We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could help, but wouldn't”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could help, but wouldn't”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

First off, I made the mistake of booking through priceline.com. In the very small print it says special requests cannot be guaranteed. One of those mentioned is smoking/non-smoking rooms. This hotel only has one smoking floor and priceline booked me on that floor in a smoking room. I have two children with asthma and when priceline refused to help I called the hotel. They had room availability but would not change my room. They said I will have to just show up and see whats available when I get there. After 8 hrs of travel, this is not a chance I want to take but I have no choice unless I forfeit about $100. Ultimately this is what I will have to do if they won't accommodate my meager request. Thanks a lot Holiday Inn :/ You could've made my "vacation" stress free. Now it seems I have to travel 8hrs, roll the dice and possibly stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Rick H,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    143
    52
    24
    25
See reviews for
115
96
28
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rico and Rodney had a wonderful time at this hotel. They were treated like kings. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the hotel serves great food. Make sure you try the gumbo, it's delicious.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel served the purpose for a conference at the convention center. About a two-thirds mile walk this hotel, I was not able to get into the main conference hotel. A decent location, the staff were friendly and the rooms were okay. The bed was comfortable. The rest of the furniture and amenities were a bit subpar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Jeff M,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. We're sorry for the shortfalls you have noticed during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Rest assured, your feedback will be used for review and enhancements. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My mom and I stayed here for about a week and had an awesome stay. If you're looking for a hotel with a central location this is it. Dauphin street, which is filled with cute stores and restaurants (Spot of tea!) is a 3 minute walk away so you have plenty of dining options. Our room was wonderful (see tip below) and our housekeeper Victoria was very friendly and helped keep our room clean and fresh. Oh and the beds and pillows are so soft and comfortable ... I have not slept as well as I did in this Holiday inn in a long time. Also, check out the sky view lounge for a nice view of Mobile bay, especially if you're in the area for the Fourth of July. Special thanks to Miss Maura who went above and beyond in terms of service during our stay and treated us like royalty! The next time I am in Mobile I will be staying at the downtown Holiday Inn without a doubt! Free wifi, wonderful rooms, and a caring, attentive staff... what more could you ask for? :)

Room tip: Stay on the 17th floor! The rooms are absolutely beautiful and have large windows with great views of the city. It is on the same floor as the sky view lounge but because the rooms are located in a private locked area (only accessible by room key) privacy is not an issue.

Room Tip: Stay on the 17th floor! The rooms are absolutely beautiful and have large windows with great views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The location is great for downtown mobile and quick access to restaurants and other activities. The hotel itself was in excellent condition and the staff was very attentive and helpful as well. The rooms were rather outdated with some carpet stains and not so great bedding, other than that the hotel was good all around. It also has an on-site restaurant with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlateXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear SlateXX,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you appreciated our convenient location as well as our friendly staff service.We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulligent, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you want to experience historic downtown Mobile, you can't go wrong with the Holiday Inn Downtown on Governor's Street. Literally next door to the Mobile Mardi Gras Museum, the hotel is only a block from the wonderful shops, restaurants, and night life of Dauphin Street. For travelers who plan to cross the bay to the USS Alabama or head down I10 for a day at the beach, the hotel is only one block from the tunnel access on Hwy 98, then you are right at the battleship or the I10 onramp.

The hotel itself is a unique round shape, meaning the bathroom space is a little tight, but the room opens out to enough area for two queen beds and a rollaway plus room for a couple of sitting chairs. The staff was very considerate and the restaurant was good but pricey. The beds were surprisingly comfortable too.

Room Tip: go high for great views of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I decided to extend my stay for another night, and Sarah was very helpful to me. My credit card and I faced technical difficulty. Sarah was very considerate in that she waited for my card to process the transaction. She even stored my luggage in a secured area. Thanks Holiday Inn for hiring the best associates!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 64 in Mobile
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Property: Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
Address: 301 Government St, Mobile, AL 36602-2608 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing