We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Airport road location terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wintzell's Oyster House

Wintzell's Oyster House
Ranked #2 of 663 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Airport road location terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Five of us dined here after a baseball game at South Al and the food and service were horrible. Appetizer Charbroiled oysters were totally dry and very small. We waited so long for our meal they started cleaning the restaurant while we were still sitting there. When our food finally arrived, one order of a shrimp po-boy was still not ready. The bacon wrapped jalapeno shrimp were small and very salty. The fish tacos barely had any fish. We had to take the po boy to go as they were mopping the floors by then! The manager was very nice and reduced our bills a little, but it was still a total waste of money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BaseballM0m7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    346
    102
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, Not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Positives: Prompt friendly service at the bar. Happy Hour prices on beer & oysters. The oysters were pretty good, though not up to Louisiana standards.

Negatives: I ordered fried shrimp. It was poorly prepared and did not look or taste like fresh local catch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weenie-Arm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Growing up in Alabama, I ate at several different Wintzell's locations. They are all good, the one in downtown Mobile may be my favorite. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Oysters and fresh seafood..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The original Wintzell's Oyster House in downtown Mobile is just the place to go to sample local Mobile food. We were lucky enough to be there at "happy hour" when the raw oysters are half price. We just ate and ate until we were full. No it is not a white tablecloth type place with crystal glasses. Don't go there for that. Go to eat with the locals in a old style oyster bar/restaurant. Be sure to try their favorites. You can eat cheaper but you cannot eat better seafood!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flsurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
190 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Grilled oysters were great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We were doing the historic walking tour and happened upon this place just about lunchtime. Loving oysters and being from the Midwest where oysters are not often found on the menu, we stopped in. Loved the kitschy decor and our waitress was a hoot. She suggested we try the "world famous" gumbo along with our order of grilled oysters. Both were yummy and were perfect for lunch. She encouraged us to have the bread pudding too, and while tempting, we were both pleasantly satisfied with what we had had. However, we did notice on the receipt that we can come back within 5 days to get a free bread pudding. We may just do that before we have to leave for home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Wintzell's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing