We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #15 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Medan, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Nice and clean room. Will be better if all the rooms have windows. Bathroom is great. The jockey who managed the parking bay was so well-mannered and excellent. Highly recommended for its value for money. Thumbs up to Fenix Inn. Keep up the good works !!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayel_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    244
    142
    12
    14
See reviews for
136
96
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Due to spending most of my budget on the more expensive hotels for most of my trip, I had to budget this time.... I tried to rely on my Lonely Planet and went to check a couple of their recommended places upon arrival to Melaka. Oh, well, those places looked horrible - dirty, noisy and unpleasant.

While looking for the other places, I decided to check Fenix Inn (which, by reading LP, seemed like a lesser option) and it looked sooooooo much better..... The rate I paid was 98MR for the night for a 2nd floor room with a window, good shower, tea/coffee making facilities, 2 beds, tv, etc. I thought that was very good. They also ask for a deposit (I think it was 15MR???) which is refunded upon checking out.

The room was small, with no real view (except the facing building), but was cleaner than some more expensive places I stayed in (well, I still use the anti-bacterial wipes and wash the cups/glasses before use anyway.....).

The mattress and pillow were not the best, but I chose the better bed (well, I had two...). There were some stains in the bedding but it seemed washed, just old (I stayed at the Nikko in KL, which is much more expensive, and the bedding there was much more stained and did not look washed....). There were no bed bugs but I had a couple of mosquitoes, I was well prepared, though, with some repellent and spray.....

The shower was trully excellent – very hot and no problems with water flow. They have a liquid soap dispenser in the shower which some previous reviews did not favour but I actually found much better than the hand bar soap provided in most hotels (which is less hygienic). Also, I usually end up taking few showers a day due to the humidity and the long walks I do, and I find that the shower jell provided in other hotels runs out after a shower or two.... so, the soap dispenser in the Fenix Inn has its advantages!

The walls are on the thin side and the guy next door kept on slamming his door all night, but I found that you can hear doors closing even in much more expensive hotels, unfortunately, even in those they seem to have poor insulation.

They provide free internet access in the room, which I did not expect and, since I left my notebook in KL, cannot comment on.

I think that I was the only non Asian guest at the time, but that was no problem at all.

Staff – ok, they are not overly friendly, but they unpretentious and helpful enough - they even let me choose between a couple of rooms, which was nice. No complains here.

The location is excellent, close to everything, and very close to the bus station (bus 17 which goes to Melaka Sentral and to some interesting areas).

Overall, it is a well located, nice place - definitely not a fancy hotel and not a romantic getaway, but, for the price paid (about AUD$35 at the time), it is quite good and much cleaner than many other (more expensive) places.
Well done, Fenix Inn!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

I have spent a weekend in Fenix Inn and found it to be a delightful budget hotel. It is centrally located next to the shopping mall and tourist attractions. There are many restaurants and shops in the surrounding area as well. The room is basic (normal for budget hotel) but it is clean. For USD 38 per night, there is nothing more to ask for.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Springleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Good location which is nearby Melaka Megamall and Mahkota Parade. I really like the location and the car park place. If you drive there it is really easy for u as the bellboy will drive your car n park for u. You car is only below the rooms. Price for the room is very reasonable. But too bad the front office girl is very bad in service.

No smile on face when we walk in to ask about room rate. Keep playing sms when we trying to get more information for the price and room information. After we checked in, i ask for newspaper, she say "no", i ask for free mineral water, she also say "no". But i did saw just now a couple get 2 bottle of free mineral water from her when check in.

Late thing is the bed and pillow is abit old or kind of flat and hard for bed.

Overall good for 1 to 2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dashisiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liangyk, Operation Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2009
Hi dashisiong,

Thank you for your feedback at tripadvisor.com dated 28 May 2009. Let me introduce myself, I am LiangYK, Operation manager of Fenix Inn. In order to improve our services, we take your feedback seriously.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by our staff and your uncomfortable stay at our hotel.
Could I request your particulars as well as check in date for internal investigation purposes?
We hope to better serve you in the future. Thank you for staying in Fenix Inn.

Yeekang Liang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

1) Good location- near city, shopping malls, food outlets and historical sites~max 10 min walk
2) Nice rooms- small and cozy with adequate facilities. Clean, good upkeep
3) Convenient jockey parking
4) Friendly staff

Things to consider
1) Windowless rooms
2) No complimentary breakfast
3) Slightly more expensive for a budget hotel
4) Very thin walls

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling_fungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#59 of 166 in Melaka
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#20 of 166 in Melaka
162 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 166 in Melaka
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Property: Fenix Inn
Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing