We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Swimming Pool, good location”
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Swimming Pool, good location”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The holiday inn definitely surpassed my expectations with a nice sized room, gorgeous swimming pool, decent spa, especially for the price we paid ($75 per night). Cannot be beat. With my IHG Platinum status, we also had lounge access, which saved us a lot of money on breakfast and late afternoon appetizers that basically became our dinner. Overall, definitely worth a visit if you are traveling in Melaka.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbuddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin-JY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your recent review.

At the Holiday Inn Melaka, it’s all ‘About You’. Hence, it is vital that we practice what we preach by delivering our promise and managing ‘Great Hotel Guest Love’. This is our vision and we set out everyday in pursuit of this vision.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Melaka, please do not hesitate to visit our website and enjoy great savings off your stay.

When at the hotel, please indulge in our award winning sirocco Italian Restaurant and Tea Tree Spa with special discounts and the Kids get to Stay and Eat for FREE.

Warm regards,

Alvin J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    784
    208
    47
    18
See reviews for
735
398
68
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our 4th stay at the Holiday Inn Melaka, we also go for the Sea View with a view of the Golden Mosque in the background. The hotel has a Great Swimming Pool, Good Central Location, Spa, etc. The breakfast is nice also.

I would stay again if this hotel can build a bridege or walkway to the Mahkota Shopping center over the busy motorway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenity676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin-JY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for for your positive and powerful comments. The team and I, truly appreciate you taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the hotel.

At the Holiday Inn, it is about looking after our guest and delivering exemplary service behaviors. We are on a journey from ‘Good to Great’. Hence, it is important for us to seek for continuous improvement and meet the expectations of our guest.

The team and I look forward to having you back with us in the near future and 1 encourage you to visit our hotel website to enjoy great savings off your stay. While at the hotel, please indulge in our award winning sirocco Italian Restaurant and Tea Tree Spa with special discounts and the Kids get to Stay and Eat for FREE.

Warm regards,

Alvin J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Yes, that's right. It's the best in Melaka town. Although it's a 4-star hotel by rating, it has the best facilities/amenities and is very much better it's rival hotel. It's locality is good as it is on the fringes of the busy part of town, so traffic flow is better. However, the choice of food and beverage needs improvement although it has a good offering at this moment. The is an Italian restaurant called Sirocco Kitchen & Bar that offers excellent food and authentic Italian cuisines. A nyonya restaurant serving local delicacies would be a great addition and highly recommended as it shall make the dining experience even more enriching. The breakfast is good and there's plenty of choices to choose from. The service of the front desk staff is excellent and very friendly. Overall, it's the best hotel in town with the newest and well-kept facility in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin-JY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It’s always a pleasure to have a loyal guest who is very passionate and positive with their reviews. Thank you very much for your continuous support and staying with us.

At the Holiday Inn, each guest is family hence, it is important for me and my crew to deliver our promises that one would have come to expect from us.

Your review will further fuel our passion in terms of managing ‘Great Hotel Guest Love’. Should your travel plans bring you back to Melaka, please book direct from our website to enjoy great savings off your stay.

Once at the hotel, please indulge in our award winning sirocco Italian Restaurant and Tea Tree Spa with special discounts and the Kids get to Stay and Eat for FREE.

Warm regards,

Alvin J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The place is close to the major tourist area and shopping malls. It looks like relatively new. Good amenities, rooms are with double glazed windows and clean. Very good staff. Some problems with plumbing in the bathroom, which seems to be a problem for many Malaysian hotels. If not for that, I would give the highest rating to the hotel. Cheap buffet with variety of foods. However buffet menu is rather designed for Malaysian taste.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlen135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin-JY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences during your recent stay with us.

I am grateful for your kind words and excellent review. I believe that such positive feedback will continue to reinforce our purpose and our passion to deliver our promise to our clients.

The team is in pursuit of excellence and turning our vision from ‘Good to Great’. Hence, your views will always be an important part of the Holiday Inn culture which helps us to create ‘Great Hotels, Guest Love’.

Again, thank you for sharing and should you decide to return to Melaka in the near future, please book direct from our website to enjoy great savings off your stay.

When at the hotel, please indulge in our award winning sirocco Italian Restaurant and Tea Tree Spa with special discounts and the Kids get to Stay and Eat for FREE.

Warm regards,

Alvin J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel 3 days 2 nights. Unfortunately the first night ruined most of the stay there. I checked in almost midnight so the front desk was prompted but may be less friendly. Was given a corner room which was bigger but the door would not lock. Call for assistance & they responded quite fast but the door problem could not be fixed the soonest. So they exchanged my room at my request to a room few doors down. The new room was a practically the same as the previous one but smaller in size, no rain shower head & got a connecting door. It was like a feel when you got a taste of better things but end up with a somewhat a good thing. The staff did try to made up by extending the check out time to 2 pm.

Room was good, view was better as it is facing the sea. There is a pool but didn't try it. I did want to go to the gym but the staff there may misunderstood me as she mentioned it was not free even for stayed in guest. Didn't bother to ask again after she had said that as she didn't really speak English nor Bahasa. Parking bay at the hotel was aplenty & securities seems to be on duty.

Location wise is good as it is near to a mall and other attractions like A Farmosa, St Paul's Hill & Taming Sari Revolving Tower. You just need to cross that big road to get across as there was no pedestrian bridge in sight. Didn't try the breakfast buffet there so can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: If you get the corner room, stay there no matter what. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halimran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear halimran7,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel location. I am pleased to her that after some issues with your room accommodation, our staff was able to rectify the problem immediately. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
172 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice hotel not quite centrally located but only a short walk to the man central area once you learn how to cross (under) the busy road and also very near to two big shopping malls. There is a minibus that will drop you at and pick you up from the shopping malls or close to Jonker Walk, the pick up time is a bit unreliable. Hotel staff are helpful and friendly. Swimming pool is nice but can be busy in the mornings and evening. Breakfast is not bad but could be better - breakfast time ends at 10.30 which actually means they start clearing away from the food at 10.20 so if like to tun up for breakfast at the last minute you will be disappointed. Rooms are standard Holiday Inn style, the sae you get anywhere. I think a 'Straits View' room is worth paying extra for because the other side of the hotel has the busy road running alongside it.

Room Tip: Straits View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin-JY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

I am truly grateful for your kind words. These are special moments for us and it makes our job worthwhile as we have been given an opportunity to make a difference for a guest. Your excellent review will help us seek for continuous improvement and rise up to the expectations of all esteemed guest.

For your next visit, please book direct from our website to enjoy great savings off your stay. When at the hotel, please indulge in our award winning sirocco Italian Restaurant and Tea Tree Spa with special discounts and the Kids get to Stay and Eat for FREE.

Warm regards,

Alvin J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The buffet breakfast was good. Service was reasonably good despite the crowds. Location was a little far from the old town but we were happy to drive or even walk to old town. Good view of the sea. It is a pity that there is no beach access here though it was by the sea.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeflonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin-JY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn as your preferred hotel in Melaka.

I am truly grateful for your review. Such positive feedback only reinforces our passion and commitment to deliver our promise to our patrons – Great Hotel, Guest Love.

The team and I are in pursuit of excellence hence your kind words will support us further in this journey to be a leading hotel is ‘Guest and Service Experience’.

For your next visit, please book direct from our website to enjoy great savings off your stay and while at the hotel, please indulge in our award winning sirocco Italian Restaurant and Tea Tree Spa with special discounts and the Kids get to Stay and Eat for FREE.

Warm regards,

Alvin J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,313 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Property: Holiday Inn Melaka
Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing