We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything it promises and more”

Pak Putra Tandoori & Naan Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 701 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours
SG
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Everything it promises and more”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As a follow on from my earlier review in 2013, this time we came back early (6.30pm) to make sure we had the tandoori chicken. Boy are we glad we did...it is seriously everything it is hyped up to be and more. It is one of the best tandooris I've ever had; the meat is succulent and juicy (unlike the typical dryed out tandoori one tends to get). Even the outside of the meat is perfectly roasted to have a springiness with slight charring which is the hallmark of a good roast. It was so good that 3 of us had 5 portions! The rest of the food is as good as we remembered it, although this time round the prawns were not as fresh as we'd have liked them to be. The new dish that we tried was the spinach mutton, which was excellent and certainly well worth a try.

We also ordered fruit juices this time round, and at RM5 a big glass, it is a steal. Bear in mind that they do add sugar, and you can tell them to hold the sugar.

3 of us ate about RM70, and we would certainly be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Relakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    425
    110
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Totally satisfied craving for Indian Food!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I never thought that I would enjoy Indian food in Malacca and was glad when a taxi driver recommended us the place. We walked from our hotel in Lorong Hang Jebat and with google maps it wasn't too difficult to find. We ordered tandoori, chicken masala, garlic naan, cheesy naan and spinach and teh tarik. It was delicious and the tandoori was not at all dry. And as there were only 2 of us, the waiter was very quick to separate the foldable tables for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chinchiminie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penang
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tender cheesy nan, a must”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I was recommended to this shop by a friend of mine. I walked from Jonker street towards Casa Del Real and slightly further to reach a row of shop houses on the right.

I reached the restaurant at 1630h but they only start operating from 1700h. They have variety of Nans to choose from and the side dishes. Truly an authentic Pakistani recipe.

This is a good reasonably priced dinner venue but don't expect fancy decor and executive service. Take your sit, eat your food and keep moving.

Helpful?
Thank drnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Dickson, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No regret to try”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

we just had no idea where to eat since this is our first time here. A friend suggest this place and we didnt expect much when arrive at this restaurant . We thought it just like other mamak's restaurant. Ordered double cheese naan and tandoori..and untill now my kid always ask for it..its so delicious. Definitely we will come again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ummu_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Naan, Tandoori & Mint sauce”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great fluffy tandoori with many different flavours to choose from. Tandoori chicken was juicy (not the usual dry meat). Make sure to request more mint sauce from the owner as it complements the chicken well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cck200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pak Putra Tandoori & Naan Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Pak Putra Tandoori & Naan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing