We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Settlement Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Settlement Hotel
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had been staying at The Settlement for almost a week since together with my friend. I would like to specially thanks to the manager named 'Lim' who attend us for the whole week when we were there. We can see him everywhere in the hotel. He just make our stay a very great one!

Besides, million thanks to him for draft us the must visit places and also the places of interest in Malacca. It helps us a lot as we won't have to crack our head thinking of where to go. We went to all the places he recommended. It was Fantastic! Good job!

Will surely be back again.

Room Tip: Room bed was good! Service is beyong the hospitality market can offer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank severn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We thank you for spending a week with us.
We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us like your home in Malaysia.
We hope we have helped to capture some of your small but special moments of your
holidays in Malaysia. We hope we will help freeze them in your heart to share these beautiful moments with your loved ones and friends back home.

We will certainly convey your appreciation to Lim.
Your kind words will help him and all of us in honoring the fine tradition of hotel industry.

Please come back and visit us again soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    205
    42
    18
    5
See reviews for
162
211
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is clean and tastefully decorated. There is a good selection for the buffet breakfast both Western and local. The cakes are delicious. The suite is comfortable and spacious and the bathroom is clean and spacious with a nice bath to soak in after a long day in the heat and sun. Staff are friendly and accomodating. You do need a car although there are shuttle buses provided into the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCChye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you Mr Chye for your kind and generous words on the hotel.
It humbled us. These beautiful words will help and support us in doing better
in honoring the fine tradition of hotel hospitality.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward in welcoming you back again
soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for only a night… It has a nice fresh feel with some unique service ‘touches’ that we didn’t receive elsewhere. I’ll break it down:

PROS: Being given a warm refresher towel to wipe our face/hands as we arrived, the friendly lady at reception who warmly greeted us and took us to our room, the beautiful pen and notebook we received as a complementary souvenir, the furnishing of the room and bathroom fixtures, the landscaping and openness downstairs between inside and outside spaces, the pool, complementary breakfast, proximity to restaurants and sights, the filled bath we came home to complete with bubble bath and flower petals scattered on the surface (really romantic touch!), the price… $260RM a night

CONS: They only gave us one room key card, which you inserted into a slot by the door to activate power – the problem with this was that the air-con and mini bar automatically switched off when we left because we naturally took our card with us to access the room when returning. This resulted in a hot room we had to return to on the two or three times we left, and each time required a good 20-25 min or so of blasting the air con before it started to cool down. The other con was that when we left the next day the man at the service desk wasn’t very helpful in organizing transport for us from Melaka to KL airport. We had just missed the last charter bus, and asked him to organize a taxi which he said would be around $300RM … he didn’t let us know how long it would be or indeed that he had made the call for a taxi (we assumed so since he picked up the phone after our request and was speaking Malay)… after 15 minutes with no further words from the service desk man, we were surprised that no taxi had come and losing patience my partner went out to the street and hailed one instantly who quoted $200RM. It wasn’t the best finish to our stay, but if these are the only two faults I can find, then it shows you that everything else was excellent and great value. We would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdrum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your kind and beautiful words on our property humbled us.
Your kind words mean a lot to us. It will help us to do better in honoring the
fine tradition of hotel hospitality.
Taxi service:
I) RM300 is the standard price for a ride from Melaka Hotel to KLIA.
ii) We will only use our list of taxi drivers, recommended and approved by
the Taxi Association, for safety and security assurance.
We thank you again for staying with us. We look forward in welcoming you
back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Settlement hotel is a truly boutique hotel. The owner has put lots of details into decoration and service. We feel totally comfortable with the friendly and effective staffs. Free shuttle service was great. Though its a but off town, in fact Melaca is small. I t would't take ore than 10' to get to town.

We chose The Settlement Hotel for 3 days escape from Singapore for just the 2 of us. We had great time here. The room is clean. The bed is great. The linen and toiletries are exceptionally nice and comfortable.

Its a bit hard to get a pass by taxi but the hotel staffs are always helpful in booking taxi. We wouldn't consider this an element for not to give the hotel a 5 of excelent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haihangvnca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We thank you for staying with us. Knowing you have enjoyed your stay is our best gift.
Your kind words will help us a long way to do better for all our guests.

Please visit us again and we look forward in welcoming you back.
Thank you again for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Though it is not in the city center of Meraca, I would still suggest to stay in Settlement hotel. The hotel is new and decorated with antiques, the room and space is clean and offer free shuttle bus to city center and bus station. I would also thanks for their hospitality and warm support from the staff to help me reserve the bus ticket from Meraca to Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHsu0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We thank you for your kind words and appreciation.
It is our responsibility to ensure and trying our utmost best to make all our guests,
check-in as honored guests and check-out as our cherished friend.

We look forward in welcoming you, your family & your friends back to The Settlement Hotel and our beautiful Malaysia soon.
Thank you again for your kindness.

Malaysia soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The hotel several times and i still like it for its ambience and proximity to the Portuguese Settlement. However, the management needs to do something about the service. During my last trip my check out payments were mucked up and during this trip we received bad service at breakfast. Not a nice start to the day at all. The waitress got our drink orders wrong and then our breakfast took forever to arrive because she messed it up..then she serves our orders wrongly.. All this with 4 people in the cafe!!

Hope the management trains their staff as this is a really nice hotel..comfortable but smallish rooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank StefyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We thank you for your comments and the lovely words you have on our property.
Thank you for revisiting us.

We deeply apologize the situation. The staff who was serving your table was a trainee.
We have to admit our shortcoming in planning staffing that day; being the beginning
of our fasting month. Two of our managers had taken off to be with the family to kick of the holy month of Ramadan. We apologise the situation. This, certainly is not our regular service level.

Please contact Mr Lim Khoon Seng, our room manager during your next visit.
We apologise the situation. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days. It is a new hotel and so naturally has a few kinks to work out but generally well worth the money.

The area is a bit soulless but the hotel is sparkling and new. The staff are awesome (as have all the people we have encountered on this trip been)

The main vibe of Jonkers is way too far to walk but the hotel runs a shuttle every 2 hours. There are a couple of very local food options a little way up and down the street for the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you Tim for your kind words.
Your kind words will help to encourage our team to strive more passionately and
sincerely for all our guests. We thank you.

Our hotel is located away from the noisy and traffic jammed "Jonker street zone".
It is located along the food trail of Ujung Pasir, at the fringe of the historical Portuguese
Settlement. It is about 1.5KMs away from all the World UNESCO Heritage sites.

We look forward in welcoming you back again in your next visit our beautiful Malaysia. We thank you again and wish you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Settlement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Settlement Hotel

Property: The Settlement Hotel
Address: No 63 Jalan Ujong Pasir | World Unesco Heritage City, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Settlement Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, romantic and trendy boutique hotel built on the premise of tracing Melaka roots and influences. It seeks to capture and preserve Melaka illustrious history, and to immerse our guests through an evolution of cultures and hospitality. Our hospitality is all about services. We warmly welcome you ~ Check-in as honored guest and check-out as our cherished friend. Selamat Datang (Welcome).Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Settlement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing