We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay, especially for budget travellers!”
Review of Travellers Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Travellers Lodge
Ranked #47 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We were surprised that a good place to stay like Johan Hotel charges reasonably. And the location is convenient to big shopping centres, where you can shop and eat. Have recommended this hotel to friends and relatives. Keep up the good work Johan Hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roshaldja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in a double room. The room was 32RN a night. It was clean and spacious and had a very high ceiling. There was a small fan and glass shutters to one wall. The bed was old and creaked alot which then echoed as the room was empty.

The shared shower/bath were ok, hot showers were available. Free wifi but you had to be in the lower cafe area to access it.

There was a laundry facility which cost 6RN per basket, but was only washed. Drying was upto you. But there were facilities to hang your clothes out.

Staff were friendly and were helpful when asked. There was a nice common area to sit and read and listen to music.

The location was ok, about 15 mins walk from China town but close enough to the air conditioned malls and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellibobbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We had reserved a room here and it was waiting for us, clean and cool when we arrived. The bathroom was very clean, there was a common area for movie watching and internet. The coolest part was the rooftop terrace. However, when we went to bed, we found tiny bed bugs crawling on us all night and it was very noisy too, so needless to say, we changed rooms the next night to the Heeren Inn...more expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornejita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

My husband and I stayed here with our 7-year-old daughter in August of 2007. It doesn't look like much from the outside but inside it's incredibly clean and very well-run. We stayed for 3 nights in an air-conditioned double with extra mattress for our daughter and paid the equivalent of $18 CDN. Breakfast was not included but the on-site cafe was inexpensive and there were several other places within easy walking distance. There was also a mall just across the street with a huge grocery store on the lower level. We were also within easy walking distance of all attractions. We were travelling for a year and stayed here near the beginning of our trip. It still /easily/ rates as one of our most positive hostel experiences of the entire trip. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jrbb0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hostel for 1 night. We booked a private room with AC for around $15. The hostel is located 20 minutes by bus from the main bus station. It costs $0.3 for the bus ride. Rooms are clean and AC is adjustable. Movies are played daily around 9:00pm. Portuguese fort and main attractions are within walking distance. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ninjadile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2008

We stayed at the Travellers' Lodge in what I recall was a RM50 ($AUD18) air conditioned room with attached bathroom. It was a fantastic place to stay for a few days as there was a communal kitchen with fridge to keep all your food and drinks cold, a laundry, and a very comfortable and secluded roof terrace (a great place to wile away the afternoon, as well as hang your clothes out to dry). Luckily, while Muslim tradition does not allow pork products to be kept in the hostel fridge, they're much more lenient with the alcohol, which can be purchased from one of the nearby enormous shopping centres. The shopping centres are also good eating places at night when you don't feel like venturing right into town.

The hostel was in a convenient location to explore the historical attractions of the city, and wasn't far from the river (a trip on one of the river boats is an absolute must). We will definitely return to this hostel when next we're in Melaka.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

I was met off the bus from KL by one of the guys that work here, as I'd already looked at it on the web I decided to stay here. They give you directions on how to reach the hostel buy bus (which cost 80 cents) or they can arrange a taxi for RM15 ( the taxi driver they use is a real character!)
I decided to treat myself here and went for a double with a/c which at RM50 (approx £7.50) was still really cheap! The room was clean and comfortable - and seem to have been fairly newly renovated, the bed was huge!! The bathroom was a good size and had a nice hot shower.
As I was only there for 1 night I didnt really see much of the hostel but the common area seemed nice and there were always people sitting in it. The hostel its self is a bit of a rabbit warren and took me a awhile to find my way to the exit. It is best known for having a rooftop terrace and which I wished I'd had time to chill out on there.

The location is fine, its about a 10 min walk from the center, there is a big new shopping mall close by which has places to eat in it and a good selection of shops. Melaka its self is quite compact and you can see the main sights in half a day to a day.

I'd certainly recommend the hostel and Melaka is a good place to break your journey between Singapore and Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank julia687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Melaka
Holiday Inn Melaka
#9 of 168 in Melaka
1,860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#34 of 168 in Melaka
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Lodge

Address: 214b Jalan Melaka Raya 1 | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing