We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malacca Straits Hotel
Ranked #104 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

stayed 1 night at rm158.00 plus breakfast. , advertised outside 1 night at 118.00 plus breakfast if you come checkin in a batik shirt , very misleading . room was ok , a bit old , towels were at least 10 years old. breakfast was ok. parking is free. Value for money , if you stay for 1 0r 2 nights , located behind Equatorial ( which charges rm300.00 for a similar room )

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    16
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have ordered the room with hard wood floor as per lonely planet's sugguestion. The room is dirty and I had to ask them to change bed sheet. The room looks really old. Internet was super slow at night. It is not so cheap as I paid RM200 for that. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wearpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We just wanted to spend a night in Melaka, and after an hour walk we found this hotel, which seemed ok for $60.
The rooms are big, but apparently have no maintenance, so there was mould in the bathroom ceiling and the AC didn't work so well.
Even worse than that was that the bed sheets hadn't been changed. We called reception for another room, but they just sent someone to change the sheets.
They offer a beautiful bath kit with shower gel, shampoo and tooth brushes, but the towel are very small, old and ripped.
At least we didn't see any cockroaches.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobRoy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We book a hostel near Jonker street but was not what we expected. So we hunted around and found this cute boutique hotel. Had to bargain for the price because we were a group of 6. In the beginning they did not budge but eventually they gave us a discount because we stayed 3 nights all int he suite room.

Pros : Clean and spacious rooms. Nice hot jacuzzi showers. OK view. Eleven (one of the staff) was great. Knew what we wanted and gave us directions and recommendations on place to visit, eat and relax.

Cons : The breakfast was not up to standard for a hotel. Eggs were cold and odd texture. Coffee was weak. Noodles and rices were in clumps. A bit quiet though out the hotel. Pool was right in front of the coffee house so basically when you are in you bikini everybody would be looking. A bit uncomfortable.

Overall it was an alright experience. Would defiantly go back if the price was 40% cheaper. Walk in directly and look for Eleven. If she'll around, your stay would defiantly be bumped up a notch.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeMisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

My friends and I decided to visit Melaka spur of the moment on a Saturday, and after many calls, this was the only hotel that had two rooms for the four of us. I was hesitant after looking at the rating, and now I know why -- it's filthy.

Our room had all kind of bugs all over it -- roaches, potato bugs, spiders, you name it. The bathroom had mildew on all the caulking, and I watched bugs crawl in and out of the holes in the tile. We checked the sheets for signs of bedbugs and found none, but neither my friend nor I slept well, with phantom itches all night.

The rooms are also quite humid, and the furniture is dark and dreary. Our two other friends had an executive suite on a different floor and didn't have our same bug problem, but we all agreed this was WAY overpriced -- 250RM for two twin beds, and 400RM for a suite.

The breakfast was not appealing after our icky night, and the coffee was murky and strange-tasting. The "restaurant" is also full of weird mannequins dressed in batik outfits that just stare at you throughout your meal.

The front desk staff didn't have great English, which also made communication tough.

I do not recommend this, and next time, I will plan a Melaka visit ahead of time!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maryvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed for a night at this hotel, found it after searching hard for room to stay as Equatorial and many other hotels were fully booked. What a surprise, this hotel is located right next to Equatorial, an excellent location indeed.

This hotel claims to be the first batik boutique hotel in Malacca. At MYR250 a night inclusive of breakfast for peak period, it's a good deal indeed. The room we had was large and spacious, no problem for an extra bed. However, being an old hotel, there's a musty smell in the room and the bathroom is on the small side (with rainshower). Other than that, the hotel room is kept spotlessly clean.There's a small pool located next to the restaurant, Parking is free for hotel guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamtigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2010

it was certainly a pleasant stay. We stayed for 2 nights. We took the standard room and to our suprise the room was spacious and clean. The customer service was good; they are always willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#26 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
#32 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#29 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#89 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malacca Straits Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malacca Straits Hotel

Property: Malacca Straits Hotel
Address: No. 37A Jalan Chan Koon, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malacca Straits Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Malacca Straits Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing