We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Sound Proofing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Mobile
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Needs Sound Proofing”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hotel is next to the train tracks AND an interstate highway, which in combination with the poor quality sliding windows makes for a rough night of sleep. Windows have a gap and are only single paned.

We stayed here in the summer and didn't notice the noise, since the air conditioner noise drowned out the outside noise. In winter however, the unit is not running as much and the noise comes flooding into the room. Unacceptable. Needs new windows installed.

To add insult to injury, the chocolate milk for the breakfast was spoiled (over 2 weeks past expiration date. I told the sweet old lady that oversaw the breakfast, and she didn't remove the expired milks!!!

On the plus side, the staff are very nice. Seems like a management / ownership problem at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the parking lot so that it minimizes the train and highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    237
    112
    39
    44
See reviews for
274
138
43
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I chose this hotel based on prior reviews. The following are details I noticed about the establishment. 1st the staff (especially Charity) was friendly and attentive to our needs. We originally booked a room for 1 night and checked out. During the course of the day we decided to stay another night the clerk set us up and was able to give us the discount rate we had the prior night (they match Internet pricing). Our 2nd room we were issued had been smoked in. Immediately the clerk reissued our room and was very apologetic. These rooms need "touch up" painting, dusting, but the bedding is clean and comfy. This hotel feels solid, we don't hear people walking down the halls, our neighbors tv, unlike most newer lodging establishments.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfred002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here over the Christmas Holiday and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, quiet and an excellent value. The complimentary buffet breakfast was very good and the staff very accomodating.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had been traveling across the country and were getting into Mobile after midnight. When I called to see if there was vacancy and if there was space to park our 26ft truck plus a car trailer we were towing, Laveta was beyond helpful. She went and looked outside to make sure there was space, gave me clear directions and had us park somewhere where the truck could be seen from the door all night. It was the best night's sleep we had had in DAYS! and breakfast was hot, and fresh when we came down! It was almost as comfortable as waking up and spending the morning in my own home. We were so grateful to the staff who helped make this leg of our travels comfortable and stress free!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dothan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Motel located in great location to USA (University of South Alabama) and entertainment areas (shopping, dining, etc...). Whats great about location is close to all of the above without being in the middle of (without all the traffic and noise). Motel is very clean and employees were very helpful and friendly. Also if you forget anything they have a somewhat like store located around the front desk (from cokes to tylenol).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylordjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at the Wingate on Springhill Plaza. The entrance of the property was nice.
We had arrived early and all the rooms was not ready, but Crystal the front desk associate attended to us promptly and we were assigned our room. Our room was nice and clean, the beds were very comfortable. The staff at the Springhill Plaza Wingate was friendly and helpful . The Breakfast each morning was good. We had a nice stay even though a few guest didn't know how to conduct themselves. The manager and front desk staff handle the matter discreetly and in a professional manor .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This property is well kept and very accommodating. An excellent value. There was always staff present to assist you. The room was very comfortable and clean. This hotel offers a free hot breakfast. There's no kitchen so the food is all microwave prepared but they offer the best free breakfast I've ever encountered. Rooms have a fridge and microwave. The internet is free. The hotel is located close to the freeway. There is only a Zaxby's within walking distance but you are minutes away from plenty of dining choices.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrdbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
4.9 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.2 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
4.9 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
431 reviews
4.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Mobile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Mobile

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Mobile
Address: 516 Springhill Plaza Ct, Mobile, AL 36608-1554
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mobile
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#15 Business Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Mobile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a full hot breakfast every day form 6am-9am. We have large comfortable rooms with 48' flat screens in every room. We are close to South Alabama, and Springhill College. We are the closest hotel to the Mobile Tennis center, and Azalea Golf Course. We offer Free Pick up from the Mobile Regional airport from 7am to 7pm. We also have a cruise package that is $129.00 that includes room, parking , and transportation to and from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Mobile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Mobile Al Hotel Mobile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing