We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Ardmore, Alabama
Level Contributor
203 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Hampton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a good hotel when staying downtown Mobile. It's convenient to many downtown activities and restaurants. It is quite pricy for a Hampton though. There's nothing that really differentiates it from other Hampton hotels. If the price wasn't so high, I would have rated it very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwb1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    171
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
277
201
34
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jim Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Extremely dirty carpets, lousy wireless internet, and treadmills that do not work. This hotel could be so much better... disappointed! Had hoped for better considering their high Trip advisor rating but I was not impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank boxy_caprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnMobile, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. Our team was disappointed to read that our property fell short of your expectations. All Hampton Hotels have a 100% satisfaction guarantee and I welcome your call to discuss any concerns that you may have with our property. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Awesome service, Very Clean rooms, Nice Breakfast would highly recomend this hotel to anyone and would recomend a side trip thru the downtown area and to eat at one of the area resurants on the causeway while in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosciusko, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I would recommend this hotel to my friends. The staff was friendly and nice. The entrance of the hotel was very clean. I would definitely stay here again. The room and bathroom was very spacious and your room came with both a microwave and a refrigerator. It is located in a nice spot where you can walk to everything in downtown Mobile. Thanks again for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lakeisha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey S, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! I was glad to hear that you felt welcome at our hotel, as we strive to create a "home away from home" environment for our guests. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your experience, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kelsey Sunderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked our room here for our visit based on TA reviews and we were not let down. The hotel is beautiful and the staff was great. The hotel is located right downtown so you have access to a lot of things. We had booked the suite which was very spacious and our favorite was the wrap around balcony on the front corner of the hotel. The only issue we had was that the carpets were filthy. My husband walked around in his socks and went to get ice when he came back the bottom of his socks were black. We were not sure if this was from the carpet in the room or the hallway to the vending machine. Either way they need to clean the carpets. The breakfast was good also. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keywestbrideAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey S, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites! We strive to meet and exceed customer expectations, and I was very happy to hear that you had seen that through our reviews. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that the room was to your liking, but I was surprised to hear that your carpets were dirty. I assure you that this will be amended, and urge you to contact the hotel directly should you ever have a similar experience. Please feel free to contact our General Manager, Theresa Lollar, or myself at (251) 436-8787 with any concerns. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kelsey Sunderman, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab
Level Contributor
202 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this nice hotel several nites. It is located one block away from Dauphin Street (a Taxi driver told me that is a small version of Bourbon Street, NewOrleans) where a couple of pubs, restaurants and some parks wait for guests. Also in a block's distance is Fort Conde.
Parking is convenient nearby in a fenced lot.
The reception people are friendly, checkin is convenient and efficient. Checkout is more easily as the bill is brought to your room overnite.
I had a very spacious room on sixth floor equipped with a pantry, a bath, wash table, kingsize bed and a sitting corner with TV. The AC is very efficient and could be stopped for sleeping, e.g.
Water flow and temperature is very good. The pantry offers a fridge, good enough for some drinks as the hotel has no license and is family friendly.
There is a well equipped gym with dumbbells, mirror and some machines. It offers towles and water and dedicated tv. The swiming pool is filled with salty water, but I skipped that.
The room is very silent, the bed quality is fantastic.
Room for improvement:
Some more drawers for business people would be nice. Room service not every days sufficient.
Compli breaky offers fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, wafels, hash browns, sausages, omelettes and boiled eggs. Tea and coffee, milk and juices are also available. Jam, cheese and so forth.
Next time again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Warm welcome advising I was "guest Of the day" with free upgrade, parking and even a chocolate bar! Good room, comfortable and well appointed. Free hot breakfast provided by Hampton is adequate with reasonable choice to set you off for the day. Ideal location in Mobile, a town which it has to be said, seems to have seen better days.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#8 of 64 in Mobile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
4.6 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
Address: 62 South Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#1 Business Hotel in Mobile
#2 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hampton Inn & Suites in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. Located within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in downtown Mobile. Only 1/2 mile from the Mobile Cruise Terminal and located directly on the parade route for Mardi Gras! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown Hotel Mobile
Hampton Inn And Suites Mobile/Downtown
Hampton Inn Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing