We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent salads and good local seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Scam

The Royal Scam
Ranked #7 of 661 Restaurants in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent salads and good local seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Went with a group for a working lunch and enjoyed a very large and delicious Asian noodle salad with slices of tuna. Everyone else seemed happy with their lunch. They even had triple tail for the fish of the day! So wonderful to have our local fish on the menu!

The service was friendly and helpful. Will certainly eat here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    135
    49
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner at the bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my Gin and tonic at this restaurant/bar. I enjoyed the Filet ($29.99) and my garlic mash and asparagus. The Salad ($8.99) probably could have been a bit more hearty - but it was ok. The beer at this spot was also quite good out of the tap - I had a Fat Tire. The bar keeper was friendly but did not hold a conversation with me at all so that cut into her tip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demopolis, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Late Nite Bleu Cheese Burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stopped by for a late nite dinner. Tried the bleu cheese burgers and a bottle of wine with friends. Lucky enough to get the window seat. Waitress was great and the food hit the spot. Nice atmospere for enjoying friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Capt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, TX
Level Contributor
183 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with good choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very nice restaurant recommended by the hotel. We had the shrimp appetizer and red peeper with shrimp and andouille sausage soup for starters and both were very good. My Wife had the steak sandwich and I ordered the duck panini. Both were pretty good, but my panini was slightly over toasted, but otherwise was pretty good.

I would definitely good here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulmug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice locations to downtown hotels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our dining group was in town for a large convention. We were staying downtown in a very nearby location. For this reason, it was very nice to be able to walk to our dinner. I called several days in advance for a reservation which was a wise choice. We arrived to find our table the only table in the restaurant that wasn't occupied. The place was packed and this proved to be an issue as the night wore on. We ordered our drinks and one bowl of gumbo for a member of our party was ordered for an appetizer. The cup of gumbo never arrived, but we were charged on our bill (but was removed). We ordered a variety of dishes for our party of 6. The portions were large and very yummy. The porkchops were HUGE and cooked perfectly. I had the black and blue burger that was very yummy. The fries were just your basic fries - nothing special. The asian slaw was mainly purple cabbage and lacked flavor. Our water and tea glasses went empty several times and we had to ask for refills. However, the alcoholic beverages were always refilled very quickly. The peanut butter cheesecake was very yummy, Multiple servers waited on us and so there wasn't great consistency in our service.

Overall great location if you are staying in the downtown hotels (Renaissance or Hampton Inn) and the food was flavorful. However, it is VERY noisy. Many websites lead you to believe it is a nicer dinning setting, but it really is a bar environment. The service left much to be desired. Would I go again, maybe if I wasn't so tired from a day full of meetings and attending conferences and didn't care about the food taking a while to get to me and I didn't care about the attention to details.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Scam also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Scam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing