality.
Do let us know what we can do to make your next stay even better. We would like to hear from you of any suggestions or comments that can make your next stay more memorable.

Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A great place to stay and enjoy the comfort of this new hotel for a weekend getaway. Fantastic service by manager and staff, friendly and courteous. Well greeted upon arrival with cool towel and drink. Room was clean and well designed and laid out. Decor of hotel brightens the place and have that warmth feeling. Complimentary breakfast was tastefully good even though spread was not extensive. Love the muffins! Shuttle service to/fro city centre is added bonus to avoid the traffic jams and parking problem. Parking is at the back of hotel and not through main entrance. No problem though, as staff will assist to park for you while you check in. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear THSee,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us.

We're glad that you appreciated our hospitality and products offered and we are always fine tuning and improving our service levels for our guests.

We took note of your breakfast comments and rest assured we're trying to create a breakfast menu that will be even more pleasing and comprehensive for all our guests. We're also constantly trying out new recipes and improving our food quality as well.

Thanks you again for highlighting your concerns and we assure you, we're listening to you and are making changes as we go along.

Hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very new, the staff are very polite and helpful. The room we booked had a nice practical layout, the best is the bathroom which came with a nice stone tub. Will definitely come back to this hotel during my next visit to Malacca. The parking is ample and secure for my car.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Felixng2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Felixng2013,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us.

We're extremely humbled by your kind words and are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here. Please let us know if there is something else we can do better when you decide to visit us again.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were very looking forward to this stay and had exchanged frequent emails with the front of house staff arranging our room and in particular facilities for our baby who was travelling with us. When we arrived we were treated to cool flannels and a refreshing drink. The room itself was a little small but very well laid out, very clean and very pretty.
We enjoyed our stay and spent lots of time in the pool splashing around with the baby. This could do with a clean out - it's a pity that the hotel is so new yet the pool is already beginning to look a little tired. In addition the rooftop area was also looking very uncared for and as this is potentially a great space and could be very attractive it's probably worth doing this up!
The hotel is quite far outside of Malacca - around a 30 minute walk but this is along busy roads with no pavements. For this reason we took advantage of the free shuttle bus and were very grateful that this was always arranged for us very quickly and took us anywhere we wanted to go.
We were really looked after well by the front of house staff - in particular Ben who was very attentive the first few days and gave us fantastic food recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Nicola S,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us.

Your kind words will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of our employes and we thank you for highlighting a few concerns with regards to our pool and rooftop bar. As much as we try to maintain our facilities in top notch standards, sometimes we overlook that and will indeed put more effort into ensuring that all our guests enjoy our facilities to the fullest with ease and comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Settlement Hotel whenever your travels bring you back to historical Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is a Gem. I made a mistake with my booking dates (my fault). The staff were excellent in their attitude and speed with fixing my error. I would highly recommend "The Settlement Hotel". The room and bathroom were spacious and full of character and charm. There is a lovely attention to detail throughout the hotel. The furniture, fittings and artworks. reflect the heritage and cultural history of the area. Many of which look custom made. I look for ward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nambohynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear nambohynot,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us.

We're extremely humbled by your kind words and we're very pleased to have been there for you when you needed us. Here at the Settlement Hotel, We always place our guests ahead of anything else. We're also touched by the fact that you could relate to our deco and cultural touches around the hotel.

We await your return patiently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Main factor: Friendly and attentive staff, located not too close to busy malacca yet pretty close to others attractions (Portuguese village, beach, etc), super cosy and cute hotel.

the negative side was only due to its location. pretty far from malacca city or bandar hilir. but as i travel by my own car, i'm not facing any problem bout that. but they do provide one way shuttle service, for free!

positive side; fast check in and check out, friendly staff, unique hotel design, super cosy three type pillows, bathrobe is provided, complimentary note book and high quality pen and many more!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imranurul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Imranurul,

Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us.

We're really honored to have had the opportunity to serve you and we like the fact that you loved our pillows. We believe everyone is entitled to a comfortable and good nights sleep and we're happy to have been able to provide you with that attention.

We are aware that we are situated a little distance from the city, but our shuttle service will take you anywhere you need to go while you're here at a very reasonable cost and is free for trips to the city and historical sites around Melaka.

Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Settlement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Settlement Hotel

Property: The Settlement Hotel
Address: No 63 Jalan Ujong Pasir | World Unesco Heritage City, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Settlement Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, romantic and trendy boutique hotel built on the premise of tracing Melaka roots and influences. It seeks to capture and preserve Melaka illustrious history, and to immerse our guests through an evolution of cultures and hospitality. Our hospitality is all about services. We warmly welcome you ~ Check-in as honored guest and check-out as our cherished friend. Selamat Datang (Welcome).Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Settlement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing