We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“almost adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extend a Suites Mobile Tillmans Corner
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“almost adequate”
Reviewed 5 July 2008

No fridge or microwave in the room was a big negative, as was the old and dirty carpet. The beds were uncomfortable. The location was fairly quiet during our stay though and the staff was mostly friendly and helpful. The maid service was good.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — lack of ameneties
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Skillet38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    13
    13
    22
See reviews for
15
9
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sweet home Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2008

A group of cheerleaders and parents arrived late (around midnight) for a competition the next day in Mobile. When we arrived, our rooms had been given away (even though I had arranged for all the rooms with a credit card to hold them). The staff was rude and some of our party left for other hotels. I only stayed because the front desk finally found a few rooms with K beds, not doubles like we needed, and they had my credit card number. I figured they might charge it anyway. Didn't sleep well--strange noises, people running through the hall, lots of traffic at all hours of the night. Not really what I was looking for. As it was just me and my daughter, I was rather uncomfortable. I saw mold and mildew, bugs, and lots of people just hanging out in the parking lot. It was not what I expected. When we went for breakfast at a nearby restaurant, one of the waitresses asked us if we stayed in the Red Roach Inn. We said yes. I hate to say it, but I can't recommend this to anyone.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gmsenglish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2008

my wife and another couple stayed overnight for cruise departure the next day.Thought Tillmans corner would be safe..was on back of motel,it was dark, room was small but seemed clean.there was someone playing a bass guiter in next room till 9pm..a car sat outside our room with headlights on for 2 hrs,had to call front desk to ask about security..car left and spun out tires and blowed horn .and came back several times..finally a police siren sounded and someones car alarm went off!could finally sleep around 11pm..the only good part was front staff was very nice..will not stay again.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bustedacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

According to most of the reviews online, as well as my past experiences, I figured that I would have to find a hotel off of the I-65 corridor to escape the crime-ridden hotels off of Airport Blvd. and Government Blvd. So, stupidly, I decided to look at Tillman's Corner.

On my meager budget, I figured I would try out the Red Roof inn. The reviews weren't bad, and the location seemed to be away from the riff-raff of the rest of Mobile. Here is my experience.

Upon arrival (around 7 pm), I went to check in, and the lobby was locked. I had to conduct my check-in through a sliding drawer in a bullet-proof glass window. That, along with the 4 or 5 broken-down cars sitting in the parking lot next to the lobby, should have been my first hint as to what I had gotten myself into.

The room was acceptable, but not great. It reaked of mold, and the air conditioner was very noisy. There was an extreme lack of basic amenities, such as an iron, that has been previously mentioned. However, I guess you get what you pay for. I was placed in a room as far as possible from the front desk, which was pretty inconvenient, and it was pretty scary being stuck in the back of the motel. Overall, the area in general seemed scary; I had a hard time sleeping that night for fear of a break-in.

When I woke up the next morning, I itched all over. It felt like I had picked up chiggers from the bed. This itching continued for 2 days following my stay.

Anyways, the motel overall was acceptable; however, I wish I had paid the extra money to stay in the adjacent Holiday Inn.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The bug bites contracted from the bed
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheElGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2006

My husband and I stayed for one night and really didn't know what to expect. I had never stayed at a Red Roof. We just wanted a clean, comfortable room at a good price. Nothing fancy. Upon check in, the clerk was very helpful with dining options and mapped out a route to the mall. She was very pleasant.
The room was very small, but it was fine for what we paid. However, I discovered upon exiting the shower that there was no hair dryer. I had to dry my hair as best I could over the air conditioner. Also, there was no ironing board or iron. Perhaps I could have requested one from the desk, but I just wore another shirt. I guess I assumed these two items would be standard in any room.
I would stay here again, as it was very clean, quiet, convenient to everything, and the bed was very comfortable. I would just bring my own hair dryer and travel iron next time!!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 456Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2006

We had stayed at overnight in Mobile before catching the Carnival Holiday the next morning, so we looked for a good review at a decently priced hotel. This hotel has at least two buildings, and we stayed at the first floor in the second one furthest from the front lobby. The size of the room is to be expected at the price we paid, but we did expect more than what we got.

Upon opening the door, there was a moldy, musty smell that was rather strong. Different pieces in the room were not fit. For example, the air conditioner's cover inside the room was not fully on the unit, so there was about an inch space between the cover and the chassis. The bathroom exhaust fan cover was lopsided and not in place. The worst was the presence what looked like black mold beginning to grow on the wall and ceiling above the door to the bathroom!

We were exhausted from a 14-hour drive and didn't demand a different room. This is far worse than any hotel room we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingttx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 March 2006

We stopped and stayed here on our way to Florida. The room was very clean. A great value. We were able to take our dog and we not charged extra for her. We booked a reservation for our return trip.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Mobile
Quality Inn Mobile
#38 of 64 in Mobile
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#37 of 64 in Mobile
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Mobile
Comfort Suites Mobile
#26 of 64 in Mobile
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Mobile West I-10
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mobile - Tillman's Corner
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mobile West I-10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extend a Suites Mobile Tillmans Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extend a Suites Mobile Tillmans Corner

Property: Extend a Suites Mobile Tillmans Corner
Address: 5450 Coca Cola Rd, Mobile, AL 36619-1950 (Formerly America's Best Inn - Mobile)
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Extend a Suites Mobile Tillmans Corner 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extend A Suites is a newly renovated hotel with a beautiful location on the west side of Mobile.We provide a great setting for long and short term guest with nightly and weekly rates. Our hotel has King, Queen and Double rooms and we have rooms that are pet friendly. Our staff is friendly and love to help you with any needs. We have employees on property 24/7, laundry and vending on site and flat screen TVs. Give us a chance to be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Extend a Suites Mobile Tillmans Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Mobile South Hotel Mobile
Mobile Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing