We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Holding Cell”
Review of AL33 Leisure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AL33 Leisure Hotel
Ranked #80 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Upon checking in, I was taken in by the simplicity and the sparse amenities the room has, perfect for over-the-weekend staycation. If you intend to check in, drop your luggage and do not intend to stay in the room very much, and only need it for sleeping then I think this arrangement would meet your need to a T. However, if you need to chill in the room, read and just while your time away, then I suggest you should book either Family Room or other larger rooms with window. Superior Twin Room is just a square without any window. The room was awfully tiny and it feels like a holding cell.

It doesn’t have a safe too, so you need to lug most of your valuables with you. And, you should already know by now that Malaysia is not necessarily the safest place on earth.

Location is not too bad, however, if you are walking back to the hotel late at night, it can be a little creepy, it’s rather dark and quiet. Other than that, it’s quite a good respite from the buzz. It has got convenience store a few doors away, a lot of coffee shops and restaurant. So, you will never go hungry. The coffees shops usually open into the night…so if you need a bite in the ungodly hours, be sure, you will never go hungry.

Also, the hotel provides bottled waters every day, and there’s a dispenser on the ground floor where you can get hot waters and the like. Like I said, this is purely for nomads.

I wouldn’t say I love this hotel very much, neither do I hate it a lot. It’s just a different concept from the hotels/hostels that I am used to. My only grouse though is the thin wall between the room and corridor. So if anyone trampled outside, it echoes through the room. If you are a light sleeper, bring a pair of ear plugs. Otherwise, be ready to be awaken every few mins/hours some walks outside your room or up and down the stairs. Or worst, talk outside your room!

Room Tip: Bring a pair of ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSillyAshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beds were comfortable; I liked the glow-in-the-dark aircon remote buttons a lot. The room itself smelled musty, but was clean. Our rooms were on the ground floor, so we heard quite a few loud conversations. (Wish I could rate travelers who slam doors.) Staff were friendly and accommodating. Complimentary refreshments in the lobby are a plus. The hotel is about 10 minutes' drive from the Jonker Street area, but you can also walk because the sidewalks are in good shape. Otherwise, hungry travelers can visit the coffeeshop/kopitiam up the road, or the Thai restaurant on the same block as the coffeeshop.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here during our stay in Melaka and were very happy. The rooms are very clean, and practically brand new with a modern design. Price /quality it is excellent, especially for tight budget looking for comfort. You can walk as well as bike to the center, and very good Japanese restaurant nearby. Highly recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina72686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

for the price, it is everything that we wish for. clean and nice. the service was great. just 15 minutes walk to the Jonker Street. However, it is not close to Mahkota Medical Center if you're coming to Melaka for medical reason. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aji L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I just checked out of AL-33 hotel after staying for 4 nights. It's a cozy hotel with very fiendly and attentive staff. The location is somewhat good. 15 minutes walk to the famous Jonker street. outside the hotel on the left side is Pizza Hut. it's just couple of stores away. 7-11 is a little bit further. overall, it's worth the money.
Room was clean and everything was in order. I had room 206 and I could see beautiful sunset.
There is a deposit of 50 ringgit in cash upon check in. So, it is good to know that in advance.
It's highly recommended hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Marcopollo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stay here 1 night with family, we booked 3 rooms and the rooms are very comfortable, clean and nice even it is just a basic room. Definitely will come back here. Nearby to Jonker Walk & Bandar Hilir (8-10 mins drive), also nearby to Klebang Coconut Shake (15mins drive)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank HafizHafifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stay here 5 nights and I was very happy: the hotel is very new, the rooms are beautful, clean & comfortable. The staff is so nice, especially Daniel, they always try to make your stay perfect!
The hotel is 15 min walking to Jonker walk, but there is a bus (nº17) that stops in frontof hotel (also go to melaka sentral!). In the area there are a lot of restaurants and shops.
I will definitly come back here :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LETIZIACASSETTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.9 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
1.0 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#62 of 167 in Melaka
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#42 of 167 in Melaka
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#58 of 167 in Melaka
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#100 of 167 in Melaka
56 reviews
1.0 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#36 of 167 in Melaka
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AL33 Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AL33 Leisure Hotel

Address: 83 - 85 Jln Kota Laksamana 3/8 | Taman Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £11 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AL33 Leisure Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Inns Hotel Laksamana is a budget and trendy hotel strategically located in the city of Melaka. Easy accessibility to Places of Interest such as A-Formosa, The Stadhuys, Christ Church, St. Francis Xavier's Church, Sultanate Palace, Kampung Kling Mosque, Jonker Street and many more. Surrounded by Restaurants and Cafes serving from International to local cuisine, Eateries Shops, Convenient Shops and Shopping Malls. Night entertainment and Pubs are available less than 1km away in Melaka Raya. Free Wifi access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your AL33 Leisure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing