We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were treated like royalty from the moment we drove up to the valet service until the day we checked out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were amazing! Clean comfort! I hope to return again in the near future!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

I appreciate the great review of your stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your business and also for you taking the time to share your experiences. Thank you for mentioning the hotel ambassadors, the cleanliness, and valet services.

I look forward to you visiting the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was stunning - the lobby is an experience in itself with the whispering arch!
Room was excellent - really well appointed and comfortable. Only small thing I didn't like was the pillows which were either the springy kind or really small feather ones.
Pool area was fantastic - pool big enough to do laps, with a nice lounging area, hot tub and a well equipped gym.
Service was great and reception staff very friendly.
Small room for improvement in the Club lounge - the breakfast selection wasn't great and looked pretty tired and boring and the evening drinks are not complimentary, although it was implied that this was more to do with Alabama state law than anything else. They could just up the game with the offering here slightly at minimal cost, which is the reason this hotel doesn't get an 'excellent'.

Room Tip: Don't book a club room - the current offering in the lounge does not justify it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSavvyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for staying at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I am glad you had the opportunity to experience the Whispering Arch and the Outdoor Pool. I appreciate your comments in regards to the Club Lounge. We will continue to look at the different offerings for breakfast and make the necessary changes to accommodate our guests. Thank you for your feedback and ideas! They are helpful!

I hope you have the opportunity to visit the hotel in the future. We look forward to having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I love the Battle House!!!! Definitely the best Hotel in Mobile and even Fairhope!!!! I enjoyed it more than the Marriott Resort & Spa in Fairhope. Very elegant and has a marvelous restaurant Trellis Room!!!! The chef made my son a specialty dish not on the menu, beautiful hotel, great staff, spectacular amenities!!!!! We are planning to return several times!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkateboarderMomUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for such a positive review of your stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I appreciate your kind words about the hotel. I am happy to hear that our chef was able to prepare a special dish for your son. I hope he enjoyed it. I am excited to hear that you will be planning on visiting the hotel many more times in the future. Thank you for your business!

I look forward to having you and your son visit again in the future!

I like your screen name too, "skateboarderMomUSA" Very cool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We travel a lot and frequent Marriott hotels. This is by far one of the best. The staff was extremely helpful, the rooms we spacious and beautiful. It was located conveniently close to great attractions and restaurants, so we were able to walk everywhere. We will be coming back again and again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for being a loyal customer of the Marriott Brand. I appreciate your loyalty. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa and that you found the ambassadors helpful during your visit. Thank you for mentioning them in your review. I hope you enjoyed the city too and were able to visit some of the local attractions and restaurants.

I appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback. I will share your comments with the rest of the hotel team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

On a business trip I stayed at the hotel on a Sunday evening. I arrived at 4PM. The hotel was like a mausoleum. I was told by the valet that there were only a few guests at the hotel. The restaurant and bar were closed and there was no suitable choices for a Sunday meal within a safe walking distance. The hotel is surrounding by nothing worth seeing or doing. I paid extra for a club level room because I was told it had some food service. The room was neat and clean with a comfortable bed. The "free" evening and morning food service in the club level lounge was, at best, a joke. There was one "hot" entry, an alleged duck confit on a potato skin, and some nuts available. The hot entry was not hot nor edible. It was awful. I was told that there is reduced food service on weekends because of low occupancy on weekends - but not told that at check-in. I had a class of wine from a wine stand only to be told that there was a charge for this bar stock, off brand wine. OK - although this had never happened at other club level lounges previously. I provided my room number. However, at 10PM that evening, I was startled when awakened by a phone call from the front desk asking about how I wanted to pay for the one glass of wine. The next morning, the food service in the club lounge was even worse. It consisted of a pot of luke warm scrambled eggs floating in a sea of water, partially uncooked bacon and cold potatoes. No rolls, no muffins, nothing sweet, just sliced loaf bread next to a toaster. The coffee was in pump style carafes and served just slightly warm. There was limited cereal choices but no bananas. The hotel did comp the one glass of wine - a small concession for the 10PM call that ruined the night's sleep. There are other choices in downtown Mobile, if you must stay in downtown Mobile. I have stayed at other Renaissance hotels and will likely do so again, but not this one.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. Your feedback is very valuable to the hotel as it helps us identify areas that need improvement and immediate attention. I appreciate your business and your comments from your stay. I want to sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations in regards to the food selection in the Club Lounge and also for the late night phone call you received from one of the front desk ambassadors. I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments at the hotel and assure you we will correct these issues for future visits.

Mobile does offer many different historic attractions, lounges, bars, restaurants, and self-guided tours throughout the city. Yes, some of these items do close on Sunday, so my apologies that it seemed like there was nothing to see or do while you were visiting. If you do have the opportunity to return, please feel free to contact the hotel in advance. We would be happy to highlight some restaurants, sites, and attractions that you may be interested in if you have some free time during your next trip.

Again, I appreciate your feedback and offer my apologies for not meeting your expectations.

If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact the hotel and ask for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I spent our wedding night at the Battle House. The staff is probably the best hotel staff in Mobile. Service was first class. Room service was fast and the menu selection offered a large variety of choices. The hotel itself is very historic and visitors can enjoy the art and architecture throughout the hotel. There is also a great Irish pub which is accessible both from the hotel and from the street.

Absolutely loved it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelConciergeMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Congratulations on your Wedding! Very exciting! Thank you for sharing your special day at the Battle House Hotel & Spa. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel and had the opportunity to visit some of the food and beverage outlets and experience In Room Dining and the historic flare of the hotel.

I hope you have the opportunity to visit the hotel again in the future. I appreciate your business and for taking the time to send in your feedback!

Again, Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were heading to Mobile for a couple of nights to decompress after a business meeting in the Florida panhandle. Never been there. Floods forced us to delay our arrival a day, which the hotel accommodated with no problem. Wish we'd been able to stay longer.
Can't say enough good things about this hotel. We stayed in the original building, where our room was well furnished and comfortable. There's also a new section in the lower floors of an adjoining office tower, but the historic building has been elegantly restored. Staff was great, especially Chris out front who greeted us, took care of the car and our bags, gave us some history of Mobile and the hotel and recommendations for things to see and places to eat. Fitness center in the spa is shared with the office building, I guess, because it's better outfitted than what you see in most hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22,302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Manager at The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

I'm glad you found your way over to Mobile after your business meeting. I hope the Battle House Hotel & Spa ambassadors helped you relax and get some R&R. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to send in your review of your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the fitness center and the room. I hope you have the opportunity to visit the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.3 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#6 of 64 in Mobile
454 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa

Address: 26 North Royal Street, Mobile, AL 36602
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mobile
#3 Family Hotel in Mobile
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
Price Range: £112 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa, one of the premiere luxury hotels in Alabama, located in downtown Mobile in the Central Business District, across from the Mobile Convention Center. Our downtown Mobile hotel has been a favorite of entertainment celebrities, sports legends, a president, and a king since 1852. The Battle House Renaissance Hotel & Spa was thoughtfully resorted to its original grandeur and is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. The legendary AAA Four Diamond Hotel also offers The Trellis Room, Mobile's only Four Diamond Restaurant. The Spa at The Battle House is a 10,000 sq. ft. oasis boasting a full salon, eight treatment rooms, and a Zen-like fire pit in our spectacular, tranquil Quiet Room. Host unforgettable affairs inside our magnificent Crystal Ballroom and marvel at our whispering arches (our acoustical feature). Join us in Mobile's Living Room, located just steps from Mobile's Entertainment District, Gulf Coast Exploreum & Imax, the Carnival Museum, Museum of Mobile, and Fort Conde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Battle House, a Renaissance Hotel Mobile
The Battle Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance Mobile
Mobile Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing