We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully Intimate Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Via Emilia

Via Emilia
Ranked #43 of 666 Restaurants in Mobile
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightfully Intimate Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My business colleagues and I tend to try local restaurants when we travel, and Via Emilia provided a cozy and intimate atmosphere. I loved the chalkboard menu. The bread service was wonderful, and all of our meals were superb. The wine selection was also quite good. I will definitely return to this restaurant the next time I come to Mobile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kari4ksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
215 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Always fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

There are a very limited number of choices for Italian food in Mobile. Via Emilia advertises "authentic northern Italian cuisine". Well I've been to Italy, and grew up with a lot of Italian restaurants in the NYC area, and I can say that this place is the REAL deal. The food is always AMAZING. They have a small menu but everything is so incredible that it's impossible to make a bad choice. It's got limited seating, so arrive early or lose out. It's my favorite place in Mobile to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent italian-inspired food made from scratch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Our family was getting together from all over the Southeast and wanted to eat at a local establishment. We showed up near closing time with 9 people, but were seated graciously on the patio. We all ordered different meals from the menu board. The food was sumptuous and beautifully served. The children fed the koi in the pond while we enjoyed our fine evening out.
Thanks for the wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kateleo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Italien Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The menu is put on a blackboard and changes everyday. The Chef is very creative. All foods and vegetables are fresh and seasonal. Salads are large and can be split. Appetizers are good. A variety of pasta dishes, fish, veal, pork and beef available. Delicious desserts, good wines, full bar and liquors are offered. Nice place for a special night out with friends, couples or family.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank crgsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“now open for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

ONE of the best places for Italian food in Mobile...They didn't used to be open for lunch but started the first of the year...their lunch portions are really nice and not much smaller than their dinner portions...pricing is reasonable and many items from the dinner menu are available at lunch with the same outstanding freshness and quality...if you have a chance to try it you will not be disappointed.....open everyday accept Saturday for lunch and Sunday for brunch....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Emilia also viewed

 

Been to Via Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing