We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terra Nova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Terra Nova Hotel
Ranked #36 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was last minute we needed a hotel to stay for the night in Malacca, and it was the weekend during the school holidays (21st to 22nd June), and we were a group of 2 adults and 3 children. Hotels were full and needless to say family rooms were all taken up except for Terra Nova Hotel. So we tried this hotel. While driving along the road, we missed the hotel 2 times, even our updated GPS didn't help! Check-in procedure - very simple and fast. Parking was available. The hotel was new and clean, and WIFI was very good. Our room was on the highest floor. Shower was strong. Bed was firm, sheets and towels were clean. There were eateries across the road. The down side was - in the wee hours of the morning (between 2-3am) I was woken twice, once by a loud passing truck, then a very loud motorcycle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylan5273, Manager at Terra Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write review for our hotel. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel facilities. Once again, we thank you for the comments.We very much appreciate your kind words.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    23
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
18
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is the budget type hotel, around 2-3km from town area. The room and bathroom was very clean, but in the morning were a bit noisy as surrounding is still under construction. The WIFI speed was very fast, but during night time it turn to very slow not sure whether is the line problem or what.
Overall I'm very satisfied with this hotel, will recommend to my friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Appsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylan5273, Manager at Terra Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for choosing Terra Nova Hotel. We’re looking forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Did a last minute booking via Agoda and spent a night in this hotel over the weekend. This hotel is the budget type of hotel which was built on end end lot of a row of shop lots. There was no dining option and basically no facilities.

Check in was smooth. I didn't print the Agoda voucher but had no problem checking in by telling the receptionist my name and booking agency. Our room was on the 4th floor and there's lift. Room key was electronic touch type which I felt secure. Upon entering the room, we found the room was spacious to such budget standard. We had a family room which was equipped with a queen bed and a single bed. There was still space for a coffee table and a chair.

The room and bathroom were clean. Basic amenities were provided including tooth brush and box tissues. Shower water pressure was good. There was a LCD TV (with satellite channels), wood hanger, four power sockets (one on each wall)! Wifi signal was good, speed was approx 1 Mbps.

Now the con, the bathroom floor was slippery, and the location of this hotel was far from tourist attractions. It would be a problem if you have no car.

Overall this is among the best budget hotel I had stayed and definitely I'll return again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kelvinyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylan5273, Manager at Terra Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the choosing Terra Nova Hotel, and taking the time to write your review of our property. We very much appreciate your kind words, and positive feedback. And for the bathroom, we will improve it . It would be our pleasure to have you back at our property and we’re looking forward to being of service to you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Dylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I'm not an easily pleased person but I've got to say, this hotel is outstanding!

Rooms are slightly small for a family of 3 but for it's value, can't complain. Bathroom is sizable though, with strong water pressure and perfectly hot shower.

Excellent staff, particularly the night car park attendant. He ensures we park in front of the hotel vicinity to ensure safety (although there were many spots nearby) and even asked us if we locked our car. We stayed 2 nights and on both nights he displayed outstanding values for an economical hotel (better than some 5 stars that I've stayed!)

Excellent housekeeping staff too, for the superb tidying our rooms. They change the sheets daily! (not every economical hotel does this based on my own test). On both nights, I'm welcomed by an inviting fragrance each time I enter my room.

Very well done. I'm a frequent visitor to Malacca and have tried out a good number of hotels. The next time though, I know I won't have to try out another, am definitely a returning customer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxxyhailey_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylan5273, Manager at Terra Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued and I will make sure that these positive comments from you will reach our housekeeping staff and the car park attendant as well. It would be our pleasure to have you back at our property again.

Thank You very much for your time.

Kind Regards,
Dylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Thr room is clean and full of facilities. Besides, the staffs are polite and willing to answer any of the questions. Overall, I am quite satisfied with the service and the room. I will still choose this hotel for my next mrlaka trip. The only thing thst I wish to voice out is about the unavailable of breakfast. Breakfast is not provided by thr hotel and this make me to feel suffer of what to est early in the morning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phirence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylan5273, Manager at Terra Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Terra Nova Hotel, it's our pleasure to have you in our hotel. I would like to personally apologize to you because of the inconvenience due to our restaurant is still under renovation. And the breakfast will be provided as soon as possible. Once again, we thank you for your comment and we are looking forward to have you as our guest again in the future.

Thank You

Kind Regards,
Dylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Nice place and good view locations. Value for money. Will come back again. Staff also good and friendly. Just there is no hotel restaurant inside. Mybe next time will do because the hotel still new. Hotel also near some attractions place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad Shahzu... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylan5273, Manager at Terra Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We very much appreciate your kind words, and positive feedback. And for your information, our hotel will provide breakfast for every guest who stay with us and the breakfast is FOC. It would be our pleasure to have you back at our property soon.

Once again, thank you very much for your time.

Kind regards
Dylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

-the room is clean and new
-amenities and facilities is good
-location near to tourist attraction point
-food is not a problem there

sorry what did not like is the room which i stayed the window curtains are not long enough as you can see inside from outside the window especially at night when the room light is on.

Room Tip: do not take the rooms with windows facing front of the hotel if there is no other option check the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank adrian_woon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylan5273, Manager at Terra Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your comments. It was nice to read the mostly positive review, and I apologize for unnecessary annoyances that you had also noted. We had made an improvement on that room that you mention, and we’re looking forward to being of service to you again soon.

Once again, I thank you for your comment.

Kind Regards
Dylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#43 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#32 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#33 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#54 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Nova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nova Hotel

Property: Terra Nova Hotel
Address: 29 Jalan Ksb 11, Taman Kota Syahbandar, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terra Nova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air Condition, 32" LCD TV with Astro Channel, Hair Dryer, Auto Boil Kettle, Personal Toiletries, Private Bathroom, IDD (International Direct Dial) and room to room service, Wardrobe, Iron Board, Extra Bed (limited). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Terra Nova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing