We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must For Civil War Buffs”

First White House of the Confederacy
Ranked #5 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1835, this was the home of the Confederacy President, Jefferson Davis.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must For Civil War Buffs”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I visited Montgomery a few days ago. I knew I did not have long until all the museums closed so as a Civil War buff, I simply had the visit the White House of The Confederacy. it is a fairly small, modest building but is well worth a visit. There are a lot of artefacts of the Davis family and one gets to learn about the man himself.

What really made my visit was the friendliness and knowledge of the curator Henry Howard, who bears a strong resemblance to Confederate General John Bell Hood.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank egonolsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    121
    33
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were very interested in going to this site and touring the building. We were very disappointed to get there and discover it was CLOSED from noon to 1 p.m. for lunch. As we got there a few minutes after noon we did not want to wait an hour for it to reopen. Please add to your advertising that you will be closed for Lunch!

The exterior was very well cared for as were the grounds.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ts308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
193 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Unknown but not forgotten”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I had no idea this place existed but am glad it does. Anywhere else you would pay a premium to visit a site like this but this one is unbelievably free. Plenty of artifacts especially on the second floor and a great gift shop on the first. It is self guided but there is a book that explains everything and you can buy a copy of it to take home if so inclined. Pictures welcomed so click away. Right next to the history museum and across from the Capitol building. Parking available in the lot behind the history museum across the street from it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MTravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jeff Davis: Hero or villain?”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Here is where you can learn a little more about Jefferson Davis, the President of the Confederacy. Although moved from its original location, the house interior and furnishings give you a feel for how members of the privileged class might have lived. Where's the indoor plumbing? Many original items used by the Davis', and several donated items from the same time frame to fill gaps in the collection. The gift store contains too many knick-knacks from foreign shores, and needs to seriously upgrade the available literary selection for the time period. Once you got the staff talking, they were very helpful. Hero or villain? Then, as now, everyone has their own opinion.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wuerme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A MUST STOP”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a stop you definitely want to make if your in Montgomery. Lots of history and very well done. We were in Montgomery a couple years ago and this was closed. Passing through Montgomery this year we made a special trip into town just to do this. If was well worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to First White House of the Confederacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing