We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Settlement Hotel
Ranked #4 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful lovely hotel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for only one night, but will definitely be back. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are well appointed and beautifully decorated. Although it is a 5-10 minute drive into the city center we did not find this to be a problem. We took the hotel shuttle in and had no problem finding a taxi home. This was well worth it to us for the peaceful night of sleep we got. I rarely write reviews, but found The Settlement Hotel warranted a little time and effort. We will most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and if you can treat yourself, choose one of the suites. They are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience.
We are so glad your short stay with us help to encapsulates your aspirations
and you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your beautiful review is gift to our hearts; it will inspire us to seal our commitment
to honor the fine tradition of the hotel industry, and, always do our best for all our
esteemed guests.

We thank you again.
Please allow my team and I to welcome you back soon.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    211
    43
    20
    5
See reviews for
173
224
26
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a two night stay at this hotel and were very pleased with it in general.

Took a bus ride from Singapore to Malacca, and arrived pretty late at night tired from the journey. But the bubbly and joyful reception staff made us feel better with jokes and a big, big smile. We felt really welcome.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable. The bed was big and so very comfortable, we both had a good rest on both nights and woke up refreshed. The AC was also powerful, too cold at times but great that it was adjustable.

Loved the decor around the hotel and in the room itself. There were really fun swings on ground floor where you can sit and take lovely photos. And the rooms came complete with a charming tea set, which was so very lovely.

The only thing I feel that the hotel needs to improve on is the breakfast selection and standard. On the first morning, we were given ala carte menus to choose what we wanted. Went for the American breakfast (I think), and it was just not great. Eggs were too buttery, hashbrowns too oily.

On the second morning, it was buffet style but again, there is plenty of room for improvement. I hope that my comments on the food is taken as constructive criticism as overall, we really enjoyed staying here!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely and beautiful compliments on our hotel and services.
It humbled us.
Your kind words are gifts to my team and I. It will certainly help and motivate us to work
harder and better for all our guests arriving.
We thank you.

Breakfast standard.
This is certainly not our regular serving standard. Our executive chef, took leaves to be with
his family for the new year. But this has no a reason for us to deliver breakfast of this standard to
our guests. We deeply apologise the matter and we will into details to improve on this.
We thank you for the most valuable feedback.

We look forward in welcoming you and your loved ones back to back soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

stayed here for 1 night,
very friendly and helpful staff,
room is big with nice design.
just 5 minute from the hotel to city, without heavy traffic and crowded.
a very good place to enjoy a peaceful holiday.
just the aircond of the room not cold enough,
definately i will choose this hotel for my next visit to malacca.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris wk c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and beautiful comment.
We are so glad you have enjoyed our services and sleep well on our beds.
Honoring the fine tradition of hotel hospitality is our social role and having a happy guest
is a gift to my team and I. We thank you for staying with us.
Air Conditioning service is noted. The weather in Melaka is really hot recently. You kind comment
remind us to "cool" our room more effectively before a guest check in.
We have noted this item for our next morning HODs briefing.
We thank you and look forward in welcoming you and your loved ones back soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at the Settlement over Hari Raya weekend. Drove up from Singapore. Main points:

1) the hotel is about 2.5k from the central Jonker Walk/Christ Church area. The hotel runs a bus service through the day. If you are travelling by car, its a very short drive and you can park v cheaply all day in the mahokta malls in secure underground parking - no problem. But you can't really walk to the sights from here.
2) the area surrounding the hotel is what you would call 'up and coming' if you were being kind - but, once behind the high walled garden you enter an oasis of shabby chic/boutique hotel heaven.
3) We had a junior suite, nice room, greta bed, beautiful bathroom - all good here.
4) Buffet breakfast was good too - mix of western and local - nice juice and espresso.
5) the staff were super friendly and helpful. We didnt have any unusual requirements, but they were generally on hand and ready to do whatever we asked.
6) the garden pool is small, but a nice place for a dip.

So overall I would recommend this as a perfect hotel for a Malacca getaway weekend - especially if you are driving and can get yourself back and forth to the city centre easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comment and beautiful remarks about our hotel and
services.
Your kindness mean a lot to my team and I. These beautiful and appreciative words
are best gift for us and would help to charge ourselves to do better for our guests at all time.
We are so happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please share your tales with
your loved ones at home.
We look forward in welcoming you, your loved ones and friends back to The
Settlement Hotel, historical Melaka soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went there for business, to do site inspect for our company event/seminar next year. I chose this hotel because of the excellent reviews given. I agreed to what was posted previously. The distance away from the city centre or Jonker Street is not a problem as the hotel provide free transport to this place. For return trip to hotel, they charge a minimum of RM15 per room. You will fall in love with this hotel when you stay there. There is no mis representation of web photos you see. Go to the Settlement website at http://www.thesettlementhotel.com which gave you a clear picture of this hotel. There is a eatery opposite the hotel (3 mins walk away) on the right, operate only in the evening, have not tried the food there but it was crowded (crowded means food is good!). Few minutes away there is a big 7-eleven shop.

Excellent place!! Suitable for couples, family, friends, solo and business.

Room Tip: Note for those have may have problem climbing the bath tub over 50cm in height, you may want to cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We thank you passionately for your kind words and beautiful comments about our
humble hotel.
Your kindness and generosity will certainly help and motivate our team to work even
harder and better for all our customers.
To honor the fine tradition of the hospitality industry is our social role and treating
all guests arriving with respect, truth and sincerity is our duty as a Malaysian.
We thank you again and we look forward in welcoming you and your guests back soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hi,

A few point to note about this hotel,

1) Good decorations in and the surrounding of the hotel.
2) Swimming pool extremely small, just slightly bigger then a jacuzzi tub.....:)
3) Wifi was good.
4) Room was good even though small, but well planned spaced and deco made it look cosy.
5) The food that came with the room package, no worst to describe how horrible it was, only the Nyona Laksa was edible.
6) Parking at open air ground floor, easy access to room.
7) Staffs were good.
8) Location is near to Portuguese Settlement Village, but by no means walking distance.
9) City is 10mins drive based on traffic condition.
10) Breakfast was average.

Overall stay here if you want to avoid the bustle and hustle of the city.

Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and inputs.
It is appreciated.
Our hotel is situated along the fringe of the Portuguese Settlement,
along the food trail of Jalan Ujung Pasir.
We can walk to the Portuguese Settlemet in 5 minutes.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Nice hotel with a tranquil environment, however the service and attention to the guest was lacking at times. This by no means is to imply that the staff were not friendly, however, don’t expect to get a glass of water or dessert after 10 pm. Having said that the rooms were absolutely gorgeous with all the mode-cons and amenities you would wish for. With our special offer, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your beautiful comments on our hotel.
We thank you for your kind words.
We regret the incident of the service level at our dining room.
This is certainly our regular service standards. We thank you for
your kindest feedback and we will ensure improvement in this area in
our weekly training schedule.
Thank you again and we look forward in welcoming you back.
Do take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,401 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,293 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,180 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 166 in Melaka
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Settlement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Settlement Hotel

Property: The Settlement Hotel
Address: No 63 Jalan Ujong Pasir | World Unesco Heritage City, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Settlement Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, romantic and trendy boutique hotel built on the premise of tracing Melaka roots and influences. It seeks to capture and preserve Melaka illustrious history, and to immerse our guests through an evolution of cultures and hospitality. Our hospitality is all about services. We warmly welcome you ~ Check-in as honored guest and check-out as our cherished friend. Selamat Datang (Welcome).Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Settlement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing