We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to chill out or get some work done”
Review of The Daily Fix

The Daily Fix
Ranked #1 of 681 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Daily Fix is located inside a batik/souvenir shop called Next KK on Jalan Hang Jebat (Jonker Street). The menu includes pancakes, sandwiches, espresso and local coffee, fruit juice + beers.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill out or get some work done”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My second day in this cafe. I keep coming back because its such a nice place to relax, chill out or in my case, to get some work done. The background music is soothing, the ambience relaxing, the fans are on full blast (very important on a hot afternoon in Malacca), the wifi is fast and the seats are comfortable. It's got a very vintage feel and the staff strike the right balance between making sure that everything is ok and leaving you alone. Oh, try the Gula Melaka cake, very nice and not too sweet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lakecomo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    189
    35
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for my daily fix”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place is like an oasis in Jonker Walk. We came in to take shelter from the sweltering heat and found ourselves a very nice cafe. In terms of coffee and cakes, it is easily one of the best in Malacca. Compared to Calanthe and Baboon House (which also serves great burgers), this place is much cleaner and has an airier feel. It is also not as crowded as the other 2, and the wifi is fast. Owner is very nice too. Well worth every Ringgit spent.

For well enthusiast you might want to check out the well in the inner courtyard along with your cuppa.

Note: Diagonally opposite from Jonker 88. You have to walk through a souvenir shop to get to the cafe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank food_heiress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another hidden gem in Melaka”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is another new hidden gem in Melaka ,It is hidden inside a souvenir shop (Next K K) right on the hustle bustle Jonker Street.

THE DAILY FIX is set up by Mr.Julian a very passionate young man.
You can see that a lot of effort have been done by him to transform this ordinary shop into such a cosy place -The retro furniture ,vintage lamps ,old iron grill ,posters and many other beautiful and nostalgic décor made this cafe very different from the others.

A wide selection of machine brewed coffees are serve here , I personally love their Affogato , If you love cheese cake and durian ,please try your luck to order for a piece of durian flavoured cheese cake ! Yummy ! Yummy !

The Daily Fix is definitely another hidden gem in Melaka that I will introduce to my guests .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AugustineLye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great place for a break”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I just needed to sit down and take stock of my sight seeing itinerary when I saw the Daily Fix. Although the rest of Jonker Street was heaving with tourists, this place was an oasis. I ordered a lime juice and a gula melaka and they were delicious and amazingly inexpensive. I left it refreshed and found pretty locally made batik items in the attached shop. A great find!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Daily Fix of coffee!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The retro TV set-up and a promise of coffee and pancakes clued me in to this little hideout behind a souvenir shop, it seemed like an oasis of calm where i sought refuge from the burning sun and the hustle bustle of Jonker Street.

It was a great place to linger and enjoy a good ol' latte (or flat white or expresso, whatever your preference). My favourite spot in the cafe was in their back yard, between their well (Yes! A natural water well.) and their kitchen. I had a wonderful time lounging on the retro chairs and smelling my delicious gula melaka + pandan pancakes as they were being prepared, and later devoured. It was a generous portion coupled with such hospitality from the lovely waitress.

I'd go again and again! For my Daily Fix!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chunyiok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Daily Fix also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to The Daily Fix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing