We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for Hank fans!”

Ranked #16 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grave sites of Hank Williams, Sr., and his wife in the Oakwood Cemetery Annex.
FRANKLIN
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must for Hank fans!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Really, really enjoyed seeing Hank's final resting place, and Audrey's too. I'm glad that it is so accessible to the public/fans and that it's not too commercialized and no fees. The memorials are just beautiful, and it's a really peaceful place to pay your respects. If you go to the Hank Williams Museum first, the staff will tell you a lot of information about the memorial so that you have a better understanding. I recommend both the museum and the memorial for all Hank fans. Glad that I went!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank tud912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    43
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“I Saw The Light”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A great epitaph to a legendary singer. Large memorial for a grave that includes Hank and Audrey one of his wives. Nice place to pay your respects to one that gave us such great music. The grave is on the far right hand of the cemetery. Easy to find.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MTravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Hank Williams grave is very interesting. It is a large memorial to him and his family. After you have visited, drive to the cemetery right next to it. Get out and walk among the more than 750 CSA grave sites of mostly unknown Confederate soldiers who died during the war. Montgomery was home to several large war hospitals. Standing in the middle of row after row of headstones was very humbling.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hank Williams Sr”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful cemetery and beautiful memorial to Hank Williams Sr and Audrey Williams! A must see if your a Hank Williams fan.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Okay, not really a Hank Williams fan. But thought I should see this. I was fortunate. A good friend is the daughter of the artist that designed the memorial so she made a perfect guide. Much of what is interesting is the Oakwood Cemetery. It is a very historical place and I would suggest getting a tour. There are several each year. Around the HW Memorial are the graves of piglets from France and England who came to Montgomery to learn to fly when Montgomery opened the first flight school. So, interested in HWor not, check I tut.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ladonna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hank Williams Memorial - Oakwood Annex Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Hank Williams Memorial - Oakwood Annex Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing