We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Great Week-end "in the Round"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Clinton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Great Week-end "in the Round"”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable week-end in the Holiday Inn in downtown Mobile, Alabama May 2-4, 2014. We were there to attend our granddaughter's Ballet Recital at the Civic Center located only two blocks from the Hotel. When we made the reservations, we were a bit concerned that it would be a very old facility and we might regret our choice, even though the photos on the Internet were beautiful. When we approached the lovely ROUND, 17-story hotel with pretty landscaping, nice gated parking lot and large parking garage across the street, we could hardly wait to get out of our car and see what we would find as we entered the door. WOW! It was as if we had walked into a brand new facility that had just been opened for business! We did learn that it had indeed been completely renovated, and it appeared to us that they spared no expense in bringing it up to modern standards! The decor, the friendliness of the employees, the restaurant, the rooms - all amenities were very pleasing to us. We also loved the location in the historic district where we enjoyed walking around and looking at the old lovely buildings - especially the churches. We look forward to returning to downtown Mobile and seeing additional points of interest that we did not have time to visit. Our two grandchildren who came by to visit were fascinated with the ROUND hotel and the 17th floor Sky View. When we return, I feel sure they will want to accompany us. A great visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
I truly want to thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our team. We are proud of our service and facilities. The Sky View Lounge is the best part of our hotel. I am glad you were able to experience the wonderful views. We look forward to your return visit with the rest of your family. Sincerely, Lisa Castagna, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    143
    52
    24
    25
See reviews for
115
96
28
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel was great for what we paid. We went during Mardi Gras this year and really enjoyed ourselves. The room was very clean except for the carpet smell when we first entered. The staff were very helpful and I really enjoyed the view from our room and the roof top bar. It was VERY convenient because most of the parade routes crossed either on the front or back side of the hotel every time. The only thing I didn't like was check in ran 2-3 hours behind expected time. The lobby was sooooooo packed that we had to leave and come back until they called saying our room was ready.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
On behalf of our team, I am sorry you had to wait to check in. Mardi Gras is a very busy time and we try to get everyone checked in as quickly as possible (sometimes that can be a struggle). I am glad that you loved our location; it is the best place to see the parades. I certainly look forward to you being our guest for future Mardi Gras. Sincerely, Lisa Castagna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saraland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoy our stay each time we stay here! Ms. Maura is just a Ray & 90% why we stay here! Adding to our list is the macadamia nuts! Oh mercy!! The owner of this location grows them in Hawaii and graciously shares with guests- YUM!! Everything about this location makes you feel right at home!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanceMomofEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

First impression? Uncertainty about entrance. Main entrance roped off. Elevator smelled like old bar cigarette smoke. Everything seemed old and worn. Personnel did not seem knowledgable. Location good for old town. Uncertain about security of self park area.

Room Tip: Not sure... Old facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback. I certainly do apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. We were painting all exterior walkways over the last couple of weeks so there were entrances "Cautioned Off" at various times. We would never want a guest to step in paint while we do necessary freshening up of the exterior.

Our hotel is an older property but been has been beautifully renovated over the last seven years. We continuously make improvements to keep the hotel fresh and up to date. In regard to parking, due to the amazing downtown location, parking is at a premium onsite but we do have parking available at an adjacent parking garage. It is safe and convenient.

We have a wonderful team of associates. I am truly sorry if they were not able to answer some of your questions or give you the information you needed about Mobile. If ever I may be of personal assistance, please feel free to contact me directly. Lisa Castagna, General Manager, (251)694-0100.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Span
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a blast in Skyview. The DJ was cool and the bartenders made us feel at home. We were able to walk to dauphin Street to check out the OK Bicycle Shop....good stuff. The hotel room was great. The beds are very comfortable and the pillows are soft. We tried the breakfast...all was the yummiest

Room Tip: Get a bay view so you can watch the sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I am glad you had a great time in Mobile. I agree that the views from our lounge are the best in the city. Thank you for being our guest. Sincerely, Lisa Castagna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown while attending a dance competition at the nearby Civic Center. For events at the Civic Center, you can't beat the HI's location - it's just a quick walk a couple of blocks. Overall the HI is very nice and the rooms were pretty comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was a split design with the sink outside the combined tub/shower/toilet area. The latter is VERY cramped. Also there is no closet, just a small hanging rack next to the sink. The room had a decent size mini fridge, a microwave, a flat screen TV with a good # of channels, but no DVD player. My two biggest complaints... #1 - WiFi in the room was horrible. When I could connect, it was a fair to poor connection. There is no way you could stream video on the connection. I ended up using my data plan 90% of the time for Internet access. #2 - someone in an adjacent room had room service. Their dirty dishes sat in the hallway for at least 12 hours, probably more. Very gross. My wife actually stopped by the front desk when we were checking out to let them know about the situation. Parking was $7 per night which wasn't too bad, but their parking next to the hotel is very limited. We ended up in the garage across the street. One additional "plus" - they have a ton of luggage carts which is quite nice. I don't think I've seen that many carts available at a hotel before!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionfan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Mobile and found our location to be convenient. I am sorry that we failed to pick up a room service tray; we should not have missed that. We will certainly investigate any internet issues and conduct regular tests of its speed. If ever I may be of future assistance, please feel free to contact me directly. Sincerely, Lisa Castagna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The receptionist named Gloria was awesome this weekend! I was visiting mobile for the first time and she was very helpful in what restaurants was the best and what bars represented mobile! The rooms were clean! You definitely Pay for what you get!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post such nice comments about one of our "Super Stars," Gloria. She is a wonderful coworker. We certainly hope you consider us again during your next visit to Mobile. Sincerely, Lisa Castagna, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#6 of 64 in Mobile
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing