We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option for larger families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 906 Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
906 Riverside Hotel
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great option for larger families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I booked two rooms here recently for my family (couple with an infant) and for a larger family (5 people) we were travelling with. Both of us were quite happy with the hotel in general.

I booked directly through the hotel as I wanted to be sure they could accommodate the larger family of two adults and three children within the hotel's family room suite. They were able to do so at no extra cost for the third single bed and the suite was great with a separate bedroom for the double bed and one for the single beds with a living space and balcony overlooking the river. The rate we paid was RM338 (which included breakfast) was quite remarkable for such a large space in such a good location.

The double room was not anywhere near as spacious and didn't have an external window at all but was still comfortable.

Both rooms had great air conditioning facilities (a must in hot Melaka) but no fridge. Bathrooms don't have a shower cubicle but i didn't find this a problem. All rooms come with free wifi.

Breakfast was very basic and minimalist with only a few Asian breakfast options, toast and coffee but was sufficient enough to get you started for the day.

The hotel was quite noisy throughout the night but I put this down to some disrespectful guests as opposed to the hotel itself.

The location is great as it's right on the river and the main attractions (Jonkers st, Pink Church, etc) are about a ten minute walk along the river and the walk is an attraction in itself with beautiful buildings and pretty bridges to see along the way.

Parking is free and ample here as well as very easy to access. This was a great feature for us as we have a very large MPV.

Staff at the hotel were quite nice and friendly. We were able to extend our checkout time by two hours with no problems at all.

Overall, I feel 906 Riverside Hotel is much better for larger groups or those willing to book a larger room for the view and space. Based on the aesthetic and ambience of the double room, I think there are nicer hotels within the same area for a similar price where I would chose to stay next time. However, I would definitely book this hotel again when I'm traveling with another larger family or with another couple wanting to share the family suite as these rooms are great value for money.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank I_Louvre_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    47
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This new kid on the block is just a few months old; a no-frills accommodation closed to the night market. It sits at the quieter side of the area, at the opposite river bank to Wanna Riverside Hotel. A walk from the hotel to Jonker's street took us just 5 minutes.

Ample car park lots behind the hotel, by the river. Most websites mentioned 10 sqm for the room, but it was definitely bigger than that- we are sure it is a typo error (in a good way)! Excellent housekeeping with squeaky clean floors and well-made beds. Beds were comfortable for a good quality sleep. The firm mattress helped with a great sleep! Adequate amenities with bottled water, toothbrushes, comb, soap and shampoo. Could be better with a fridge, so can chill drinks.

Air-con for rooms at the row facing the mosque are not able to cool fast enough during the day; can be stuffy. Was much better at night. Free WIFI had low bandwidth and was frustrating to surf with. Breakfast was simple with a few dishes e.g. fried bee hoon, eggs, sausages, bread, toasts and vegetable curry gravy. The condiments for the porridge were canned foods. We conveniently took a can or two of the condiments back to our table and pour the contents out ourselves. Quite a unique way of eating porridge! ;p

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The night strolls by the river behind the hotel is a bliss! Though there are some flaws but we believe they can be improved over time! Yes, we look forward to be back! Keep up the great job 906!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river if possible. The rows facing the mosque can be stuffy on a hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fats88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked 3 person for 1 night only but I am quite happy with this hotel since it is near to Jonker Street and within my budget. I just park my car at the hotel and go for night walk nearby.
Morning, I walk to a dim sum old cafe nearby to have my breakfast.

Pro:
1) Looks new and clean
2) Provided hot and cold water dispenser
3) Free parking for hotel guest
4) Walking distance to Jonker Street, 5mins
5) Supermarket is next door only
6) Breakfast is basic, but I also went for breakfast outside.
7) Facing river side, you can enjoy by walking along the river bank.

Cons:
1) I stay in Triple room which facing mosque, there is a loud prayers woke us up in early morning and luckily the prayers is only last for 5mins.
2) Parking behind the hotel is limited, but I do get a spot

Overall, it is consider a nice hotel with the above benefit, just remember don't get a room facing the mosque.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed over the weekend. Location is ok but need about 10-15 mins to walk ard from hotel to Bandar Hilir & Jonker Street area. We opted not to drive to the area to avoid traffic jam and hassle to find parking. Hotel is located along the riverside.

Was initially given a room without window but asked for other available options. The girl who attended to us was very attentive showing the different type of rooms before we settled on a room facing the riverside. Check in process was fast.

Riverview room is nice especially at nite time. Room is clean with sufficient facility but no fridge in room. Kettle & 3-in-1 coffee mix plus complimentary bottled water are given. TV channels are limited and some basic channels are unavailable. Good Wifi in room. Toilet with shower & quite spacious.

Breakfast spread is limited but ok. Parking is free for hotel guests behind the hotel.

Do not miss the cruise to see the area. The walk along the river and Jonker Street at nite is happening.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akuamarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

After a trip down south to JB we decided to transit in Melaka on the drive back to relish the Baba & Nyonya delicasies. All we needed was just a clean bed with no frills and something low budget type, and voila! The 906 Riverside Hotel gave us more than that.

Its new (5 months old) and what they offer is good for your money and it comes with breakfast for two. The decor is neat and beautiful and modern blended with old Baba and Nyonya fittings. The no frills room is modern but most importantly clean. It comes with complete toiletries including a shaver, and delightful local coffee and maker (electric kettle), WiFi and LCD TV. The hotel even provided ample car-park.What more can you ask from lower budget hospitality?

We experienced a little hiccup with the Air-Cond, but they changed the room and surprised again - into a bigger one (De-luxe maybe).

Yes, as usual location is important for travelers. Well... they are well located for a nice evening walk on the riverside (just as their name suggested) and a few minutes to the famous Jonker's Walk. What more can I say about a good location in Melaka?

Am very happy to discover this good new affordable hotel in a place I frequent.

Room Tip: Choose the riverside-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Very good location. 10 mins walking distance to jonker st. New hotel so very clean with facilities you would not normally get in a boutique hotel like this like safe, slippers etc. Only problem was the walls are paper thin so you can literally hear when the next door room is using the bathroom! Breakfast is on considering what you paid for. 3 types of fried dishes ie char kway teow, fried rice etc, bread and cereal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank koosh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#25 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wana Riverside Hotel
Wana Riverside Hotel
#100 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#51 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 906 Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 906 Riverside Hotel

Property: 906 Riverside Hotel
Address: No. 50 Jalan Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 906 Riverside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your 906 Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing