We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating museum in a beautiful hidden area of Montgomery”

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum
Ranked #7 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic house honors novelist F. Scott, best known for "The Great Gatsby," and his wife, Zelda, artist and author. The museum operates out of the last surviving home they lived in during their lives together. The structure was saved from demolition in 1986.
Adana, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fascinating museum in a beautiful hidden area of Montgomery”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was surprised to learn of the Fitzgeralds' strong ties to Montgomery and really enjoyed visiting the museum. The curator is extremely knowledgeable and loves the material, and it really enhances the experience.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank cdelgior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Director at The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear cdelgior,

Montgomery certainly played a prominent role in the lives of Scott and Zelda. Zelda, as a Montgomery-native, charmed Scott with her southern, rogue debutante personality when he met her at a Montgomery Country Club Dance in 1918. The couple came back to Montgomery numerous times, but our house is the only house they ever actually rented and stayed for more than a few weeks together. Thank you for posting a review noting your observations on how important Alabama's capitol city is to this famous story.

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    61
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place of romance, enchantment,emotion, and "writer's spirit.'”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

An intimate setting to enjoy an indepth look into the lives of Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. Seeing the notes and letters of Scott and taking in paintings by Zelda makes it an up close experience. Very informative.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MicheleW431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Director at The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear MicheleW431,

Thank you most kindly for your thoughtful visit to the Fitzgerald Museum. The "intimate" setting is something we consider to be one of our strengths. The museum itself is cozy, but the fact that our house is tucked away in one of Montgomery's oldest and most beautiful neighborhoods certainly adds to that feeling. We are always interested in return visits from our guests, so feel free to come back soon and see what's new at the museum!

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
2 reviews
“nice place old sport”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is one of my and my seventeen yr old daughter's favorite finds. Serendipity comes alive in this quietly quaint and unpretentious place. It offered a nice way to explore our common interest and have her be the teacher. We are both fans of the literature, art and lives of the Fitzgeralds and their musuem brings that to life for us. We love that is small and off the beaten path in a still lovely historic neighborhood, All in all a special place. Thanks for the enthusiastic and intelligent guidance around the museum.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank anonymousM4481MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Manager at The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear AnonymousM4481MG,

Your description of us as "off the beaten path" is one we take immense pride in. Our location in the heart of "Old Cloverdale Historic District" gives tourists a vantage point to understand Montgomery in a way that other area do not - namely, the natural beauty of a southern city, the architecture, the flora and fauna, and, of course, the heritage. As the world's only museum dedicated to either Scott or Zelda, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the story we tell. Our best to you and your daughter - we hope that she enjoyed expanding her love and knowledge of the Fitzgeralds as much as you did getting your feet wet!

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great curator can certainly make a museum visit inspiring”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The well informed curator brought the Fitzgeralds' story to life during our visit to the museum. There are many letters from F. Scott and Zelda to each other, as well as, examples of Zelda's art work, family photos, etc. I never dreamed this would inspire me to reread some of the books and short stories by Fitzgerald as well as the couple's biographies. This is a great day trip for a senior group or literary students.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Manager at The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Evelyn B,

Praise for our curators is praise for the museum! You are gracious in the time you spent to leave a review for us, and we are glad that you enjoyed our collection of Scott and Zelda's artifacts enough to want to read more about their lives on your own. We are always here to answer questions that your further reading may bring up, so please do not hesitate to contact us with anything related to our beloved couple.

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Have you ever anticipating visiting a place that you know will touch you and at the same time worried that the visit would disappoint? This collection of Fitzgerald possessions, letters, paintings, housed in rooms they actually laughed, cried and lived in in did not disappoint in the least!

Having the Executive Director on site providing intimate details about the couple, their peers and the time added greatly to the experience (thanks so much Willy!)

My only disappointment was that I did not have more time to linger and learn.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HarperLeeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thefitzgeraldmuseum, Manager at The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear HarperLeeFan,

What wonderful, kind words you have left for us here on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to let the world know about your experience at the world's only museum dedicated to Scott and Zelda! Although we understand that small house museum's can be a little intimidating because of their size, we are glad that you found our director's tour satisfactory and that you felt the presence of Scott and Zelda in such a palpable way. We strive to maximize every inch of our space to include as much of this story as possible without turning our walls and display cases into an unintelligible jumble. Thank you for visiting, and we hope to see you again.

Best,

The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum Association
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing