We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a road trip I was taking around the South. I was very impressed by this hotel, in particular it's location, being a couple of minutes walk from some very quaint streets in the Historic District (which are also home to some nice bars/restaurants).

My room was very spacious and the cleanliness was spotless. The building feels very modern and new inside, so the hotel have done a good job maintaining it and the staff were very polite.

I've stayed with many of the hotel chains in the US and I do feel that Hampton Inn are generally of a better standard than most and represent great value, this hotel's certainly no different.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBDT, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to share feedback of your stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown. We are very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you. You also mentioned our hotel’s location to 25+ restaurants and bars within walking distance which has proven to be a favorite among hotel guests. As always, safe travels. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    178
    24
    15
    7
See reviews for
310
215
35
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sand Sprngs, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My stay at the Downtown Hampton inn was very pleasant. The staff checked the group of us in very quickly and efficiently. The room was very clean and well kept. Breakfast area was always clean and food was presented nicely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBDT, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We are delighted you chose Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown while in Mobile. Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our team strives to deliver an enjoyable experience during your stay and that begins at check-in. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s complimentary On the House Breakfast™ Buffet with hot items that rotate daily. We know you could have stayed anywhere and appreciate you choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a vibrant section of downtown Mobile. We were upgraded to a studio suite at check-in at no extra cost (we paid $116 a night) Awesome! The lobby was spotless. I'm talking eat off the floor spotless. There is complimentary lemonade and fruit. Very spacious with multiple meeting rooms and a fantastic gym. Now to the room: how about mind blowing! Large and just as clean as the lobby. Large inviting balcony outside. The studio suites have a couch and chair with an ottoman. There is a mini fridge, microwave and sink. The beds were very comfy and there was a note on our headboard that the duvet and sheets were fresh and clean. Nice touch! My only complaint is that we only had one trashcan and it was next to the toilet. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic. Ms Broncile took great care of the dining area. There was a waffle station, pastries of all kind, hot and cold cereals, and fruit. The best part for me--they had turkey sausage!! I don't eat pork and at most hotels I just have it in my mind that I won't be having a meat for breakfast b/c most places don't offer a pork alternative. However much to my surprise and excitement, Hilton does! Win! My only complaint would be to add a milk substitute for the lactose intolerant. This is a top notch hotel and you would be crazy not to stay here! :-)

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BogueBorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBDT, Stephanie Ward, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments about your stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown. We are so glad you found the hotel’s amenities to your liking including our Complimentary On the House Breakfast™ Buffet and fitness center. We’ll be sure to pass on your kind words to Broncile regarding her attentiveness during breakfast . Your feedback is appreciated; we hope to see you back in Mobile soon. As always, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel was outstanding.... Absolutely great location for business or pleasure. Being a couple of blocks from multiple dining choices and a short drive to more important due long work days. Cynthia from the sales was the key to securing our stay and making sure all was ready for the large group (20+).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Petersva95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBDT, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We want to thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown as the host hotel for your group. Your review has inspired us and we appreciate you thinking so much of us to write a review of your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port st. joe, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was the host hotel for a dance convention/competition and they did an EXCELLENT job of handling such a large group of dancers and their parents... The property itself was lovely and I will definitely make it my first choice for any function in Mobile!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank PSJbogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBDT, Stephanie Ward, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you chose Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown during your stay in Mobile for the dance competition. We hope to see you again during your next visit to our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent the Veteran's Day weekend in Mobile just to get to know the city that we pass through on the interstate so frequently when going west. We chose the Hampton Inn in Downtown based on trip-advisor ratings and its central location. We were not disappointed. The room was very clean and comfortable and had everything you need while away from home. It was also very quiet despite there seeming to be a lot of folks staying in the hotel. It's location was very convenient as it was within easy walking distance to attractions like the Museum of Mobile, Fort Conde, and the Dauphin Street area.

We also took advantage of the complimentary breakfast at the hotel. They had a better than average spread of breakfast foods that should meet anyone's needs. The breakfast area was spacious, well appointed, and clean.

After our stay at the Hampton, we can affirm its high rating in Trip Advisor and recommend it to anyone planning to spend time in Mobile.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Mercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBDT, Stephanie Ward, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown as your place to stay during the Veteran’s Day weekend! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review because guests like you help keep us at our high rating! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel’s Complimentary On the House Breakfast™ Buffet and our convenient location to area attractions. We hope you’ll stay with us the next time you pass through our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Room was good and generally convenient. Hotel is pretty new looking. Staff were generally helpful. Nice lobby with fireplace. Breakfast was very moderate, often out of things. Coffee wasn't to our taste. Able to walk places downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBDT, Stephanie Ward, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are delighted you chose Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown while in Mobile. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We know you could have stayed anywhere and appreciate you choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.1 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
443 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#4 of 64 in Mobile
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Address: 62 S Royal St, Mobile, AL 36602-3204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mobile
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#2 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. Located within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in downtown Mobile. Only 1/2 mile from the Mobile Cruise Terminal and located directly on the parade route for Mardi Gras! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mobile/Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Hotel Mobile
Hampton Inn Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing