We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place for stay in melaka” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aldy Hotel
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place for stay in melaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

hello,i stay in this hotel for 4 night,and it was good,Friendly staff,the room was very spacious,24 h hot water,...quiet place,the water canal is very near,like this you can have nice walk..easy to reach there from melaka central,you just have to go out,at the door of little india......the room was clean,the bed perfect and big...but you dont get wifi in the room...but you can use the computer at the reception for free...i recoomend you...and check the price,because is not the same weekend,and weekday,i pay 74 ringitt and i was very happy..enjoy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    60
    56
    13
    9
See reviews for
57
51
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

If your looking for luxury, this isn't it. What it is though is a very well run family hotel with very friendly staff. Ideal for backpackers or people interested in a more authentic experience while travelling. Ideally located near all the main tourist attractions, in particular the historic party of the city and what has to be the funniest museum I have ever been in, the human self mutilation & kites museum. Not something you would think goes together. Staff are great and really make you feel welcome and had a great nights fun eating and drinking in the bar downstairs in the hotel the first night we stayed there. The rooms are pretty standard, but they are clean and have a bed. You don't need much else!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveljunkieforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here during Christmas holiday for 1 night. There were 10 of us altogether. I booked the Quintet Room, Aldy Suite and Junior Suite. The rooms were all pretty spacious with basic amenities provided for. There was a small jacuzzi located at the rooftop and since no other guests were using it so we had much fun soaking ourselves in on a hot sunny day. From the rooftop you could enjoy the view of Melaka town.

Being a centrally located hotel in the heart of the town, it is very easy and convenient to visit places of interest on foot. Colourful trishaws pass by the lobby of this hotel every now and then where you could take a ride to most of the attractions nearby and enjoy the scenery. I have no further comments to make on this aspect as it was as per expected.

However I would like to comment on the attentiveness of the staff. I stayed in the Aldy Suite and having paid more for a good room, I do expect some quality service to be rendered. The aircon was rather faulty and we had to call the receptionist a few times at night but there was nothing he could do to help. We were just lucky that after a few attempts of switching the power supply on and off, the aircon worked just fine til morning. During breakfast the next day, my hubby left his ipad at the restaurant. And we only noticed this at about 2pm when we were about to head back to KL. I immediately called the FrontDesk to ask about this and lucky us, she said that the ipad is still in the restaurant. The thing that had me thinking until now is why didn't the resto staff informed the receptionist immediately when we left the gadget behind? The waiters/waitresses clearly know where we sat and who the ipad belonged to (us, of course) since we have provided the breakfast coupon with room number written upon placing orders. Furthermore there were only 3 tables occupied then.

I guess the management should give more training to the staff on hospitality.

Room Tip: The rooms are large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinaSoepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Our 2 n 3 yrs old kids love their children beds. Although the toys provided were mostly spoilt, the kids still enjoy playing them using their imagination! The story books are new and my kids enjoyed them. The room also provide kids table, chairs and utensils. Very children friendly. However, it's an old hotel, don't expect carpet to be clean etc. The lift can be a bit scary. The room on the 3rd floor is quiet enough for a good night rest.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CallyNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Aldy Hotel. We checked in late around 9 pm on a Friday night. Well checking in took 15 minutes despite us being the only ones checking in at that moment. Well the hotel's location is great no doubt. It has or 3 private parkings so if you're lucky you can park right in front of the hotel and not be troubled by having to purchase parking coupons. Well the hotel is a mixed bags of tricks... you get free breakfast but it depends on the room you book. Cheaper rooms get less variety to choose from the menu and the more expensive rooms get a greater selection. I found this weird. The receptionist are probably the coldest you could encounter. Not a smile. Now how much effort does that take? Water pressure and wifi are better if you stay on the 2nd floor compared to the 3rd floor.

Coming back to the location, its right next to the District Police Headquarters. It does evoke a sense of security. Lol! The hotel is located in between 2 main attractions. Exit hotel take left and in 1 minute you're at the Clock Tower, Christchurch area. Exit Hotel turn right and 2 minutes you're at the A'Formosa. Its 2 minutes from Jonkers Walk.

The location is the selling point of this place. Free WIFI all day is another selling point. So would d i stay again?????.

Well i would say most probably Yes, due to the location.

Hope my review helped.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road. Its noisy all the way till 12 midnight. Take the family triple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batu Gajah, Perak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My family had a very good stay during our stay. The location is excellent-all the attractions within walking distance. Very quite at night. Breakfast is ala-carte but the food is good.The environment of Bamboo Bistro is very comfortable and they have a live band every night.The colourful beca always roams and pass-by infront of the hotel.Thr frontdesk is very welcoming and helpful. Room and bathroom was clean and spacious enough for my family. Will come back to stay here for next trip to Malacca.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aziah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived from a long Trip that day late and Aldy was almost closing. Despite it all the Frontdesk was amazingly welcoming. When we entered our room it was like I WANT TO REST there was hairdryer just what I need for the night. The bathroom was clean and big and the room wow safe is there goods inside the ref was there nothing I need more.... When we checked around the hotel all attractions were just nearby everything was just walking distance Value for money indeed and BREAKFAST Damn good..... Just great Hotel Cant ask for more

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyRoseRuego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#39 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Explorer Hotel
The Explorer Hotel
#47 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldy Hotel

Property: Aldy Hotel
Address: 27 Jalan Kota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aldy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aldy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldy Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing