We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice addition to Mobile ' s dining choices”

Yak The Kathmandu Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Yak The Kathmandu Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 671 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wel-Come to Authentic Indian Nepali Restaurant Yak the Kathmandu Kitchen will serve delicious culturally rich authentic foods from Himalayan region which includes Nepali, Indian, Tibetan, and Bhutanese dishes at great ambiance with warm hospitality. Our food is cooked in traditional Nepali style with Nepali masala, which is mixture of many spices and herbs from the Himalayan mountains.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A nice addition to Mobile ' s dining choices”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We went for their weekday buffet so I can't really rate the Nepali and/or Indian dishes found on their menu altho' it seems to be a wide selection. We found the quality and selection of their buffet to be rather limited, but the wait staff was very friendly and always had a smile. I especially enjoyed their spiced tea. We'll be back soon and give their dinner menu a try.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Quality delicious fresh food from both India and nepal. Staff were supper friendly and quick, portions were big. highly recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royclarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
724 reviews
520 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian food experiences we have had!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Three of us ate here tonight. The experience was wonderful. The service was excellent. The food was moderately priced but some of the best we have eaten. Between us we had chicken tikka masala, chicken vindalloo and lamb saag. Each dish was great. It was obvious that the food is freshly cooked and tastes like an amazing blend of spices. The menu is large and includes some Nepali dishes as well. The servings are generous. If you want alcohol, bring your own. We have eaten a lot of Indian food and this was one of the best meals we have had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
Level Contributor
160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I returned for dinner with friends. We ordered 5 dishes and each one was outstanding. Lamb Vindaloo was great, Shrimp Saag, Chicken Korma, Rayo Saag, and Dal Markhani. We all agreed the flavors were wondrous. Since it is a small restaurant service can be delayed when they get a large table. They had 2 before us. But it is worth waiting for since the dishes are cooked fresh and to order. This is our preferred Indian food choice in Mobile. BTW, $56 for 4 is outrageously wonderful :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uphill69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Indian Food!!!!!!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This place outshines every other in the area. Mutter Panneer is great. Shrimp Tandori makes me want to eat until I explode. You gotta try the garlic nann. All of the food is fresh and takes a while to get, but it is worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmh454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yak The Kathmandu Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Yak The Kathmandu Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing