We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Ranked #97 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean new hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed in a family room,with 2king size beds.would have preferred with 2single beds for my teenager but the receptionist said only possible with a family suite ..no free upgrade was given,like what another reviewer had got..guess it was the peak period. Thats why..Overall, nice size and the best thing was the shower! My kids really liked it. Near eateries, 10mins walk to Palawan and mahkota parade.free parking and away from the crowd but stil convenient.dont expect too much for breakfast though.. Good price overall..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCHMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    22
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
penang
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went there last weekend and stayed for one night. This hotel was newly opened and we get the price at a very good rate due to the promotion. The location is next to restoran tiga abdul and just 5 minutes away to A' Famosa, river cruise and dataran pahlawan.
The room is very small and for muslim, it only can accommodate one person at one time for prayer. As for buffet breakfast it is very limited choice with only bread, fried rice, coffee, tea, orange cordial, fried chicken, sosej, cornflakes and fried mee.
If based on their normal board rate, i think there would be other better choice surrounding the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zue065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is very near to the main attraction at Melaka as it only a walking distance to secret recipe and etc. Not very far from Dataran Pahlawan and Plenty of place to enjoy local food such as Asam Pedas and satay. The staff is very helpful and always smile. Room condition is superb as it is a new hotel. breakfast is okay although they served in ala carte instead of buffet because not many guest during my visit . I got room facing the "Selat Melaka" and it is nice enjoying the view during night. The roof cafe are still under construction "I think as no sign of people visiting". overall I am satisfy during my visit and surely come here again.

Room Tip: ask for room facing Strait of Malacca and if you travel with family please ask for the family suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My friend booked this hotel via Agoda. However, she has booked the date wrongly. So she has called up the hotel personally and informed to change the date and the front desk personnel said ok. Upon arrival, they couldn't find our booking and when told about the changes, nobody seems to remember the changes. So the front desk staff re-entered our booking date and upgraded us to a junior suit. We were happy to b upgraded and there was a single bed and a double bed. ( we booked a deluxe room with an extra bed) Over all was good. Parking behind the hotel is free, but it is limited. If you choose to park your car right in front of the hotel, then make sure you buy the coupon and place it in your car wind screen. Breakfast too basic and not that great in taste. But no problem, lots of good food outside d main road.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is brand new, it is opened around April 2014. We booked Family Deluxe, but upgraded to Family Suite. There is also good discount over for the opening period ! (up to 50% off, don't forget to take advantage of this, if they still have :))

The car park in front of the receptionist is only for temporary drop-off, with coupon. If you need to stay overnight, please ensure you park the car in empty space across the hotel. The receptionist is very helpful, they will guide you to it.

The lift is very secure, it can only be controlled with the room key. The room has 1 large king size, and 2 super single size. There are 2 aircon (window), one of them are facing the beds, which sometime too cold for us (i.e. spraying air directly to us), so in the end we turn it off overnight.

The bed was very comfortable, not too soft, but firm enough. The make up mirror is also very modern, with lights touchable on the mirror itself. The bathroom was having "rain like" showers.
The sink is a bit tricky, you need to push the pipe cover to put it up, this is the first time for us to encounter such a thing :).

The view from the room is great, you can see the main road towards the dataran merdeka, hatten square and so on. It is just a short walk away to these areas. If you want to go to Jonker street, you may need to take a taxi or local rickshaw, it is not that near ..

There are plenty food nearby restaurant (i.e. korean, peranakan, etc.) and also hair saloon.
The breakfast was good, with sufficient choice of nasi lemak, porridge, toast, and ribena.

Room Tip: Air-con are facing the bed directly, if you can ask for those that are not facing the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferry_mulyadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Newly opened hotel in April 2014. Booked junior suite for 3 adults. Upon checked in surprised for 3☆ hotel without fridge. Room a bit small but big toilet. After giving feedback at reception we were upgrade to Family Suite. Huge room wt 2 king size beds & with attached 2 aircons units in. Unfortunately the fridge wasnt cold at all. Breakfast superb taste. Must try nasi lemak. 2 staff in cafe were friendly(forgot to ask both names) 1 of them is server & another who operated the cafe. Winnie from front desk friendly & helpful. Overall are okay coz its new hotel but jus lack of fridges in all rooms except family suites. Location not a distance to Dataran Pahlawan & mahkota parade. Jus 10 mins walk.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cintalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.0 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#59 of 166 in Melaka
128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#40 of 166 in Melaka
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#15 of 166 in Melaka
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#20 of 166 in Melaka
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#55 of 166 in Melaka
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#32 of 166 in Melaka
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midcity Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midcity Hotel Melaka

Property: Midcity Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 499 Jalan Melaka Raya 12, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midcity Hotel Melaka 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midcity Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing