We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded glory” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malaga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malaga Inn
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faded glory”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Once charming historic Inn, now sadly in need of restoration. Nice staff, holding on while they can. I also had serious concerns about safety (no elevator inspection certificates, broken gas lines, sagging balconies, etc.) it could be lovely again, but will need some serious investment.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malagainn, Inn keeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us, Michael, and for taking the time to write a review. I would like to address some of the concerns you have about the safety of our property. 1)Our elevators are inspected once a month by law. If we do not meet state requirements for safety we would be shut down. 2) There are absolutely no gas leaks on our property. We have had the gas that powers the lights in our courtyard and in front of our building. (I'm assuming that is what you are referring to?) turned off for almost 7 years but are currently talking to Mobile Gas to help us get them turned back on. 3) I am not sure which balconies you think are sagging. I have looked at (from the street) and have been on every balcony on our property. Each balcony is reinforced by a slab of concrete which is under the wood. There is really no way any of our balconies could collapse. We are about to invest some money in our property but it will mostly go towards updating bathrooms. We think we have are really great property and it keeps getting better every year. I hope you will come back down to Mobile and give us another try. Please contact us via email or by calling the front desk (251-438-4701) so we can talk more in depth about your safety concerns. I will agree that our property needs some updating but there is absolutely nothing about our property that is at all dangerous. Thank you.
Jordan Beem
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    94
    21
    24
    18
See reviews for
72
157
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Check in went well, clerk was quite helpful. Our room was a completely different story. Our bathroom (oo1) floor was covered with black mud, our trash cans were completely full, there was no coffee for our coffee maker and the remote control for our TV was missing. It is quite noisy but, it is Mardi Gras season. I guess that was to be expected...

Room Tip: Save your money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are very sorry about the cleanliness of your room during Mardi Gras. If there was indeed black mud on the bathroom floor there is really no excuse for that. Did you notify our front desk staff? Mardi Gras is a hectic time of year for us. There is really nothing we can do about the noise during the Mardi Gras season. The guests who stay with us year after year for Mardi Gras do so with the understanding that it is not going to be the same experience as it would be another time of year. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway you can find it here with us. Just not during Mardi Gras....
Thank you for your review.
Jordan Beem
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Made a pit stop in Mobile while on a roadtrip. We wanted a unique, non-chain hotel, and we found it at the Malaga Inn! Beautiful, historic, unique charm. Wandered around the building for awhile before we enjoyed the beautiful courtyard. Was also given great advice on what to do while visiting Mobile, and we were able to walk to downtown restaurants and bars. Thanks for the great night.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the historic side. Still inexpensive and worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corey236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review. We hope you will come back soon. Mobile is constantly changing and growing. I am sure the next time you stay with us you will be even more pleased.
Thanks
Jordan Beem
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The 007 room was the perfect spot to celebrate just days before my sister's wedding! The entire evening was elegant and historically charming. The service of the hotel staff was excellent. We had a group of twelve ladies together for a night on the town to celebrate in Mobile's historic downtown, and we had a wonderful time; I wouldn't change a thing! I would absolutely go back on my next trip to Mobile for a fun downtown experience.

Room Tip: Love the historic rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review, Martha. I am glad your party had a good time for your sister's wedding. Hurry back!
Jordan Beem
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalton, ga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed a couple days here in November. Convenient to the historic district and can walk to most sites. This place has much potential but. The decor in my room was early 90's, old, worn and needed updating. Just in our room, which was spacious, the shower faucet leaked around the cold water handle, toilet would only flush if held down until the bowl emptied. Curtains were very thin and could not block the light from the flood lights outside. Beds and pillows uncomfortable, linens were very low end. Wifi reception was off and on. The bottom of the french doors in the breakfast room were patched with unpainted plywood, carpet dirty, upholstered furniture dirty. It was not an appealing room to eat in. Food was okay at best. The courtyard was nice. Housekeeping staff friendly and helpful. There is a lot of deferred maintenance here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeptemberDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I really appreciate your candor. I am happy to say that we are completely gutting the bathrooms this spring and redecorating our rooms. If you stayed in one of our courtyard rooms I can see why you would think that the decor is a bit 90's. We will address the "deferred maintenance" issues in the dinning room immediately. We hope you will come stay with us again after our renovations are complete. Thank you for your honesty.
Jordan Beem
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel was gorgeous, inside and out. The courtyard is beautiful, especially at night. It feels like you have been transported to a different time.The staff was great, very courteous. My only complaint was that the shower faucet was tricky, and I think everyone in our party burnt themselves more than once. An otherwise great trip! Wonderful location, in downtown Mobile, and close enough to visit the beach more than once.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for such a nice review. We will begin renovations of the bathrooms this spring. We hope you will come back once our renovations are finished so that we can earn that fifth point from you.
Thanks for your honesty
Jordan Beem
Inn keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed two nights in Mobile at the Malaga Inn at the end of October and found it to be a delightful experience. We had a spacious, tastefully furnished room at the front with a small balcony. The beds were firm but very comfortable and the large car park at the side was a plus. The shady courtyard was wonderful to sit in, especially at night when it was decorated with fairy lights. The breakfast was good and the staff were unfailingly pleasant, friendly and helpful. The only slight hiccup was the fact that there were no towels in the bathroom when we arrived and we had to ask for some, while on the second day they arrived long after the room was cleaned. By that time we had realised what a relaxed and easy going place Mobile was so it no longer bothered us! It is a pity that the restaurant doesn't operate on a regular basis as we would have liked to eat there but we would love to return to the hotel in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malagainn, Innkeeper at Malaga Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I love the title of your review. We are proud of many element of our little Inn but we really love our courtyard. I think "magical" is a great way to describe it. Mobile is a very relaxed place but we take our daily operations at this property very seriously. If there were no towels in the room upon arrival there should have been. There is no excuse for that and I thank you for bring it to our attention. Hurry back!
Jordan Beem
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
Mobile Marriott
#6 of 64 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Inn

Property: Malaga Inn
Address: 359 Church St., Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#7 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malaga Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Malaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing