We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WORST Marriott Property I have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The WORST Marriott Property I have ever stayed”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Avoid at all costs! Even though we stayed on points this has to be the worst hotel I have stayed in years. As I was pushing my luggage cart in a maid was in too much of a hurry to leave and pushed my cart out of the doorway so she could get out.

- Dried urine on the toliet seat bolt that was missing cap
- Terrible bed
- Ripped shower curtain
- low end bed terrible sleep

I went down for the 24 hours coffee at 5:15 AM no coffee, nobody at the desk... I looked around and finally after I stepped outside I disturbed the clerk, whom was apparently smoking. She came in rather irrated that I desired coffee.

As we left a nasty scowl from the same clerk in her blue jeans and t-shirt.

I called customer service and they spoke to the hotel, the hotel manager claim to have spoken with us when we left and everything was fine... WE NEVER SAW HER this morning!

I would avoid this one but keep in mind that the Residence Inn and the Courtyard are on the same property and I have to assume they are just as bad if the same owner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Rick N.,
I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay at our hotel. Since you refused to speak with us at property level, our Customer Care Supervisors have been handling your situation.
Mr. Nelson, we appreciate you being a Marriott Rewards Member and hope that you will continue using Marriott properties during your travels.

Joy B. Knodel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    38
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
43
34
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Arrived late. Loved the convenient location. Friendly staff helped us locate Chinese takeout which was excellent (China Wok - separate review). Would definitely stay here again if ever in the area. Stayed too short a time to say much else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 800BarbaraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi BarbaraH, Thank you for taking time to comment about your recent "short" stay with us. We do appreciate the kind comments and it is a pleasure to share them with our staff.
We do hope that if your travels bring you back to our area that you will once again choose to stay with us (hopefully longer next time).
Best Regards,
Joy KNodel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We only spent one night there but the beds are very comfortable. The room and bath are clean. The staff bent over backwards to make out stay enjoyable. The location is very easy for the highway. You get a free breakfast. The price is very reasonable. What more could you ask for??? We have stayed there before and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flsurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi FLSURG! Thank you so very much for the kind comments regarding your recent visit to our hotel. It is certainly a pleasure to share the good comments with our entire staff.
It is our goal to provide each guest with a clean, comfortable room along with friendly service and a good breakfast.
We do hope that if your travels bring you back to our area that you will once again choose to stay with us.
Safe Travels,
Joy Knodel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel and i was really impressed. It's really nice, clean and well maintained. Close to highway and less than a 5 minute drive to eat and shop. Our room smelled fresh as soon as we opened the door. The breakfast was really good with a wide variety of items and the lady that handles this area is kind and keeps it well stocked. I hung around the hotel while my husband was at a conference and was amazed at how professional and kind the staff was. Special thanks to Randy for short cut to the beach, Joyce in House keeping, Rochelle and Lori at the desk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myprecious11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
MyPrecious11,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent visit to our Fairfield Inn & Suites. It is only with our guests feedback that we can continue to improve our service and standards. It is always nice to share the good comments with our staff. I will certainly be sharing yours with everyone. We do hope that if your travels bring you back into the Mobile area that you will choose to stay with us again.
Best Regards,
Joy B. Knodel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located off I-65 at Airport Blvd; hotel is clean and comfortable; staff was very friendly and helpful; very quiet, no interstate noise on west end of hotel where we stayed; a good variety of restaurants to choose from in close proximity to hotel as well as two large shopping areas.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
TennesseeWanderer, Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding you recent visit to our property. It is such a pleasure to share the good comments with our Staff. It is our goal to provide a clean, comfortable room at a fair price along with a friendly, helpful staff to each and every guest that comes in. We do hope that if you "wander" through our area again that you willonce again choose to stay with us.
Safe Travels and Best Regards,
Joy B. Knodel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Since we had Marriott points to redeem, we stopped at this hotel on our way to and from Sapphire, NC. Overall, the hotel looks nice; the parking lot and grounds were well maintained and felt safe. The lobby and breakfast areas were both clean. There was a strong chlorine smell emanating from the pool, but we didn't use it. (There were several families in the pool, so I guess it was OK.) Our rooms on both trips were clean, the beds comfortable and the showers had plenty of warm water and nice water pressure. Our check-in on Thursday did take longer because only one person was working the front desk. Also on Thursday, our TV's sound didn't work unless we turned the set on and off a couple of times. The biggest drawback to staying here is their breakfast food/service. On our first stay (Sunday morning), we tried to eat breakfast at 7:00 (the time it was supposed to open), and the juice machine and hot food buffets were empty and the cabinet providing milk for the cereal was locked. The choices available were cereal (without milk), bagels and cream cheese, and mixed fruit of cantaloupe, honeydew melons and pineapple (everything tasted like melon). After about 15 minutes of watching an employee run around, she was finally able to locate the key to unlock the refrigeration cabinet to allow access to the milk and brought out a tray of eggs which were cold. No juice was ever available. On our return trip (Friday morning) we ate about an hour after it was suppose to start serving. This time there was juice, but it was so watered down, it was undrinkable. I had to look twice to see if I had pushed the orange button--it looked like apple, tasted like neither. The coffee was cold, and based on our first trip, we didn't try the eggs. On the plus side, this time the pineapple did taste like pineapple. Overall, this is a nice hotel, just skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bstephens62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent visits to our property. Without our guests feedback (both good and bad), we cannot comtinue to improve our services.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your room and the other areas of the hotel. I am very sorry to hear that our breakfast failed to provide you with the service and selections that you deserve each and every time you are a guest.
It is our goal to provide a clean, comfortable room along with a healthy variety at breakfast to each and every guest that stays with us. I do apologize that we did not meet that standard during your stay.
If your travels bring you back to the area, I do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you with true Marriott style.
Best Regards,
Joy Knodel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel for an overnight stop. Updated rooms - hotel smelled great when we walked in. Coffee still available for FREE in the evening! Yay! Thank you!! Friendly efficient staff. I overhead the hotel clerk very effectively handle an irate customer (who was upset over his own credit card issues and nothing to do with the hotel). She showed great professionalism! Also want to compliment the breakfast hostess working on the morning of March 21. Great breakfast buffet and everything was extremely clean and organized! Such a nice touch- thank you! Kudos to the staff for making our stay enjoyable!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cmannthird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy K, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Mr. Mann, Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit with us. It is such a pleasure to share the good comments with our staff. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will return to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.
Best Regards,
Joy Knodel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Mobile
Courtyard Mobile
#27 of 64 in Mobile
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/I-65 at Airport Blvd
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Mobile
TownePlace Suites Mobile
#30 of 64 in Mobile
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Mobile
2.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mobile
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mobile I-65/Airport Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile
Address: 950-A West I-65 Service Road South, Mobile, AL 36609
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel with confidence by checking into the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, Mobile, a Mobile hotel with outstanding service to make all of your travels easy and comfortable - at an exceptional value. With a great location near Interstate 65 and local shopping malls, we are always ready to welcome you with amenities like thoughtfully designed guest rooms and suites that allow you to work and relax, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to stay connected during your stay, and fitness facilities that include an indoor pool and exercise room. You'll find it easy to settle into our vibrant lobby, with spaces to gather, relax and work. Jump-start your day with our free breakfast, now with more hot choices like scrambled eggs, sausage and oatmeal, plus favorites including fresh fruit and yogurt. At the Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile, you're our #1 priority. We promise you'll be satisfied or we'll make it right. That's our commitment to you. Ask us about The Fairfield 100% Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Mobile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Mobile Hotel Mobile
Fairfield Mobile
Mobile Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing