We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last experience with this hotel”
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #20 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 29 December 2011

we have stayed in this hotel umpteen times.

the only added-value we can think of this hotel - the location. very near to shopping areas.

as some of the travellers have experienced - yes, the front desk officers are horrible! no smiles on their faces when checkin/checkout.

for this round, it was worst! they got our room mixed up whilst checking out. Not a single word of apology (as if "it is ok" attitude - nothing to make mistakes).

some other issues which we experienced (but do not wish to elaborate further) that we have decided to firm ourselves down - i.e. not staying in this hotel anymore.

regretted we made this choice this round to stay in this hotel again and we tell ourselves - this will definitely be our last time!

with the hotel rates we paid - guess there are other better hotels around with better service rendered.

perhaps they wont miss us out as their hotel guests! afterall, most of the time, their rooms were selling like hot-cakes - be it walk-in or online booking (in great demand)

Room Tip: basically majority of their rooms seemed to have "thin" walls. we can hear noises and sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiteSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivek v, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Garfield933,

Firstly, please accept our apology for the delay in replying to your feedback. Thank you for selecting Fenix Inn as your preferred accommodation provider during your numerous visits to Melaka. We sincerely apologize and take your comments on your experience with our Front Desk team positively and we will definitely improve by providing further training on customer service. We have taken the corrective measures to solve issues in other short coming areas as identified, ensuring these will never to reoccur. We are also in the midst of refurbishing our product in the coming months to provide our guests a more comfortable and enjoyable experience, in line with our attractive rates being offered. Our team and I sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us in the future for a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stay from 9th Dec to 12th Dec 2011.

Being there during the last June holiday was told the hotel will be under going renovation, when visit this time the hotel completed with a bigger & brighter lobby but room are still the same.

There are still room to improved on the phone reservation request. Our phone reservation was a bit disappointed, when arrive was told the 2 rooms we request got to be separated & on the 3rd floor, our request to be adjoining & 2nd floor.

Room toilet need to improved, instead of shower curtain, shower screen would serve a better choice in term of wetting the whole toilet especially the wash basin area after each showering, it may be slippery and dangerous if there are elderly guest, got a fall during our last last 2010 June holiday visits.

Overrall still the best located & value for money hotel with shopping centre, eatery & place of interest, also not forgetting the staffs services. We look forward for our next visits 2012.

Room Tip: As there are no lifts, asked for room on the second floor if there are elderly quest, rooms with win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngsh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liangyk, General Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Dear ngsh2000,

We thank you for your valuable feedback and take note of your comments on our rooms and services.

Please be informed that we are currently planning for our room upgrades in the next calendar year 2012 and as such, will be another exciting year for us.

We look forward to your servicing you again in 2012.

Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Very strategic place to stay in the middle of town

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QamaHeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liangyk, General Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Hi Adam J,

Greeting from Fenix Inn!
Your appreciate your feedback and we look forward to servicing you again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We would always drive up to Melaka and stay at this hotel. The rates are cheap and the location is convenient. We would leave our car there and walk to Palawan Megamall for food and shopping. The megamall is just across the road and it's so convenient. Behind Megamall, it's the famous heritage site : St Paul's Church.

Mahkota Parade Shopping Centre is also nearby, just 10 mins walk. We would also walk to Jonker Street which is about 20 mins (if you slow walk).

This hotel is near to Hotel Equatorial. You just need approx 5 mins to reach the hotel and have the famous Nyonya food at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liangyk, General Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Dear weheng,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our location.
We look forward to servicing you again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This hotel is a budget hotel. The price is quite expensive but it is worth it as it is in the middle of the town. Dataran Pahlawan, Mahkota Parade is within 3-5 minutes walk. A lots of restaurant near this hotel so you don't need to worry about getting food. I book a family suite. It's comfy and clean. I like the bed and comforter, it is very nice and comfort for a budget hotel.They have 2 building, one exactly opposite the main road and another one where I stay is situated behind the main building. This hotel is suitable for a young people as they don't have lift. Check out my pictures.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HunnyDeww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liangyk, General Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Dear HunnyDeww,

Greeting from Fenix Inn!
Your feedback is noted and thanks for posting the pictures.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed 1 night with 7 other friends which we occupy total of 4 rooms. My room was located at the first floor. Overall clean, but felt the quilt had a sticky feeling. Toilet was clean, water pressure was powerful while showering. Parked my car with free valet service, felt secure and no worries (Double thumbs up). Price is a little on the high side but well worth its value as the location is superb. About 2mins walk to famous Nyonya restaurants (Makko, Ole Sayang, etc). Another 10-15mins to Jonker street with lots of shopping along the way.
Reception staff could be improved with more knowledge on the eateries and shopping recommendations.
Left the place with good memories to share.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms location on the same building as the reception. Don't choose the other building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friends_Outing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liangyk, General Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Dear Friends_Outing,

Greeting from Fenix Inn!
We thank you for your valuable feedback. We shall look into and improve the areas you have pointed out. I hope my team will be able to share more eateries & places of interest in your next visit.

Please look for me in your next visit and I look forward to meet up your gang then.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed at Fenix Inn between 3-5 Dec 2011 for a short weekend getaway. Fenix Inn provides free valet like parking with 24 hours service which was both safe and convenient. We left the car keys with them for the three days we were there, was completely satisfied with the valet service. Checking in was a breeze, we had requested a twin deluxe room with extra bed. Unfortunately, as the room s were pretty small, the receptionist informed us that the room allotted to us was not able to fit in an extra bed. However, we were offered to change to a double deluxe room which could accommodate an extra bed. The rates were the same thus we have no reason to refuse the change. The room we were given was without windows, but was clean, looked new and smelled of fresh paint. Although the hotel was well booked, it was quiet and peaceful during our stay. Not noisy like some hotels we have stayed in. We have no complains as long as the room is clean and comfortable to us! Overall, we were happy with the room and services provided at Fenix Inn. Best deal is the location of the hotel which is strategically located within walking distance to shopping, resturants and amenities. Having travelled to Malacca many times, we have stayed at higher rated hotel and lower priced hotel in Malacca. However, Fenix Inn is by far the best hotel we have encountered. Reasonably priced, clean, well located..... Yes, yes yes, we will be back for more!!

Room Tip: Please inform the reception if you prefer a room with windows as some may feel castrophobic in a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JollyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liangyk, General Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Dear JollyPat,

Greeting from Fenix Inn!
We thank you for your positive feedback. Yes, yes, yes, we look forward to seeing you again!

p.s. Please contact me in your next trip to Fenix Inn. It would be great to meet up with you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#62 of 167 in Melaka
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#11 of 167 in Melaka
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing