We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Settlement Hotel
Ranked #4 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable new hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A clean and well decorated new hotel in Melaka.
The decor and friendliness of the staff is let down by the poor breakfast (cold food and poor selection) and it's distance from attractions.
The hotel offered an hourly vehicle service to the nearby daytime attractions but in the evenings it is very quiet.
GOOD value for money.
Best if you have a car.

Room Tip: Ask for either a morning or afternoon sun. I enjoyed an afternoon sun room with gorgeous sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you for your review.
Our hotel is located along the fringe of the Portuguese Settlement, the earliest ethnic Kristang
group in Asia which arose during the colonial period (C16th - C17th Century), This brought about the spectrum of cultures & heritage in the history of Melaka.

Thank you for staying with us.
We thank you for your feedback.
We will do our best to look into it to better our selves in future.
We thank you again and we look forward in having you back soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    211
    43
    20
    5
See reviews for
173
224
26
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This a very small 49 room boutique hotel in busy ancient town of Malacca. Warm welcome by the GM & the front office manager made us feel good. They took the trouble to even show us around. Every nook & corner has been decorated with fine ‘aged’ furnitures and cool stuffs.

The plunge pool comes together with a trumpet like water feature. The long single log table in the restaurant was mesmerizing. But above all, the intricate carving of the wooden centre peace of the spa still stays in my eyes.

I am dying to get back to this place again sooner...

Great job guys! Double thumbs up! See you soon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Your kind words and review humbled us.
We are so happy to see someone sharing our passion.
The hotel is built with a theme "Cultures & Hospitality ~ An Evolution";
we do our best with a harmonious mix of modern & traditional décor, a flow of Artistic cultures, European and Asian Arts, and Peranakan stone work and natural tiles.

Thank you again for staying with us.
We certainly look forward in welcoming you back with your loved ones.
Do take good care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were made extremely welcome on arrival with refreshing towels and cup of tea. Syima (Duty Manager) showed us around the hotel and even took us to the local laundromat and educated us on how to use machines. Nothing was too much trouble for her, or any of the other staff during our stay. Everything in the hotel was of an exceptional standard. The hotel provides a one way courtesy bus and the cost of a taxi back from Jonker St was 15 -20 RM. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucket22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you for staying we us.
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud of Shima.

Your kind words certainly support us; it helps to motivate us to do even better.
We will always keep this index of doing our best, to be hospitable & to do our best
for all visitors visiting our beloved country.

Thank you for selecting The Settlement Hotel and we look forward in welcoming
you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

1. We were received with warm welcome tea and pleasant smile and humble manners with lots of patience .
2. Quick check-in and nice hospitality. Staff always had a pleasant smile which we felt homely.
3. Rooms were neat and clean with all facilities including Wifi.
4. Very good breakfast and staff received our request with a broad smile and the services were fast.
5. We will prefer Settlement hotel if we happen to visit Malacca again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rckumar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you.
Your kind words & review humbled us; it will motivate us to do our best
to all our guests at all time.
Your kind words also remind us of our role and responsibility in honoring the fine tradition of hotel hospitality; we need to project our most sincere Malaysian hospitalities to our friends from all over.
We thank you passionately and look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a nice cosy hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the Melaka city.
Excellent rooms with interesting antique décor around the hotel lobby and compound. Needless to say, hotel staff were prompt in their service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you for your kindness. We are so glad that you have a pleasant stay with us.
We are so please that you have enjoyed the decorations which is theme "Cultures and
Hospitality ~ An Evolution"; A harmonious mix of modern and traditional, a flow of Asian &
European art pieces and Peranakan stone work and natural tiles.
We thank you passionately.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A real gem away from the bustling jonker street. The interior of the hotel is so pretty and well thought of. We can see that they put in a lot of effort in the interior. The room is clean n well designed. It feels like we are staying in a well maintained museum!
The staff are friendly and the receptionists were v helpful. The area is not near jonker street which I think it's a blessing for some peace and give us more reasons to venture out rather than just sticking to the typical touristic area.
Breakfast is standard n nothing special but honestly who eats in the hotel when they r in melaka.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Your kind words humbled us. We are so glad you enjoy the harmonious mix of Modern and
traditional decors in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words.
We have recently readjusted our breakfast menu and we look forward in welcoming you back
to see us again.
Thank you for staying with us and we welcome you and your loved ones back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Well decorate hotel that make you enjoy the fusion of culture and modern facilities.
Staff served with passion and make sure we are well taken care.
Food is great. Must try the cakes.
Just stone throw away from Malacca Portugis settlement.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikelimka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you for your kind words and review.
Our team and I are thankful of your kind comments and this will help and motivate us
to honor the fine tradition of hotel hospitality and enhance our service level to be even
better.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,401 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,294 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,180 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 166 in Melaka
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Settlement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Settlement Hotel

Property: The Settlement Hotel
Address: No 63 Jalan Ujong Pasir | World Unesco Heritage City, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Settlement Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, romantic and trendy boutique hotel built on the premise of tracing Melaka roots and influences. It seeks to capture and preserve Melaka illustrious history, and to immerse our guests through an evolution of cultures and hospitality. Our hospitality is all about services. We warmly welcome you ~ Check-in as honored guest and check-out as our cherished friend. Selamat Datang (Welcome).Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Settlement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing