We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malacca Straits Hotel
Ranked #100 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel!”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during my business trip. Surprisingly, this hotel is much better than what I expected as the rooms are quite huge. At least, much better that the previous hotel that I stayed in Malacca. The reception staff is very helpful and friendly. Not hesitate to change the bath towel as minor water leaking inside the bathroom. Parking is free but is limited. The internet connection is rather poor as I can surf during the first night but not on the second night. The hotel location is good as well which is just behind Equatorial Hotel and near to Pahlawan Square and Mahkota Parade shopping centre. The downside when I stayed here is the air conditioner water leaking throughout the night but I just need to push my bed a little bit to avoid the water dripping on my bed.. The upside is, I've a very good night sleep and the breakfast is good!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    16
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We came here a few days sight-seeing and we had heard that this hotel was very nice.
Well, it is very nice in some areas but in some other areas needs to change.
The check in and service was very good, very pleasant staff. The staff are malay and did all they could to help when needed.
The room on the upside is very spacious with good, adequate dark wood solid furniture for hanging clothes. There is a nice area with 2 seats and a small coffee table.
The down side is that the room was quite dark (even with lights on) so i think it is difficult to keep up a good standard of cleanliness.
Another positive is the location. It is so close to the shopping malls, excellent eating places and the river amenities also. Normally good location for these things means it is on a busy road, but here is very quiet and peaceful.
This place is good for a base, the breakfast is okay if you can eat the local foods. However, it's not the kind of place where you would spend majority of your time inside the hotel. The swimming pool is quite small and right next to the dining room. The cleanliness does need to improve but if you are spending the most of your time outside then it is satisfactory.

Room Tip: First floor was a bit dark, maybe 2nd or 3rd floors may be a bit lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

stayed 1 night at rm158.00 plus breakfast. , advertised outside 1 night at 118.00 plus breakfast if you come checkin in a batik shirt , very misleading . room was ok , a bit old , towels were at least 10 years old. breakfast was ok. parking is free. Value for money , if you stay for 1 0r 2 nights , located behind Equatorial ( which charges rm300.00 for a similar room )

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I have ordered the room with hard wood floor as per lonely planet's sugguestion. The room is dirty and I had to ask them to change bed sheet. The room looks really old. Internet was super slow at night. It is not so cheap as I paid RM200 for that. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wearpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We just wanted to spend a night in Melaka, and after an hour walk we found this hotel, which seemed ok for $60.
The rooms are big, but apparently have no maintenance, so there was mould in the bathroom ceiling and the AC didn't work so well.
Even worse than that was that the bed sheets hadn't been changed. We called reception for another room, but they just sent someone to change the sheets.
They offer a beautiful bath kit with shower gel, shampoo and tooth brushes, but the towel are very small, old and ripped.
At least we didn't see any cockroaches.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobRoy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We book a hostel near Jonker street but was not what we expected. So we hunted around and found this cute boutique hotel. Had to bargain for the price because we were a group of 6. In the beginning they did not budge but eventually they gave us a discount because we stayed 3 nights all int he suite room.

Pros : Clean and spacious rooms. Nice hot jacuzzi showers. OK view. Eleven (one of the staff) was great. Knew what we wanted and gave us directions and recommendations on place to visit, eat and relax.

Cons : The breakfast was not up to standard for a hotel. Eggs were cold and odd texture. Coffee was weak. Noodles and rices were in clumps. A bit quiet though out the hotel. Pool was right in front of the coffee house so basically when you are in you bikini everybody would be looking. A bit uncomfortable.

Overall it was an alright experience. Would defiantly go back if the price was 40% cheaper. Walk in directly and look for Eleven. If she'll around, your stay would defiantly be bumped up a notch.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeMisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

My friends and I decided to visit Melaka spur of the moment on a Saturday, and after many calls, this was the only hotel that had two rooms for the four of us. I was hesitant after looking at the rating, and now I know why -- it's filthy.

Our room had all kind of bugs all over it -- roaches, potato bugs, spiders, you name it. The bathroom had mildew on all the caulking, and I watched bugs crawl in and out of the holes in the tile. We checked the sheets for signs of bedbugs and found none, but neither my friend nor I slept well, with phantom itches all night.

The rooms are also quite humid, and the furniture is dark and dreary. Our two other friends had an executive suite on a different floor and didn't have our same bug problem, but we all agreed this was WAY overpriced -- 250RM for two twin beds, and 400RM for a suite.

The breakfast was not appealing after our icky night, and the coffee was murky and strange-tasting. The "restaurant" is also full of weird mannequins dressed in batik outfits that just stare at you throughout your meal.

The front desk staff didn't have great English, which also made communication tough.

I do not recommend this, and next time, I will plan a Melaka visit ahead of time!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maryvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#28 of 167 in Melaka
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
#34 of 167 in Melaka
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#31 of 167 in Melaka
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#88 of 167 in Melaka
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malacca Straits Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malacca Straits Hotel

Property: Malacca Straits Hotel
Address: No. 37A Jalan Chan Koon, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malacca Straits Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malacca Straits Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing